Find companies:
Hobby Lobby Stores, Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
573 reviews

Hobby Lobby Stores, Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice that they honor Sundays off
Store Manager (Former Employee), Aurora, ILOctober 27, 2014
Pros: no sundays and creative
Cons: pay was very low.
fun and you could use your creative side to the fullest. Not a lot of room for advancements.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall, a good company
Operations Manager/ Co-Manager (Current Employee), Franklin, TNOctober 26, 2014
Management shift is 7-5 3 days a week, 7-9pm 2 days a week.
The hardest part of the job is knowing the daily expectations as they are not defined well.
Having every Sunday off is very important for my family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place
Stockman (Former Employee), Sioux City, IAOctober 22, 2014
This company does really care about its employees. They compensate very well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun relaxed work place
Framer (Former Employee), Adrian Hobby LobbyOctober 22, 2014
Pros: relaxed environment, worked with very nice people
Cons: cut hours.
As soon as I got to work I would clock in and walk back to the frame shop. Looking at what needed to be framed for the day i would start in cutting mats, cutting glass, and putting together the finished project. After I would call the customer and let them know there work was done. Also while working customers would come up to me with there art, photos, – more... ect. and I would help them lay out there ideas for how they wanted it framed, then record exactly what they wanted.
At the end of the night we took care of the trashes, swept and dusted our area of the store, and then we would go threw the entire store straightening anything that might be out of place. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a fun place to work and great people
Cashier (Current Employee), Oxnard, CAOctober 22, 2014
This is a fun place to work.
This will never be more than part time.
I need full time and more than $10.00 an hour.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee), Winchester, VAOctober 21, 2014
Unload trucks and stack pallets
How to properly unload a truck and stack the pallets
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Store Manager (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALOctober 21, 2014
I enjoyed my experience with the company. i learned a lot while with them
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun, creative work environment
Dept Head-Fabric (Current Employee), Fairview Heights, ILOctober 21, 2014
Pros: pay level, constant change, teamwork
Cons: none come to mind
No day is typical at HL. Days vary according to customer needs, shipment amounts, season, tasks received from corporate, etc.
Time management is an essential skill.
enjoyed co-workers - lots of team work.
Biggest challenge for me has been learning all the intricacies in the most recent position held.
The best part of the job is the satisfaction from – more... helping customers solve a problem or learn something new as they create. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Gainesville, FLOctober 21, 2014
Great Company, Very Easy to get along with Great Managers Great Co workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow Paced
Department Manager (Former Employee), Irving, TXOctober 21, 2014
Real slow paced job and I was on my feet all day long. Coworkers were good kids. The best time I had there was when I worked the loss prevention department.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical retail environment
Customer service, cashier, straighten store (Former Employee), Austin, TexasOctober 21, 2014
Pros: working with customers
Cons: pay
Cashier, money handling, customer service, clean store
Management was not quite as concerned about the employees and I would like to see
My coworkers were wonderful and supportive
working long hours for little pay
I love working with the customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Customer service Manager (Current Employee), Concord, CAOctober 16, 2014
Pros: great store hours
Cons: not enough equlity in the store
Productive work place, very nice items in the store front end is fun to work at great customers, checkout system is fast, the store is big and we keep it looking very nice and neat.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Cashier (Current Employee), Homewood, ALOctober 13, 2014
fun, easy environment to grow.
The customers are very friendly .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Oppertunity
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Cincinnati, OhioOctober 12, 2014
I worked my way up from a part time employee to full time management within a year with this company. They have much to offer their employees and are there for them, and want their families to be their focus not work. I love working for this company and plan to stay and keep moving up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work!
Cashier (PT) (Former Employee), Rogers, AROctober 12, 2014
Pros: great store, management and coworkers
I Couldn't say enough. Great company. Great store manager. Coworkers were like a close net family. Good pay and benefits for FT.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job, loved it.
Department Leader (Former Employee), Hamilton, OHOctober 10, 2014
this was a great job and a great working environment. There was a great relationship between employees and with management. I could not begin to say how much I enjoyed my time there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Christian Company and values
Department Head (Current Employee), Las Vegas, NVOctober 10, 2014
Pros: closed on sundays.business hours monday-friday 9am-8pm. christmas bonus. every holiday off.
Cons: full timers cap-out at 35 hours a week, schedule isn't posted until late friday (sometimes not until saturday afternoon), opportunity for promotion limited.
A multi million business, good environment, good hard working co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great place to work at if you are into crafts
Assistant Manager / Floral Designer (Former Employee), Saint Peters, MOOctober 9, 2014
Pros: free lunches the day after a hoilday
Cons: durning black friday no time for breaks but it did make the day go by faster
the typical day was making sure that you get your stock out, order if the stock is low help customers finding things and making floral arrangement's for them . what I learn was how to manage a staff.
The hardest part was when people left the work place . The best part was making new friends and helping people out
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Busy merchandising Daily.
Department Manager (Former Employee), Fayetteville, AROctober 9, 2014
What more can I say except; have you shopped at Hobby Lobby? Very intensive, organized craft, decorating store. As a department head you reviewed displays, made suggestions to other members in your department to change, add, delete the display. As a member of your department, your individual talent and suggestion was encouraged. If you are a very organized – more... person, freight day was overwhelming, as merchandise was unpacked on the showroom floor. The Department I managed was the largest in the store and the challenges were exciting. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interacting with the people was amazing
sales (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAOctober 8, 2014
Pros: social experience
Seeing all the different people everyday was a thrill. I learned alot about peoples lives and was able to help the elderly with there daily tasks.

About Hobby Lobby Stores, Inc.

In 1970, entrepreneurs David and Barbara Green, along with their young family, began making miniature picture frames in their – Read more

Hobby Lobby Stores, Inc. Photos