Find companies:
Hobby Lobby Stores, Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
473 reviews

Hobby Lobby Stores, Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Overland Park, KSFebruary 27, 2014
Pros: easy going
Cons: i can't recall very many dislikes.
Processing and pricing new freight in the Craft department. It was neat to be a part of an organization that involved working with the public. I enjoyed Customer relations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Corporate Purpose with great pay and product line.
Certified Framer (Former Employee), Fayetteville, NCFebruary 25, 2014
Pros: pay is good compared to other similar stores, 15% employee discount, and guaranteed sundays and some holidays off.
Cons: store manager expects what hasn't been trained and micro-manages the obvious, a great deal of internal store-level discrimination, harsh unwarranted lashing out, denyal of full-time work against christians, favoring people for full-time whose health insurance is already covered by their spouse
I enjoyed every day working for Hobby Lobby. I believe enjoying my work is a choice.
A typical day involved preparing framing area and organizing freight, tools, and samples according to corporate policy. Then reading notes from previous shifts followed by checking the schedule to see what is due out that day. Then it is best to visualize each order – more... that is due out to see which is going to be the most difficult/time-consuming, which are going to be the quickest, and which have customers that are known for coming in early or without being given a call for completion of their work. Once the day is planned out, I proceed to the work I deem most important to complete before more staff come in to assist me. More difficult pieces are better done when another framer is available to cover the table and deal with new customers. The goal is to have all custom framing orders completed a day early of their scheduled pick up date, and all walk-in orders completed while the customer waits/shops. At the close of a day, everything must be cleaned, filed, and trash disposed of. Other duties include operating, maintaining, and troubleshooting the Wizard Automatic Mat Board Cutter, the air compressor, and filling out appropriate order forms for needed materials. Customer artworks are to be safely filed to protect from dust and moisture.
The customers were very diverse and I enjoyed the challenge of meeting or exceeding each of their individual expectations within the guidelines of corporate regulations.
Management was difficult, unapproachable, and unclear about their personal expectations. They were also inconsistent with their interpretation of corporate policies.
Co-workers were kind and generally helpful. We worked well as a team and as individuals in the absence of direct supervision. However, gossip was a problem and management seemed to favor gossip over investigation of the truth.
The hardest part of the job was keeping up with scheduled orders and taking new orders when short-staffed.
The most enjoyable part of the job was the construction of the various styled custom frame, needle art, and shadowbox orders. I also made countless professional friendships with people who returned requesting me to be their framer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disappointed
Retail Sales Associate (Current Employee), Lancaster, NYFebruary 24, 2014
Pros: every one is wonderful to work with. it is a very happy environment to work in.
Cons: management needs to learn how to be honest and upfront with their employee better and more often.
I absolutely love my job at Hobby Lobby. I interact with so many different people on a regular basis. Your job changes on a constant basis, whether it be changing areas of products, pricing merchandise, rebuild shelving units to accommodate new features or getting on a cash register. My job has never been monotonous. There is nothing hard about being – more... a Retail Sales Associate with Hobby Lobby. I enjoy every aspect of what I do. I have received 100's of appraisals from customers for awesome customer service and e-mails from ecstatic customers as well as Thank you letters from the main office for my spectacular customer service service.
However, On the downside, why I am disappointed, I applied for this job based on an advertisement that stated "Full time, $14.00/hour and great benefits" I was told by a manager when I was interviewed that everyone is hired part time seasonally at $9.50 an hour with no benefits. I needed a job, so I did accept it with the understanding that once the store opened in 3 weeks time that decisions would then be made about who would stay on with Hobby Lobby. I have been with Hobby Lobby for 5 months and my status, pay and no benefits have not changed. I have asked several times about my status and where I stand and the answer I am given every time I ask is "we are still working on it" even though they started hiring people full time over 2 months ago. I currently have no hours, and haven't for 3 weeks. The previous 4 weeks to that I only had 4 hours each week. I think that management needs to be more upfront with the employees. We don't even get our schedules until the Saturday before the next week we work. I would love to be a full time employee for Hobby Lobby, but management definitely needs to learn how to be honest and upfront with their employee better and more often. They need to stop dragging their feet, the only thing that does - at least in my case - was give me false hopes of full time employment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun and enjoyable place to work.
Retail Sales (Former Employee), Cedar Park, TXFebruary 21, 2014
I enjoyed working at Hobby Lobby. I met a lot of wonderful people. We were all like one big family. For the most part, the employees were willing to go outside their own department to help others. It was a very pleasant working environment for the most part.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great if you only want to work a couple hours a week...
Cashier (Current Employee), Bangor, MEFebruary 21, 2014
Pros: coworkers, pay (if you get full-time), hobby lobby closes earlier than most, sundays off
Cons: hours per week, company has no loyalty to employees, no job security, no advancement opportunity, etc...
The job itself is not bad, I work as a cashier part time and enjoy the work I have to do. However, store manager does not stand behind his employees when they are following policy. In example, when a customer disputes a sale and the cashier is following policy, and the customer asks for the manager, he will undermine the cashier for doing their job – more... and kiss the customers behind to make them happy, making the employee look bad. There is also no chance for advancement, and while the pay is well above average for even part time employees, it makes no different with only 10 hours a week, especially when you have to travel a distance to get there. Job security is non existing and there are typically only 2 cashiers on for the whole day, making it difficult to cover breaks. Cashiers have also been only receiving 1 (unpaid lunch) break while floor associates working the same amount of hours are receiving 2 breaks (1 paid 15 minute and 1 unpaid 30 minute). Finally, there is no way an employee can plan anything around their schedule. Each next weeks schedule is posted only 2 - 3 days before the current week ends, so 2 - 3 days is all notice you have to plan something for the following week. They also let people go without notice, (people show up to work and are told they are all done, just so they can cut hours). Co workers are the best part. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the greatest place to work
CASHIER (Former Employee), PITTSBURGH STOREFebruary 21, 2014
Pros: good money
Cons: they lie to get you to work there and never give you hrs they say or a department.
I have to say that i love everything that the stores carry, however they hire you and tell you that part-time is 25 hrs a week. I have worked there for 7 months and i never one time worked 25 hrs. I went and talked to my store manager numerous times about it. I was told I would get more hours. Then go to work next week to find out I have 11 hrs. I can – more... not pay my bills on that. I am disappointed that i had to quit. I like so many people get a job because I have to work. The store that i work in seems to play favorites. I was hired before they hired seasonal help and after Christmas was over they kept on 3 people. So instead of me getting the hrs I was promised to get. The hrs are being spread to all seasonal help. I think that this is unfair. I went to Mangers and was told they could not make payroll so everyones hrs are getting cut. So why then keep extra people on when you cant give the regular employees the hrs they need. I was hired as a cashier. However I worked for another craft company for almost 5 years. I have alot of experience. When i was hired i was told that there where alot of departments that needed to be filled. Then I was never given the chance to fill one. It seems if they like you then you get pulled from the registers and put somewhere else in the store. I was depenable and reliable employee that went to work all the time. The only time i missed work was when my father passed away and when my daugher had her baby. I was upset when my father passed away that being a Christian company no one really said anything to me. That in its self was very upsettng. I dont usually just up and quit a job, but this one i did. I like so many American people have bills to pay and I cant call them up and tell them I cant pay you this week because the company I work for only gave me 11 hrs. I think that the HR department needs to address these issues. When you get hired with a company and they tell you that you will get 25 hrs a week and that does not happen also that there are plenty of departments that need to be filled and its all basically lies something needs to change. SO IN ALL IF YOU LOOKING FOR STEADY WORK AND GOOD PAY LOOK SOMEWHERE ELSE. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a temporary part time
Puller (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKFebruary 17, 2014
I moved to Oklahoma temporary. This was a temporary job. I pulled merchandise from the shelves and prepared them to be shipped.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Head of Floral Department (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAFebruary 15, 2014
I enjoyed working for this great company and the group of people I got the chance to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work. Good people.
Framer (Former Employee), Grand Junction, COFebruary 13, 2014
I was placed in the framing department where I learned all aspects of framing from customer service to putting artwork in frames, cutting the mats, cutting glass, using the dry mount machine, and putting the backing and hardware on the picture for mounting. The hardest part of the job was at first learning as I had never done any kind of framing before – more... and remembering everything I needed to write up an order. The most enjoyable part of the job was when the artwork was done and the customer showed his/her appreciation of how it looked. My co-workers were incredibly helpful in teaching and showing me how to do the things I needed to know to get the job done. The floor managers were also very helpful if I needed help or needed answers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employees work hard because they care about the customer.
Fabric (Current Employee), Franklin, TNFebruary 12, 2014
Pros: customers and co-workers, 15% discount
Cons: managment is rude, condensending and at times mean. few hours to work.
Worse management.
Co-workers are willing to help you out
No training, boss gets upset because you didn't do the job right.
I have learned that there is a company that runs ineffiently and thinks that is great. (No bar codes, no scanner to price item,)
I do enjoy working with people and helping them with their projects.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Looking for a great hobby then you need to come to Hobby Lobby
Cashier/Stocker - Part-time (Current Employee), Tucson, AZFebruary 12, 2014
Hobby Lobby has something for every hobby enthusiast with 13 departments and great staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good family atmosphere
Cahier (Current Employee), EvansvilleFebruary 12, 2014
fast paced job with good results with customers, large sums of money to work with and very customer focused
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and very enjoyable job. great management!
Cashier/customer service (Former Employee), Perrysburg, OHFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: great employees and friends. good benifits if you get can a full time position
Cons: no full time openings, poor communication at times.
Hours varied, I worked with some great people, even management was easy to get along with and worked side by side with hourly employees.

I learned quickly I might add how to do all refunds and exchanges
cash registar was easily and completely learned within a few days of training.

I worked longer hours (retail) for the holidays. but I worked along – more... side with some great employees. Best part of the job was the employees that I worked with.

The hardest part was not getting many hours in the slow season. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Too Bad
Order Puller (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKFebruary 10, 2014
Pros: flexible breaks
Cons: weather changing climate indoors
It's not that bad of a job. But if you're working in the summertime, the whole warehouse can make you sweat before you even clock in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Profession atmosphere and great team work
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee), Huntsville, ALFebruary 10, 2014
Pros: pay and sundays off.
Cons: changes in schedule and lack of hours.
Typical day at work there is always something to do. What I have learned is that company is becoming overtaken by management that only cares about dollars and cents instead of the workforce and customers. Great CEO, but he would be disappointed in the direction that this company is starting to take. Management is suppose to have schedules out by Friday, – more... but sometimes it does not come out until late Saturday night when morning crew has gone home for the weekend. "Check for changes" is always written on the schedule because they are constantly changing it as the week progresses. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Get ready to work
Co-Manager (Current Employee), Panama City, FLFebruary 10, 2014
Pros: associates want to succeed and will try very hard to help each other
Cons: information on standards is not well documented, have not received benefits packet since hired, long work weeks typically 72 hours
Great job for hourly associates. Day goes by quickly. For salary, it is a lot long days with typical 6 day a week schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Week to week
Department Manager (Former Employee), Latham, NYFebruary 10, 2014
The work here is repetitious every week. One day during the week a truck comes with the freight for the store which you are required to unload and sort. The day continues with sorting the freight for your particular department and processing it to the floor. Another day is set aside for ordering product for your department. The rest of the week is designated – more... to maintaining the store and reworking the department to company standards all while still maintaining a level of customer service. The hardest part of the job is time constraints, while the most enjoyable part of the job is the family atmosphere with the other co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work but not managed well
In-Checker (Current Employee), Center, OKFebruary 9, 2014
Pros: good pay and benefits
Cons: no loyalty from company to you
There are a lot of good people and it is a lot of fun but the decisions from upper management are strange and have no sense
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cleaning and maintenance
warehouse (Current Employee), Billings, MTFebruary 5, 2014
Pros: good salary
Cons: co-workers
I clean the bathrooms and warehouse. Unpack boxes, maintain the warehouse. I help costumers with big carry-outs. I put up and stock shelves.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every day we were reminded that we could lose our jobs at a moments notice
Cashier (Former Employee), FrontFebruary 5, 2014
Cons: 15 min lunch breaks
Very poor management, poor location. other than that it was a pretty good job. just in a town that does not have enough people to constitute a hobby lobby in the area.

About Hobby Lobby Stores, Inc.

At Hobby Lobby, we know the value of exceptional people. More importantly, we want to find the right people to integrate into – Read more

Hobby Lobby Stores, Inc. Photos