Hobby Lobby Employee Reviews

Found 1,616 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a retail job
Cashier/ Home Accents (Former Employee) –  Hendersonville, TNMay 13, 2017
You will do the same thing everyday for months at a time. You will adjust to new management at least annually. Establishing friendships with staff is almost immediate.
Pros
Excellent team communication, fast paced
Cons
changing management, loss of morale, feeling of stagnance
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What I learned ...
Frame Shop Manager (Former Employee) –  Dickson, TNMay 13, 2017
Hobby lobby is retail same as any other. The best part of working for them was the people I worked with a very friendly place to work.
I will miss working for this company
Pros
Great pay and benefits...
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Watch out!!!
Dept Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMay 13, 2017
Drama, Drama, Drama need I say more. I am a fan of the store but management is truly off the rocker in a few of their stores. I was highly disappointed with how they treat their employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Tallahassee, FLMay 12, 2017
Good experience. Good working experience no room for growth but was able to pick up shifts to earn extra money. Management was reasonable and understanding.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical day
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  CaliforniaMay 12, 2017
Many tasks are assigned daily. Most must be done that day before you go home. Accountability is held very high if projects are not being completed on time.
Pros
Sundays off
Cons
Working open to close shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Douglasville, GAMay 11, 2017
This a slow place, that can get busy during rush hours. Would help customers with items, and picking up items for them. Would unload trucks, and stock shelves in the store.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive based job
Order puller (Former Employee) –  OklahomaMay 11, 2017
good company to work for.. Don't agree with strict attendance policy . good people around the warehouse managers at times can be a real pain to work with
Pros
people are outgoing
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad treatment
Sales Associate (Seasonal) (Former Employee) –  Rosenberg, TXMay 11, 2017
They have a lot of favoritism going on, and are not open/ care for your personal life. They rather have the store whipped down 24/7 and over staff people to clean the same stuff over and over. Short breaks, rude managers, and very one sided.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not enough hours
Head Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, IN east Washington st.May 11, 2017
Hobby lobby was an awesome place to work they only thing I didn't care for was that I didn't get a lot of hours it was a peaceful place to work I really enjoyed working there
Pros
Not enough hours
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stockmen Job
Customer service (Former Employee) –  Macedonia, OHMay 11, 2017
Hobby Lobby has a very culture, as a stockmen I never felt that I was going to advance there but I was fine with that. I used it as a income source while I went to college. Works for that.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Basic Warehouse
Receiver/Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKMay 11, 2017
This was basic warehouse work. If your manager did not like you then you were stuck where you started. There is absolutely no room for advancement in this company.
Cons
Terrible Christmas Party
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with enjoyable experiences.
Seasonal Stockman (Former Employee) –  Temecula, CAMay 10, 2017
Coworker cooperation is key here. Customer satisfaction is foremost in your assignments. The quality of the store is outstanding, and it is a rewarding experience to bring that satisfaction to people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace good pay
TEMP SEASONAL STOCKER (Former Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TXMay 8, 2017
Worked as a Christmas department stocker, enjoyed my time here. Management is fair though environment is quick paced, and deadlines are to be met promptly while stocking certain areas. Downside is a hot back room, where most unloading is done, but awesome crew and great pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be a fun work environment
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Ahwatukee, AZMay 8, 2017
It is a good place to work for a starter job but there is hardly ever an opportunity to advance in the company. All-in-all I would recommend if you just needed a starter job but I would not stay there forever.
Pros
15% off discount off employee purchases
Cons
Very few opportunities to advance in the company
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales dictates the work schedule
Associate - Fabric Department (Current Employee) –  Garden City, KSMay 8, 2017
Management does not always follow through with what they tell you they have planned for you. Schedules can be changed but it seems to apply only to the chosen few. The work environment can be stressful but a typical day is usually not so bad. Saturdays can be very stressful.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Be ready for changes very quick pace.
Co-Manager three (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXMay 7, 2017
Very stressful, for upper management, cut throat most times. Life work balance does not exist. Some Sr. staff members very belittling.
Sr. staff members were never pleased, some did there own thing, like it was their company. Upper management did not support their store managers.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
christian copany
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Cookeville, TNMay 7, 2017
i loved my job.They were an excellent company to work for. I cant say enough good things about this company. Christian based company with great christian values
Pros
christian based
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
CUSTOMER SERVICE MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXMay 6, 2017
Hobby Lobby is a good company to work for overall. However, the holiday season is incredibly stressful if mngmt has not staffed properly. The holiday bonus makes it completely worth the stress!
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was confusing
cashier (Former Employee) –  Chino Hills, CAMay 6, 2017
For my first retail position i did not truly understand my job circumstances. I blame this mainly on the supervisors who were watching over my shoulder who didn't train me or the other seasonal employees enough. Which is probably why they let me go after my seasonal time was over.
Pros
holiday pay
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Elk Grove, CAMay 6, 2017
Overall fun and productive work environment. the management is some of the best around. its a fast pace work environment so be prepared to work a lot.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Hobby Lobby. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 1,619 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.3
Culture
3.7