Hog Slat Employee Reviews

Found 16 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tenia mis descansos
Builder (Former Employee) –  Clinton, NCSeptember 1, 2017
Una fábrica muy estricta pero flexibles con cada empleado.cada una de las personas que forman parte de esa compañía son muy responsables y trabajadores
Pros
Si proveen
Cons
No dan mucho over time
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace poor management
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Clinton, NCJuly 27, 2017
The company and workplace are excellent to work in but management is the main issue. Poor management no room for advancement due to favoritism. Other than that a wonderful company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, very exciting
Assembler (Former Employee) –  Clinton, NCJanuary 22, 2017
Loved the long hours and how productive the job way. Loved learn and experience the company. Supervisor could have been more professional and respectful.
Pros
Hour lunch
Cons
Short breaks and supervisor
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management/Unsafe work enviorment
Shipping and Receiving Associate (Former Employee) –  Clinton, NCJanuary 14, 2017
The distribution (Shipping/Recieving) part of the plant in (Clinton, NC) is a total joke. HIGHLY unsafe, and your hard work is never rewarded.HORRIBLE
Pros
Honestly.. none
Cons
Just walk in the plant and see them for yourself
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor quality work is produced now
Production Welder (Former Employee) –  Newton Grove, NCJanuary 6, 2017
was glad I got laid off. Has a large number of illegals who work there.
management where idiots, production was placed way too high,
Pros
decent benefits
Cons
bad experiance since the original owner's kids took over
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, good benefits, good hours, but not enough pay.
Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Flora, INJanuary 2, 2017
Hog Slat is a decent place to work. However, it lacks opportunities for advancement. Job does include some benefits, but the hourly pay rate could be increased.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Buena compañía
Welder/Fabricator (Former Employee) –  Columbus, NEDecember 11, 2016
Me gustó trabajar con esta compañía y les doi gracias por haberme dado la oportunidad de conocer y aprender a soldar y los supervisores son muy buenos muy amables
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible work experience
Concrete Finisher/Laborer (Former Employee) –  Washington, IADecember 8, 2016
I did not like working at hog slat, the way they treated people was horrible. I'm surprised I stayed for two years. But you know what, I got a family to feed and bills to pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production
welder (Current Employee) –  Newton Grove, NCDecember 15, 2015
I work full time 40 per week or sometimes 32 depending on work. In the morning I go to school, one more semester and I will graduate d with an associates on welding. My responsibilities on hog slat is to make production using mig only, I get alone with my co-workers just fine. The hardest part is to make production.
Pros
n/a
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The People you work with side by side matters most
Robotic Welder (Former Employee) –  Newton Grove, NCSeptember 2, 2015
They hire when the demands of orders are high. Pay sounds decent because they also offer commission on top of what you make. However if you make you daily amount, they give you a bad review for not making far more over production. Hypocritical.
Pros
weekly pay
Cons
insurance is expensive, expects for you to do everything alone that a 5 man team does.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company but poor communication between departments
Feed Budget Mgr./Market Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Flora, INAugust 16, 2015
make orders of pig feed for delivery to farms,marketing and scheduling livestock transportation to packers. too much is done on estimated information
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had great shift hours to fit in with what I was looking for
Order selector (Former Employee) –  Clinton, NCJune 18, 2015
It was very busy on day by day basis, learned to operate reach lifts,worked with a great team effort co-workers,summertime was the worst for the job,when all orders were pulled and shipped out at the end of the day.
Pros
day shift only
Cons
short lunches and breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great place to work except for the district manager
Counter Salesperson (Former Employee) –  Marcus, IAMarch 2, 2015
Loved my job but management was very secretive about things. Not considered a team player. Co workers were great. Job was very manual and the pay was not great for the job being done.
Pros
Insurance with only 17 hours a week
Cons
Poor management, horrible raises for the work being done
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good starting place.
Press-brake Operator (Current Employee) –  Newton Grove, NCJune 18, 2014
Its a good place for someone with no experience to get started and learn. Their is little to no opportunity for advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 31No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
alright
Temporary Seasonal Work (Former Employee) –  stedmanJuly 12, 2013
I liked looking after the nursery piglets and taking off the trash and mowing the grass
Pros
close to where I live
Cons
dead sows
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 6Report

See more Hog Slat reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Hog Slat. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.9
Based on 17 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Compensation/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
2.3
Management
2.2
Culture
2.7