Find companies:
Holiday Inn
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2,257 reviews

Holiday Inn Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Obnoxious Management and Difficult Work Experiences
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Levelland, TXJune 24, 2014
Pros: spending time alone, lots of responsibility for myself
Cons: management was unprofessional, customers on the whole were difficult
When I first started working here, I was pleased with how capable management seemed to believe I was. I was bestowed a lot of experience from the get go, and I was pleased because I thought I could handle anything.

But then I realized that I was given all this responsibility because management was exceedingly absent. The manager was more often than – more... not out "running errands" for the hotel, but in reality was just being paid for being at home, or going to Lubbock.

I was later offered an Assistant Manager position, but after I tried to ask for more responsibility was told that the position didn't exist anymore, even though I had to change shifts and my hours, making it difficult to spend time with my fiance who was on an opposite schedule.

I still did attempt to get myself more responsibility, but my grandmother passed away, and management refused to give me time off for grievances.

I did enjoy being able to have quiet nights by myself just thinking of ideas to myself, even some nights I was able to take my computer and work on other things. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
people were exciting
Shuttle Van/Bellman (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALJune 24, 2014
Meeting and greeting people from all over. Enjoyed keep people comfortable while they stayed there whether it was long-term or short-termed
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Housekeeping (Current Employee), Washington, UTJune 23, 2014
A typical day at work at the Holiday Inn Express includes anywhere from 12-22 rooms. I love the people I work with and also the guests we accommodate. The hardest part of the job is making bed after bed, only because it's physically taxing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautiful place
Guest Service Agent (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJune 23, 2014
People have stayed with the company for a long time and have enjoyed working there. they really look out for their employee's,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intense job and unorganized Management staff.
Guest Service Representative (Former Employee), Beaumont, TXJune 22, 2014
Pros: pay was good.
Cons: management was subpar.
They don't pay enough for all the work and things they have you do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed jobs
Housekeeping, Laundry, Breakfast Bar (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MIJune 22, 2014
Housekeeping-get cart set up, clean rooms, help with anything else that needs done
Laundrey-washed, dried, and folded sheets and towels, did stain removal
Breakfast bar-prepared food and put out for breakfast, keep breakfast bar stocked and clean, clean up breakfast bar
Night Audit- do laundrey, clean lobby, run daily reports, deliver bills, prepare – more... food for breakfast bar – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the hospitality industry
Restaurant Manager (Former Employee), Springfield, ILJune 22, 2014
Pros: something new and different every day
Cons: a lot of hours covering shifts when people didn't show up for work
This was the best job loved the conventions and all the people that you met and would see them year after year.

Trying to keep good employees with this industry
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked the Night Auditor Position
Night Auditor/Front Desk Clerk (Former Employee), Dundee, MIJune 21, 2014
Pros: i worked nights which worked with my schedule at the time.
Cons: i worked by myself. shifts were slow.
Checked in late arriving guests. Run the end of day computer operations and batch out credit cards. Enter the end of day numbers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
swimming pool outside
Housekeeper (Former Employee), Bluefield, WVJune 20, 2014
clean rooms fun hotel to stay in swimming pool outside excerise room inside a place to eat in the hotel
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family atmosphere
Guest Service Rep. (Former Employee), Montgomery, ALJune 20, 2014
Pros: encountering all types of personalities
Cons: no breaks
A typical day as a Guest Service Rep. is filled with connecting guest with the services they need to be comfortable. The job can be fast paced at times which really put your organization skills to the test. I have definitely improved my multi-tasking skills in this position. The most enjoyable part of this job is meeting new people and having them be – more... pleased with the services my co-workers and I have provided. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loving warm environment
front desk, guest services (Former Employee), alabamaJune 20, 2014
Pros: rewards program, dinners, lunches, incentives, bonuses
Cons: more hours, better wages, less amount on insurance
I love my experiences and the interactions that I have not only with my co-workers and the staff, but also the guest that I encounter everyday, good or bad.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a steady pace job.
Housekeeping (Former Employee), Columbus, OHJune 20, 2014
A typical day was to get a sheet with all my rooms and have them completed at the end of my shift.

I have learned how to really detail clean everything.

The hardest part of the job was trying finish everything in a little of time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, enthusiastic workplace
Banquet Server (Former Employee), Spring Lake, MIJune 19, 2014
A typical day was like a fun day. I learned how to balance trays fairly well. Management was the best at the Holiday Inn, I actually miss the people there. Everything was fun, even the co-workers. Hardest part of the job was trying to keep all the customers happy but the most enjoyable part was being a server for weddings.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Hotel
Executive Housekeeper (Former Employee), Southfield, michiganJune 19, 2014
Great company to work for. Had amazing benefits and worked for great managers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manager do not appreciate the employees
Night Auditor/Front Desk Clerk (Former Employee), Austell, GAJune 19, 2014
Pros: no comments
Cons: no comments
your job is not appreciated, manager not friendly hard job for the pay
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over worked underpaid
Breakfast Attendant (Former Employee), Rock Springs, WYJune 18, 2014
Pros: fun group of people
Cons: the pay
The day starts out hectic and sometimes quite demanding. The guest are usually in a hurry with places to go and people to see. As the day continues it becomes much calmer. This is a privately owned establishment, which gives little room for advancement. The co-workers have a positive attitude most of the time, even though they are physically overworked – more... and under paid. The management is always there when something needs to be done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a job for you if have family
Hotel Housekeeper (Former Employee), Pewaukee, WIJune 18, 2014
Cons: way to many
Out of 2 Temp agencies having 5 temps from each agency 9 temps quit ! Management at Holiday Inn Pewaukee in housekeeping is for a better words [unprofessional].
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great new Hotel
Front Desk Supervisor (Former Employee), Midtown (west)June 17, 2014
Pros: great new hotel
Cons: elevators constantly had problems
• Handled the night audit process via the Opera PMS system.
• Provided friendly and efficient check in and out service.
• Spoke with guests using a positive and clear speaking voice as well as listen attentively to understand requests.
• Welcomed and greeted guests immediately, striving to provide a personal experience for the guest.
• Became the training – more... coordinator for all new GSA’s.
• Helped complete all daily reporting tasks for the Front Office Manager
• Made change, handle cash and balanced an assigned house bank.
• Quickly answered the telephone in a clear and smiling voice.
• Worked with our FOM on A/R. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working with the staff and the environment at the Restaurant.
Dishwasher/Prep Cook (Former Employee), Salisbury, NCJune 17, 2014
Pros: free breakfast snacks and sick days with pay.
Cons: could not afford the health care and not able to have personal time off with pay.
I worked both first and second shift when needed. I learned a lot about preparing food and rules and regulations. I took pride in how the kitchen was cleaned and the rating from the inspections when they inspected. I met a lot of long lasting friends and co-workers. It was a family friendly environment. I was sometimes the first to come and the last – more... to leave. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Holiday Inn is a family culture, I have learned much through there training process.
Assistant General Manager (Current Employee), Beckley, WVJune 16, 2014
Pros: family oriented and great owners
Cons: the work is never done in a 24 hour hotel.
Holiday Inn is a family atmosphere that everyone that has the same culture and beleifs as the company can prosper in. On a daily basis I motivate employees through out the day to teach our Stay Real culture. Each individual is unique and you have to treat everyone as there own person. Noone is the same if they were that would be to easy and boring for – more... the guests. The hardest part of my day is leaving when I know I can do so much more before I leave.What I enjoy most is the people and teaching others to be #1 in what they do. – less

About Holiday Inn

John Q. Hammons Hotels & Resorts has several rooms with a view. The hotel development company owns and operates approximately – Read more