Find companies:
Holiday Retirement
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
97 reviews

Holiday Retirement Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
corrections atmosphere
Executive Chef (Former Employee), Hanford, CANovember 10, 2014
Pros: great job place
Cons: not any
ordering,inventory,menu planning,production line,catered events,deliveries to various jails
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worth Doing if you want the Experience
Buyer (Current Employee), Lake Oswego, ORNovember 4, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule, relative autonomy, great people
Cons: heavy workload, poor compensation, uncertain future
This review is for the Home Office location in Lake Oswego

3 Things to know for a candidate considering Holiday:
❖ They are owned by a Manhattan hedge fund that could sell the company in the near future
❖ There is a lot of turnover at all levels of the company. For many people, Holiday is a stepping stone into the Portland corporate world
❖ Unless – more... you have powerful connections, advancement is rare and the pay is very low for the market.

Your experience here will really depend on the department, but most managers are generally nice and supportive. The best benefits are the schedule flexibility and telework options. You can gain a lot of valuable experience here, and there is opportunity to build yourself as a professional, BUT understand that you probably won't be rewarded very well for this effort. Prepare to add some lines to your resume and look to other companies when you're ready to move up. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good career choice
Manager (Former Employee), Georgia, ALNovember 3, 2014
Pros: room and board included, good benifits
Cons: pressure selling to seniors
It is very hard to balance taking care of seniors and selling apartments to seniors. Management insisted on 95% occupancy and micromanaged the selling process.
Best part of the job was interacting with senior residents.
Worst part of the job was having to pressure sell to seniors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be a Great Opportunity with Different Upper Management
Community Manager (Former Employee), midwestOctober 27, 2014
Pros: being able to help senior residents enjoy their retirement lifestyle.
Cons: working with heartless and dishonest upper management.
The Management teams and Sales Leaders are very under appreciated and mostly recognized for numbers rather than quality of work.
There is no consideration for the sacrifice that managing couples make in transitioning into becoming live-in managers. Many couples sell their homes only to find that they feel forced to leave and start all over. The upper – more... management is seriously lacking in skills for training, development and team building. Communities without enough staff and resources are expected to produce the same as the ones that are fully staffed and well maintained.
The hardest part of the job is to have senior residents afraid to move out or get evicted because they can not afford to live there anymore.
The most enjoyable part of the job is being able to help seniors feel safe and secure about having a place to stay. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you like running around with your hair on fire, Holiday's for you.
Manager (Former Employee), Lake Oswego, OROctober 18, 2014
Pros: makes other companies look a lot saner; the residents we serve
Cons: short-term thinking as a corporate ethos
Only 40-something years old, 12,000 person company I've seen run like a start-up. Senior management is very reluctant to delegate downwards, much less communicate regularly or meaningfully. Avoids long-term strategic planning - instead, everything is a crisis. Great place if you like quick-and-dirty operation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
More than a job
Lead Manager (Current Employee), Longview, TexasOctober 14, 2014
Pros: residents/employees
Cons: differentiating work and personal life.
I live at the community where I work with my husband. Our days are filled with our residents and employees who we adore, that's the best part of our day. Most of the day is spent making "cold calls" endless conference calls and answering emails. We also attend to open AR, AP, Kronos, hiring, training and marketing. The hardest part of our job is when – more... residents move into higher care or when they pass. They are more than residents to us. We visit them in hospitals and rehabs, we sympathize with their families when they pass. We love our job but unfortunately we don't have a equal job-personal life balance. Since we live here, we're always "on call" We also don't care to move up the ladder. We've see what our RD goes through and we've decided to stay at our present level. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Consultative Sales with competitive commission
Strategic Sales Leader (Former Employee), Lenox, MAOctober 10, 2014
Pros: salary and advancement
Excellent company to work for. Great base and commission along with room for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The job did not turn out to be what it was portrayed to be.
Co-Manager (Former Employee), Groton, CTOctober 7, 2014
The push was always sales, sales, sales. The concern for the resident and their needs got pushed aside. Management had so many meetings, conference calls, that any spare time was used up and interaction was barely able with the residents. Interacting with the residents was the best part of the job IF you could find the time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An opportunity to serve the Greatest Generation
Sales and Marketing, Operations of the building (Former Employee), Carson City, NVSeptember 30, 2014
Pros: knowing famous and interesting seniors from all walks of life.
Cons: constant sales pressures
Daily duties included supervision of a staff of 25, a chef and kitchen staff, servers, and housekeeping staff, enrichment coordinator and a maintenance man. Sales and marketing, generating traffic with events for the community and cold calls. Reaching sales goals. Staying ahead of maintenance issues. Interacting with superiors and producing results; – more... increasing occupancy and retaining residents. Managing the budget and expanding services to residents. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managers Over worked
Co-Manager (Former Employee), Shreveport LaSeptember 24, 2014
Managers are over worked and have to live in a super small apartment with no washer or dryer or life! They have a HUGH management turnover at the drop of a hat!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor managment
Accounts Receivable Specialist (Former Employee), Lake Oswego, ORSeptember 23, 2014
Pros: fair benifits
Cons: managment
good co-workers, time management, hardest was the long drive when they left Salem
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The single worst company I have every been affiliated with.
Community Manager (Former Employee), Napa, CASeptember 22, 2014
I have absolutely nothing positive or constructive to say regarding Holiday Retirement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
live on site with active seniors
Co-Manager (Former Employee), Corpus Christi, TXSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: lived on site
Cons: staying professinal when you love the residents
In this position we lived on site as managers. We were on call 40 hours a week as well as 45 office hours.We loved the selling; it was a good product. Holiday retirement offers independent living for seniors. They provide three meals a day plus housekeeping. I did it all! we became a family. When someone needed help; resident or employee, we jumped – more... right in and made it happen. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive environment with a self-paced atmosphere.
Community Sales Leader (Former Employee), Round Rock, TXSeptember 7, 2014
The typical day at work included multiple face to face interactions with prospective residents as well as lead generation. The job was a benefit to me as I was able to interact with the current residents on a daily basis while meeting prospective clients. A typical day included hot and cold calls, daily conference calls, touring the facility as well – more... as city outreach. This job was enjoyable as it was a self-paced and allowed for personal growth within the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUN
Server/Dishwasher (Former Employee), Hermitage, PAAugust 18, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: not getting payed what your supposed to.
Most of the day i would be in the kitchen with the cooks making jokes while getting the job done and it help the days go by.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company I have ever worked for!
Sales Leader (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCAugust 15, 2014
Pros: love the seniors and the dedicated lower level employees.
Cons: too many to mention.
I worked at the company for 1 year and I had 4 different Regional Sales Leaders, all with different ideas and ways of doing the work, nothing was consistant. I also had 4 different management teams that didn't deliver the team work that was expected of them, resulting in further inconsistancy.

This occurance is normal for the company and not exclusive – more... to the community I worked in. The changes that accurred were not do to advancements thier career, it was due to them being terminated. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unprofessional
Co Manager (Former Employee), High Point, NCAugust 10, 2014
Pros: taking care of the seniors
Cons: hired as managers instead you are a sales/marketing person
my husband and i relocated for this job. into 3 months of the job they fired us over bogus reasons. no explanation no warning no nothing.
i would not recommenced this company to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work and interact with residents.
Facilities Maintenance (Current Employee), Kansas City, MOAugust 7, 2014
Pros: free lunch, hours are great, close to home
Everyday is new problem to be solved and or resolved which helps keep things interesting. Although there are actually three different sets of managers we all work together quite well. I really enjoy the other employees the most we try to make it enjoyable place. The hardest part of job is do to budgets not being able to have what you need when you need – more... it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding Relationships with Customers, Hair Pulling Relationships with Management
Prep Cook/Server/Housekeeper (Former Employee), Bloomington, INJuly 30, 2014
Pros: residents; free meals; decent benefits
Cons: management; relationship with co workers; irregular hours
I loved the wonderful relationships that I built with the residents. They have so much life and experience they love to share, and you come to love the people you serve (even if some of them can be cranky). They truly care about you and love to talk and know what is going on in your life.
On the other hand, management is enough to run anyone out of – more... there. I have never in my life worked in such a dysfunctional environment. No one wants to work as a team and everyone is always on a different page trying to push their own agenda. In my year working there I saw 6 different management teams come and go, and that isn't even getting started on the management in the kitchen. In a year there were at least 6 different chefs in and out, and the sous chef never lasted more than a week, and when they finally got one to stay he was one of the most insufferable people to work with, and he couldn't be fired because no one else would take the position. As a kitchen helper there were countless numbers of people constantly in and out of that position. Me and one other girl were the only ones to ever stay longer than a few months. The turn over rate was crazy. If you are looking for a happy stable work environment, Redbud Retirement in Bloomington IN is definitely not the place to be. The wonderful relationships you build with the residents just isn't enough to outweigh all of the cons in management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of room to advance, family like atmosphere
Field Training Manager (Current Employee), Denver, COJuly 24, 2014
Although my training campus was eliminated in a RIF/Realignment I was not bitter nor angry with Holiday. Being a seasoned and tenured associate of over 4 years Holiday took good care of me and the decision was made based on logic and business sense.

They handled the transition professionally and tactfully. I have learned more about conflict management, – more... HR and professionalism working for Holiday Retirement then any other postion held EVER. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Holiday Retirement

When Holiday Retirement was founded in 1971, it set out to create an independent living lifestyle unlike anything seniors had – Read more