Holiday Stationstores Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work if you are still in high school.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Le Sueur, MNFebruary 18, 2018
I had a half-hour from the time that I would get out of high school to the time that my shift would start so they were very understanding with me being in school and trying to finish.
Pros
Discount on gas and some in store items
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's good if you're a people person.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Fridley, MNFebruary 17, 2018
Spending most of the day face-to-face with customers can be a little tough if you're an introvert, but it was easy to get over after about a week. They paid weekly and you got a discount on everything that wasn't tobacco, alcohol, or lottery.
Pros
Discounts, weekly pay, benefits for full-time.
Cons
Can get hectic and stressful during busy hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Holiday was a good place to work they kept a staff of hard working friendly people
Night Manager/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Sault Ste. Marie, MIFebruary 16, 2018
I like my experience at holiday! It was a good place to work and the company is large enough to offer benefits and perks for working there. You could go as far as you wanted in that company as they usually advance from within there own ranks. If you are willing to work hard give them a try.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Shakopee, MNFebruary 12, 2018
Not only do you work with customers but you also have to pre wash cars, shifts are normally 9 hours, and you stay very busy, you dont take very many breaks either
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
prductive
shift lead (Former Employee) –  Fairbanks, AKFebruary 7, 2018
i had fun working there i enjoyed working there worked well with the team and the customers i learned how to set up the store off of planograms i learned how to receive the deliveries on the scan gun i met a lot of people there and i was happy with who i worked with
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never again .
Assistant manager (Former Employee) –  North Saint Paul, MNFebruary 7, 2018
The location I worked at had lots of :
G0ssip
R4cism
Very poor m4nament
Lies fr0m DM
Favoritism
Drug addicts working there
Laziness with some employees
Customer complaints brushed off by general store manager
Pros
Customers . Few employees
Cons
Compensation, gossip, unfair could go on ...
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Billings, MTFebruary 4, 2018
Helping customers, keeping up on sales in order to up-sell, stocking the coolers, keeping outside of the store clean and organized, check in orders, place new truck orders
Pros
Store discount + Fuel discount
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Crookston, MNFebruary 2, 2018
Its an alright job for those that are in school like either high school or college. Maybe even for those looking for extra money or just to fill a gap between other employment options
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Oakdale, MNJanuary 31, 2018
A poor store manager can ruin a fabulous staff quickly. When I transferred from my home store to one closer to my house I witnessed how drastically a bad manager can be compared to a great one.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Anchorage, AKJanuary 30, 2018
management could never communicate with staff, just expected them to know everything which put a burden on me because all the associates would call or text me asking me what to do or how to do something and I was just a sales associate. Many times I had to go back there to show other associates what to do, and I did not get paid for doing so. With the beginning of a new year, my store received both a new District Manager and a new store manager (my third new manager in 9 months). The new manager instantly singled me out (yes, I believe because I am gay. On my first shift there, within an hour of me working, he was trying to send me home because while working, the back of my pants snagged onto a shelf and a small hole was created, however the hole was on the back pocket of my pants and covered by the white fabric underneath the black. He also denied my request to transfer closer to home, After finally finding a place after being homeless. He also had my hours lowered to under 30 despite me having benefits (in state of AK, the law states that any individual receiving insurance through work, work a minimum of 37.5 hours) The next shift I worked with him I was terminated because of an "eye witness" who saw me supposedly steal a bunch of merchandise. I am going to the EEO because not only did he not show me suspected evidence or allow me to face my accuser, AND I HAVE EVIDENCE THAT I DID NOT TAKE THE MERCAHNDISE LIKE HE SAID. They also allow people to work while they are intoxicated
Pros
free soda/coffee
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport

Want to know more about Holiday Stationstores?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It can be a decent job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Osseo, MNJanuary 29, 2018
The job is decent If you find a good manager and don't expect too much from the upper level of management. It is just a starter or a college job. Not recommended for much more.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The works not too bad if you have a good team
Customer Service/Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Saint Paul, MNJanuary 24, 2018
Any task that was remotely physically taxing would almost always be given to a male employee, even though we all got payed to do the same thing. Overall it was weak.
Pros
Pretty quick pay raise. Time and a half on holidays.
Cons
Working breaks. Had to stay if another employee didn't show for their scheduled shift.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job
Assistant Manager (Full-time) (Former Employee) –  Aitkin, MN 56431January 23, 2018
Job was good but the hours were terrible.The pay was good. The managers were unorganized and the people at the regional office people do not help like they should.
Pros
people were great
Cons
Hours sucked
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Holiay is great if you just want a place to work, corrupt managment
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Lindstrom, MNJanuary 23, 2018
Worked for 3 years, not happy here. Management ganged up on me when I asked for a raise. Definatly would work again as entry level, not much hope for long terms
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
employess
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  MinnesotaJanuary 23, 2018
I feel like the employees definitely been more respectful people once the new ones started coming in the younger crowd things got messy but all in all holiday is a good place to work I honestly wish I still worked there we just pretty much made sure everything was stocked still good and money was right and customers happy
Pros
i loved how the pace of holiday was for me
Cons
the breaks we never really got..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gas Station
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Rochester, MNJanuary 17, 2018
I was mainly overnight manager. I would tear down all the food racks from the day and wash them then put them back out. Coffee would get changed out every 3 hours. sweep and mop entire store. get the computer onto the next day for updates.
Pros
10 cents off gas
Cons
wasn't allowed 40 hours a week
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
applied for assistant manager
Associate (Former Employee) –  Missoula, MTJanuary 16, 2018
applied got interviewed and hired for the assistant manager position. only to find out three days latter. that I was lied to and hired at 9.50. as a sales associate. left a 12 an hour job for the opportunity of making more money. if they would have told me that was the plan. I never would have excepted it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Holiday was a good job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Billings, MTJanuary 14, 2018
As a cashier at Holiday my duties were to help on register ringing up customers for the first four hours of the day. I also helped cook lunch and set up the hot-case to ensure that food kept warm and fresh. In addition to this I had various duties to complete before my shift was over: clean bathrooms, gather and take out garbage, sweep and mop store, stock drink cooler, and make sure the drink area as well as the shelves were well stocked and ready for the on-coming shift.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Gas Station Attendant (Current Employee) –  Two Harbors, MNJanuary 8, 2018
This is a good job for working students and young adults. There’s a lot of standing and most of the time all chores get done right away so you stand. Not what I want to do with my life but it’s a good job for the winter.
Pros
Discount on gas and items in stores
Cons
Long hours, always standing, short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low pay
SALES ASSOCIATE/CASHIER (Former Employee) –  St. Peter, MNDecember 29, 2017
you make practically nothing while working there. was harassed about when I would be off my maternity leave and come back to work. if the management doesn't like ya, you get the worst shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Holiday Stationstores. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 342 reviews
576
4126
382
235
123

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.1Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.4Culture