Find companies:
Holland America Line
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
67 reviews

Holland America Line Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was a creative hostess
CREATIVE HOSTESS (Former Employee), Rotterdam, NYJune 23, 2014
The best time of my life! The passengers were very happy that I was on their cruise. Dayly I received many compliments for the activities I organised. All passengers felt that I was on board for them personally.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fun job
Dining Room Waiter (Former Employee), Seattle, WAJune 13, 2014
Pros: free accomodation, air fare, food, laundry, insurance and safety too
Cons: shorthbreak
It was very job, a lot of fun, during that time,i learned food and beverage knowledge and improve my english too.Beside that the management was fantastic,co-workers was great, work as a team player,but hardest part was length of contract, it was too long which is 9 to 10 months,But we had enjoyable part was we worked with people which is met each other – more... before – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Work Place
EVENT MANAGER (Current Employee), Seattle, WAJune 4, 2014
Traveling the world while doing what you do best is a benefit to working on a floating hotel! Work very hard however the results are always worth seeing!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Adventures
Party Planner/ CAC Host (Current Employee), The WorldMay 17, 2014
Pros: room, board, travel to & from vessel covered. able to deviate flights and stay in foreign countries, off time in the port, parties, adventure!
Cons: long hours, annoying crabby guests who don't realize they are on vacation and blessed, power tripping bosses (not always)
I have worked here for 4 years and it is a great experience! The work life is very fast and you work hard and play hard. You have to deal with everything from irate ridiculous annoying guests to very pleasant passengers who are just happy to be alive and on vacation! You live where you work so a constant awareness of this is everywhere. Most people – more... congreagate and the crew bar although it is segregated between regular crew and "officers" You work very hard and long hours at times and expected to constantly look happy even if you don't feel this way, and sometimes it gets to you but then you take a walk off the ship and you're in Tahiti, or walking the Great Wall of China, running for the ship in Israel, or skydivving in Hawaii. There are no off days, and if you're lucky enough to have your own room great! ( I did) Room service is free and you can dine in the passenger areas and free to go to the restaurants as well. There are balls on some voyages and night clubs on the bigger ships. You are able to use the pool and the gym. There are a lot of responsibilities with monthly drills to ensure incase of an emergency you can hold your own. There are parties for the crew etc and you make great friends and amazing experiences! Low pay but you aren't here for money, you're here to travel!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great product, not so great work atmosphere
Ship Inventory Specialist (Former Employee), Seattle, WAMarch 20, 2014
I loved working at Holland America until they allowed certain management to treat people horribly and advise us we are very expendable. Great perks, great product.......not so great management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great experience as I traveled the world with my work
Onboard Event Coordinator (Former Employee), Seattle WAMarch 18, 2014
Pros: travel
Cons: long hours
Work days are long and you can be called anytime day or night.
The travel benefits are amazing! I circumferences the globe twice.
Co-workers were from every country imaginable and it was great to learn how different cultures work.
The most enjoyable part is the travel.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place with smile and service by heart all the time
Restaurant Server (Former Employee), Seattle, WAFebruary 15, 2014
Pros: free lunches, rewarding for best employee
Cons: healthcare, insurance
Im working split time,within sometimes got free lunches.I have learned many things,how to deal with all kind of the guest,all kind of the crew and bosses habit,have to understand and respect each others is the most important things working on board to get a fun work,consider all your colleague is your family so it will be easy to enjoying the job.The – more... Management is good as long you not thing that is the hard things,just accept that as the rule that need to obey with your hard then everything will be easy.The hardest part is when you missed your home and when you get sick but that time that make you get strong and stronger.Its always enjoyable when you can see the world while you are working and make plenty friends from all over the worlds.its amazing :) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent employer
Guest Relations Supervisor (Former Employee), SeattleJanuary 13, 2014
HAL is an excellent employer if it comes to welfare for all the crewmembers and officers on board their ships. As an officer position I had many great benefits on board however the communication from the head office and crew department was excellent and everything was arranged in detail from before,during and at the end of the contract regarding transport, – more... hotels (if needed), contract etc etc – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Company
Several Positions Held (Former Employee), Seattle, WADecember 12, 2013
I love customer service and Holland America Line is very focused on providing excellant customer experiences during thier cruises.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People
Air-Sea Specialist (Former Employee), Seattle WaNovember 3, 2013
Good crew to work with. Never a dull moment. I enjoyed working in travel very much. Helping people book their airfare to their cruises was a rewarding experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly working environment
Bartender (Former Employee), MS VEENDAMOctober 2, 2013
Pros: free meals
Cons: breaktime and medical
ready to serve and help the guest to have a once in a life time experiences each and everyday of the cruise
learned to become a good example as a leader and as a co worker
most enjoyable part is meeting and treating a passenger as a guest becoming their not just their server but as their friend
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good enviroment
Assistant Housekeeper (Former Employee), Seattle, WASeptember 29, 2013
Pros: free lunch
Cons: short breaks
Nice day especially in port there is a chance to get out.
A lot training and fresh skill building
Need more attention how to take care human being
Good cooperation
Embarkation day
Public Project
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Work
Sr. Tour Inventory Specialist (Current Employee), Seattle, WASeptember 17, 2013
The people here are very nice and the benefits are very good, but salary is low and advancement is difficult.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work for with acceptable benefits
Director F&B Operations (Former Employee), Rotterdam, New York, NY and Seattle WASeptember 11, 2013
Was employed for 35 years which speaks for itself.
I have been very happy with the progress of my career at HAL and if I was not happy I would have left the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent job while young for exploring and experiencing the world
Entertainment Staff (Former Employee), Seattle, WAAugust 16, 2013
Pros: travel the world, meet new people, work with different cultures
Cons: away from home for 6 months at a time, not a lot of private space/time on the ship
A typical day would be get up, go to work for a few hours, go ashore in a new city/country for a few hours, back to work, then socialize in the evening. I learned how to appreciate and experience other cultures, to have patience for dealing with frustrated guests, and what is important to me and what I value. Each ship I worked on had different managers – more... so I was able to learn how to work with different management styles. Co-workers too for that matter work and interact in different ways and I had to adapt to that. The hardest part of the job is being away from home for such an extended period of time (6-7 months) and also saying goodbye to the new family we make while onboard. I also made some of the best friends I have from working on ships. That's one of the best and worst things--to make such great friends but not knowing when you'll get to see them again. And then there's traveling the world for free. Doesn't get much better than that. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting, organized and once in a lifetime opportunities
Tour Director/Concierge (Current Employee), Anchorage, AKAugust 15, 2013
Pros: travel benefits, amazing places, great co-workers and people skills
Cons: minimal pay, long days and suitcase living
Deliver a seamless vacation for guests in Alaska and the Yukon. While assisting up to 50 guests for up to 12 days at a time I share my knowledge, passion and excitement about Alaska with them. Guests either cruise first to Skagway, Ak where I will meet them with our deluxe motorcoach. I will then travel with them all the way throughout the interior – more... of Alaska/Yukon. Assisting with luggage, rooming, excursions and just flat out fun! The most enjoyable part of this job is being apart of dream vacations for people. Seeing them mark off items on their bucket lists and enhancing their experience. Hardest part is saying goodbye after building relationships after many long days together. Co-workers are great and I have made many lifetime friends because of it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
gangway
security guard (Current Employee), cruise shipJune 21, 2013
deal with guest and crew all the time secure the ship ex doing night rounds
screen all guest, crew n visitor on n off the ship
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional work enviornment
Accounts Payable Coder (Former Employee), Seattle, WAJune 16, 2013
Pros: opportunity to learn on the job
Cons: my position wasn't eligible for over time
I really enjoyed my time there. Lots of variety in my day and a great group of people to work with. I learned a lot about the cruise industry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
booked cruises for guests all around the world
Reservation Specialist (Former Employee), Seattle, WAMay 15, 2013
Pros: good people to work with
Cons: company treats u like a number
Booked curieses, hotels and air trasnportation for guests via a call center
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cultural Diversity
Guest Relations Associate (Former Employee), USA FloridaMay 5, 2013
As part of my Job description in Holland America Line, We are the guest services operator, we take charge of all guest inquiries, requests, concerns and complaints. Our time is very flexible though we work long hours a day, we do have a break in between and we get the chance to go ashore and that is one of the perks that we can have. Since we have a – more... a lot of different nationalities on board who works for HAL, we get to understand the cultural differences and that's one factor why we unite as team and I'm loving the fact that we enjoy our company. With regards to the management of the front office, it's systematic. However, there are some major factors that hasn't been clearly discussed to us for the new hired employes. For Example: Giving a a PIN to a crew, What is the procedure of giving a PIN. What would be the cause why superiors has to file a PIN and most especially for the manager, unfortunately sometimes he fails to be patience in handling his employees. What I've learned in working with this company is you really have to be tough. – less

1 2 3 4

About Holland America Line

At Holland America, we create once-in-a-lifetime experiences. Join us and let's create a unique career experience together! With – Read more

Holland America Line Photos