Hom Furniture Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Poor Management, hostile work environment
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Little Canada, MNNovember 14, 2017
Each store location follows a different set of rules when you meet with others at Corporate training, this is very evident. Allowed to discount at some locations, not allowed at others. No understanding for employees with sick, minor children. Extensive favoritism. Competitive environment allowed to be hostile. Guest Services staff wear multiple hats for VERY LITTLE PAY. Watching Sales Staff and listening to them with Managers very interesting, in that if they are selling the most, they are encouraged to walk right over other sales staff that sell lower numbers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really fun experience
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Rochester, MNNovember 14, 2017
I really enjoyed working with Hom Furniture. The place had a lot of things to teach the worker about. You learn how to work with customers, and how to realize that each customer has different needs. You also realize that you can learn from each other. The only thing I didn't like was the competitiveness. Some days it didn't seem so bad. Yet there were days where you would be helping someone, and certain people to talk over you to take the customer away. Those same people would always get away with it.
Pros
Super friendly co-workers.
Cons
Very competitive, some days weren't so bad.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Accounts Payable Clerk (Current Employee) –  Coon Rapids, MNNovember 14, 2017
The culture at Hom Furniture is very relaxed. Mistakes are handled professionally and painlessly. If you have another income, Hom Furniture is a great place to work.
Pros
play games, occasional free lunches
Cons
low compensation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's Alright
Guest Services (Former Employee) –  Little Canada, MNOctober 18, 2017
The company is incredibly corporate, so if you don't mind being one of thousands this might be the job for you! Managers are out of touch with the realities of what it is like working there at an entry level. You are underpaid, overworked, and under-appreciated.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent job,terrible management
Warehouse Associate II (Current Employee) –  Coon Rapids, MNAugust 23, 2017
-swamped with overflow product from less competent locations
-uneven work distribution among staff/shifts/and other warehouse locations
-management does not keep word/contact or respond to needed feedback from experienced employees
-always understaffed
-good culture,but unable to keep good employees long due to above listed issues and generally low pay for this line of work
Pros
easy, good cuture, lunch breaks
Cons
bad management, underpaid for physical strain
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful work family
Guest Services and Gabbert's Concierge (Current Employee) –  Little Canada, MNAugust 9, 2017
I love introducing our Guests to the store! We have 4 different stores in one at Little Canada, Hom Furniture, Gabbert's, Dock 86 and Seasonal Concepts. The Management is great to work with and for. They've been very flexible and supportive, but clear with expectations.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great product but unhealthy hours
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Hermantown, MNAugust 1, 2017
Good product and product training. The computer system is archaic. Working evenings and every weekend does not work out for me. Working every Saturday is harsh. Coworkers are great, but the two who are cutthroat and steal every sale or half of a sale makes it miserable. A kind former HOM employee who met me applying for another job and tried talking me out of leaving was kicked out of the store for recruiting! I don't know why. He has been a great customer for years.
Pros
Good coworkers
Cons
Poor hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great products, high turn over with poor store management
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Bloomington, MNJuly 25, 2017
The products and services that are offered are definitely competitive, although some of the lines are a bit dated. The continued training they provide is pretty good as well. The turn over rate is high and each manager provides conflicting expectations and guidelines which change depending on their moods. Unrealistic goals and a ton of favoritism!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sales
Sales and Design consultant (Former Employee) –  Little Canada, MNJuly 24, 2017
They pay poorly, and they care more about the sale then the customer. I found that they are all about the sale and not about their employees. I was disgusted in the way they managed disagreements in the sales team. Overall NOT a TEAM, more like pinned against each other. And made to follow customers around like dogs!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job really care about staff and great team work
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Little Canada, MNJuly 24, 2017
i love this job its wonderful in every way. the hardest part was being a salesman and having to sometimes it expected you to step on some toes and me and my personality is not as competitive as i probably should for a sales job.
i learned a lot of how to work with different people and customer focused.
i gained a good thick skin so my patients has straightened
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great First Real Job!
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Onalaska, WIJuly 7, 2017
They can give you the tools to be successful while building your skill set for future jobs! Fun atmosphere but cut throat commission, if you do not produce there will drama and trouble, if you do produce there will still be drama and trouble. Worth the several years I put in but definitely has internal issues.
Pros
Discounts, Showroom
Cons
Cutt Throat DRAMA DRAMA DRAMA
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A decent sales enviorment under minded by incompetent managers and terrible hours.
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Lakeville, MNMay 27, 2017
Worked at this location for more than a few years. Can honestly say this place is great place to build you resume and get a sense of what a commission sales enviorment looks like. Unfortunately the awful hours, lack of promotions, and incompetent sales managers are what bring this place down.
Pros
The odd free lunch, good health insurance
Cons
Terrible Hours, management, toxic coworkers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, MNApril 24, 2017
This is a good place to work. I was there during my college days. Management was wonderful about my school schedule. If you sell allot you can make allot, but coworkers can be aggressive at time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sales Lead, Peer Coach, and Sales Consultant (Current Employee) –  St. Paul, MNApril 12, 2017
Great place to work. Great compensation, expecially for a job not requiring a college degree. Great place to gain experience and hone your sales skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Management
Customer Experience Specialist (Current Employee) –  Little Canada, MNFebruary 28, 2017
Has great managers. Good life and work balance. They are really good about working around your hours. But also making sure you are getting all the hours you are needed to make your full how ever many hours you are scheduled to work that week.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not too bad of a workplace gets very slow
Customer Service/Greeter (Current Employee) –  Duluth, MNFebruary 25, 2017
Not a bad place to work. Although, I was a greeter and the salespeople would do my job for me which I didn't ask them too. Got very dead and boring from 2-9
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creative, active and fun environment.
LEAD VISUAL MERCHANDISER (Former Employee) –  Rogers, MNJanuary 31, 2017
Great team atmosphere. This was a physically challenging job with lots of lifting and climbing. We used our design knowledge through visualization and mental space planning. We used color and style coordination. Inventory management was probably the most difficult part of the job as the store was very large at 140,000 sq.ft. I learned to work with the sales staff to better promote those items that were high sellers by placing them on isles and giving extra finishing touches to the display when possible. I also learned how to work with buyers to promote their products in the best way possible under their requirements.
Pros
Mon-Fri work week
Cons
Constant heavy lifting
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail Rollercoaster
Sales Professional (Current Employee) –  Woodbury, MNDecember 19, 2016
The changing seasons are either feast or famen. Commission jobs can get very hard to make numbers in the winter. You must be highly driven to make a sale. We do not advise cold calling. However, we do advise a lot of follow up with customer.

Warehouse work is hard work. You must be willing to work hard for your money. However, the people in the ware house at HOM Furniture are some great characters. The warehouse staff makes up a tight knit community of friends that get along well. I will say that warehouse positions are a bit underpaid compared to other warehouse jobs in the cities.
Pros
Great co workers and management
Cons
retail hours work on weekend
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Guest Services Representative (Former Employee) –  Bloomington, MNNovember 12, 2016
Resolve customer complaints via phone, email, and mail. Attract potential customers by answering product and service questions, suggesting information about other products and services.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Guest service job
Guest Services (Former Employee) –  Plymouth, MNOctober 17, 2016
This job you have to have great communication skills and always be ready for a challenge. You have to know how to work the AS400 system and to answer calls. You also work the cookie bake shop too
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Hom Furniture. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 54 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.5
Culture
3.5