Home Bank Employee Reviews in United States

Found 19 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Political work setting
Security and Facilities Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lafayette, LAMarch 23, 2016
This bank was run by executives who were more concerned with employing the familiar than qualified applicants. The work environment was tense.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work....unless you're desperate.
Teller (Former Employee) –  Lafayette, LAOctober 5, 2015
Training experience is very poor and inconsistent. You are taught many policies that the veteran employees, who guide you, don't even follow.

Co-workers can be very rigid and rude.

Favoritism in management. The atmosphere is very exclusive, if you don't have some way of getting close with the "in" crowd, you are treated as an outcast.

Management is very critical and harsh, sometimes even ruthless.

Not a very cultured atmosphere, avoid this place if you, in some way big or small, might be defined as unique, diverse, or free-thinking. You won't be openly discriminated against, but you'll feel heavily excluded from your peers.

It's one of the worst places I've ever worked. It has completely turned me off to the banking world as a whole. I don't recommend working for this bank unless you are desperate.

Also the healthcare has a high deductible and no co-pay. There is no plan with an option to have a co-pay, nor a lower deductible.
Pros
Schedule, Paid-Time Off
Cons
Weak training, Poor Healthcare, Poor management, Poor co-workers, Oppressive atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Teller (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAOctober 16, 2015
"Fun work place with supportive management. Not all bout the numbers but how you personally grow and develop. Decent amount of red tape and politics, but this is expected of a big company"

- indeed.com
Pros
n/a
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work environment
AVP/Mortgage Loan Officer (Current Employee) –  Natchez, MsMay 27, 2015
Originate Mortgage Loan Applications
I was a loan officer on the consumer side for 20 years
I am new on the mortgage side
Co-workers and work environment are excellent!
Pros
Excellent work environment and flexible work schedule
Cons
Difficult market for home loans making it difficult to earn commmission above base salary.
Was this review helpful?YesNo5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trying to forget it
Branch Manager, Assistant Vice President (Former Employee) –  Lafayette, LAMarch 4, 2015
Overworked, under appreciated, little support from upper mgmt. The operations of the bank is a run away train, the exact definition of insanity: doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results. The weight of the world rests on the shoulders of the retail staff while upper mgmt sits at main office pointing their finger at everyone.
Pros
Great customers
Cons
Poor upper mgmt
Was this review helpful?Yes10No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hands Down The Worst Company I've Ever Workes For!
Mortgage Banking (Former Employee) –  Lafayette, LANovember 16, 2015
This is by far the worst company I've ever worked for!
The training is nonexistent so you need be an expert in your position when you start. Management is useless and incompetent to say the least. They will apologize for not providing you with training while writing you up for mistakes you wouldn't have made had you been trained!
People (sales staff in particular) will be permitted to talk down to you with no intervention from management. Complaining about how you are treated will only make things worse for you. Don't bother going to HR, they cannot be bother to deal with such issues.
Be prepared to work in a department that is grossly understaffed. Management will admit to you they are understaffed, but in the same breath they will tell you to deal with. You will be told to be grateful for not being laid off. You will be expected to do extra work, but do not expect to be compensated for it!
Management is spread so thin that you will rarely see them, but when they are around their incompetence knows no bounds! You will ask questions and rather than getting an honest "I don't know", you'll be given misinformation and then be penalized for abiding by that misinformation.
In conclusion, if you're desperate take the job, but you have other options run toward them as quickly as you can!
Pros
Bankers Hours
Cons
Terrible Health Coverage, Low Pay, Grossly Understaffed, No Training, Poor Management
Was this review helpful?Yes7No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. Great people to work with.
Mortgage Loan Processor (Current Employee) –  LafayetteJuly 16, 2013
A typical day at work for me is usually spent in my cubicle. I have learned alot here such as Teller, Head Teller, Vault Teller and Mortgage Loan Processing. Managment here is great and everyone and very flexible. Everyone I work/ have worked with are great people. They are very friendly and always team oriented. The most enjoyable part of my job is getting to meet so many great customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not neccessaily a great place to work.
Overworked (Former Employee) –  LafayetteMay 22, 2012
Management's drive is for themselves and not the poeple that put them at the top. They are misguided and have no direction. The hours are long, the pay is low, and there is no recognition. It is a stepping stone. My former boss has gone through 6 employees in 3 1/2 years.
Pros
great place to learn and hone your skill sets.
Cons
no recognition and low pay, long hours and unrealistic work expectations.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Job Ever
Teller (Former Employee) –  Lafayette, LAMay 11, 2012
The work environment is very negative. If you are not related to anyone or you are not friends than you are treated as an outsider. They do things that benefit them and not the customers. There is no room for growth unless you are a friend or relative of someone higher up.
Pros
learn banking
Cons
hours, bad co coworkers, worst management
Was this review helpful?Yes16No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace to start off your career in banking
Floating Universal Banker (Former Employee) –  New Orleans, LAMarch 19, 2015
A typical day at Home Bank would be to be attentive to customer needs ready to assist and answer any questions that they might ask.
Go over product knowledge and the weekly communications in the morning huddle. Preform all duties accurately and in compliance with the regulations of the banks policies.Answer phone calls in a polite energetic manner. Balance ATM, open accounts, close accounts, accept loan applications, preform wire transactions, stop payments, order checks, order debit cards, close debit cards, get referrals, assist tellers, assistant manager and branch manager on their daily duties.
I learned about the numerous products and services that Home Bank offered.
My coworkers were very upbeat, sweet and fun to work with. They had a great work ethic.
The hardest part of the job was that customer volume wasn't always high.
The most enjoyable part of working for Home Bank was the close personal customer relationships you got to make with the customers.
Pros
lots of opportunities to expand your product knowledge and help customers
Cons
little advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes5No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teller, worked in Call Center and Document Image Department
Teller & Call Center Representative (Former Employee) –  Lafayette, LAAugust 12, 2014
Set up cash drawer, Log on computer, greet customers, paying and receiving cash, accept loan payments, processed money orders, credit card payments, assist customer to sign-in vault, balanced vault, replenished and balanced ATM, cross selling bank products, balance cash drawer.
Also worked in Customer Service Call Center. Answer customer calls and inquiries about bank accounts, CD rates, current loan interest rates, change address, researched discrepancies, verified balances, stop payments, research, and provided bank product knowledge.
Worked in Document Imaging Department where I played a vital role in organizing the work flow, identified documents, scanned, and filed loan and other bank documents electronically in system accordingly. Filed paper documents in vault, maintained a record of old destroyed files.
Pros
i enjoy assisting customers and i excelled in cross selling bank products
Cons
after leave of absence due to surgeries (wasn't job related), my job transpired
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Department undergoing restructuring
Deposit Services/Bookkeeping Operations Associate (Current Employee) –  Lafayette, LAAugust 7, 2012
Detailed and time sensitve duties performed with limited supervision in an extremely busy environment
Pros
friendly co-workers
Cons
advancement/work-life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits, Lower than usual pay, Great HR department
Financial Analyst - Accounting (Current Employee) –  Lafayette, LAOctober 19, 2011
Caring culture, but tight deadlines. Annual mergers and acquisitions keep employees working late hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Home health
Loan Servicing Specialist (Current Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAJuly 30, 2014
Helping the elderly with daily tasks was ok. Makes you appreciate health and gives you a good fuzzy feeling. Cons: the pay.
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
teller
Teller (Former Employee) –  Maryville, TNJune 2, 2014
Wonderful company to work for. Great benefits and bonus. Cross trained employees. No sales pressure.
Pros
free lunches every day, bonus
Cons
sold to larger bank
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Bank and great management.
Loan Servicing Specialist (Current Employee) –  Lafayette, LAOctober 29, 2014
Great place to work for. Home town bank with a great management team.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Accounting Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lafayette, LAMay 3, 2013
At Home Bank I learned a little bit of accounting. I was in charge of Accounts Payable and I was the main contact for this job.
Was this review helpful?YesNo6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A really good experience
CSR/Teller (Former Employee) –  Murphy, NCApril 13, 2013
I worked in both the Main Bank and the Walmart branch. I did mostly teller and customer service work. I left about the time BB&T bought it.
Was this review helpful?YesNo7

See more Home Bank reviews

You may want to try:

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 20 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
2.2
Management
2.6
Culture
2.5