Home Builders Institute Employee Reviews

Showing all 73 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Construction Plumbing, Pre-Apprentice (Current Employee) –  San Bernardino, CAApril 25, 2017
Really great opportunity if your focused and committed to learning.
a typical day here consist of waking up at 6 and getting strait to work, cleaning up our living quarters, and then after breakfast, we're either working on maintenance and repair on center or doing in class work on the floor or book work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interactive Training Program
Facility Maintenance Trainee (Former Employee) –  Defuniak Springs, FL 32435April 21, 2017
The Home Builder's Institute provided me the opportunity to advance my skills in the construction trades by providing me both classroom and hands on training in the basic construction tools, materials, safety, and math requirements of today's trade industry.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
mostly good people
irrelevant (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCApril 13, 2017
Worked for HBI (a national non-profit training contractor) for 20+ years. For most of those years it had a great family feeling with a lot of genuine caring humans. A change in senior leadership over the last 1/2 dozen years has many employees feeling under-appreciated, like disposable cogs in a machine. Very sad after many people devoted the majority of their career lives to a very worthy cause.
Pros
Many very nice people
Cons
Some uncaring senior management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace with relatable instructors
Pre-Apprentice Electrical Wiring trainee (Former Employee) –  Edison, NJFebruary 28, 2017
a typical day at work involved getting a blueprint and starting work, no time for slacking. I learned a lot about my electrical trade such as installing, safety in workplace, and trouble shooting problems. the management was small but they knew what they were doing and how to run a large group of trainees. my work shop was large and full of people working on singular projects but the only noise was passing tips and information on to newer students. it was hard at first learning ohms law and theory, but it got easier with the hands on experience. my favorite part was being able to hook up my work and see all the lights come on.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exceptional Institution
Pre-Apprentice Electrical Training (Former Employee) –  San Bernardino, CAFebruary 3, 2017
Fantastic means of starting any career in home building associated trades. They are very competent instructors with a forte in observing common safety practices.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unstable grant program
Regional Career Services Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAFebruary 1, 2017
I left before they closed down. The conditions were not equivalent to the environment in they wanted work to be done. No leadership guidance or training
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not yet wmployed
Pre-Apprenticeship Program (Current Employee) –  West Palm Beach, FLJanuary 19, 2017
I am not yet employed with this company. I am very interested in having this job. This company appear to be a great company to work for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive And fun Working environment
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Avon Park, FLJanuary 18, 2017
Well it was a good experience it was a trade program that helped me earn lots of certificates and it gave me a lot of knowledge on how how to use power tools and to build things with my hands.
Pros
a lot of certificates which opened the doors to a lot of new opportunities for me
Cons
Hard working in the sun 24/7
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hands on training
Assisted plumbing instructor (Former Employee) –  Brunswick, GADecember 19, 2016
Great hands on opportunity to learn how to master the art of plumbing. Detailed training with heavy instruction and hands on situations.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good hours
Building Construction Technology Instructor (Former Employee) –  Lecanto, FLDecember 3, 2016
class environment not up to standards.no communication with management . this company pays well . does not give you the support needed to do your job.
Pros
local
Cons
envirnment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Home Builders Institute?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Training program
Pre-Apprenticeship Certification Training (Former Employee) –  Defuniak Springs, FLNovember 21, 2016
HBI was a positive training program that gave me a good background on construction and the trades. I recommend this program to anyone.
Pros
free trades
Cons
didn't get paid
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a part of Job Corps
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Brunswick, GAOctober 26, 2016
Job corps help you a lot. They will help you get u a place to stay. If you smoke they will help you stop if you want to. when you ready to leave they will help you build your resume.
Pros
good workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great workplace
Line Trimmer (Former Employee) –  Okeechobee, FLOctober 19, 2016
Always a blast at work never had any problems with co-workers. Easy hours never had to work crazy long shifts like a lot of places. Would go back if I could.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, self paced learning environment
Building Construction Technology Trainee (Current Employee) –  Joliet, ILOctober 13, 2016
The Home Builder's Institute is a self paced learning institute. They teach you a lot of subjects in the Construction/Maintenance field such as safety/OSHA, Plumbing, Basic Electrical, Window/Door installation, ect. great place to learn these hands on skills for the workforce.
Pros
Hands on learning, trade related projects on center.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful experience
Regional Career Services Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Sheridan, IL 60551September 28, 2016
While the annual salaries & yearly increases are fairly under the national average, I thoroughly enjoyed working for HBI. A non-profit organization with a great goal and business structure.
Pros
A job that let me grow
Cons
Salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and self paced Pre appenticeship program
Electrician Trainee (Former Employee) –  Monroe, VASeptember 12, 2016
A great instructor teaching us the the ins and outs of the electrical field, from wiring switches, lights, and receptacles, to Rj-45 and coaxial cables ,emergency lights, Ceiling lights in drop ceilings and various other projects around the center. As well as pulling wire, tracing panels, and creating raceways to run the wire.
Pros
Free lunches, breaks, and a safety guided instructor
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Description of my job and co workers and what I enjoy most about it .
Trainee (Current Employee) –  Monroe, VAAugust 1, 2016
A typical day at work would be my co workers and I tending to service calls . We have worked and accomplished numerous hands on jobs like installing and fixing sinks ,toilets , water heaters ,running/designing water lines and installing and repairing air condition . My Co workers are all very hard working and there desire to be successful is only contagious. The hardest part of my job is when we are on a call and a customer might be unaware and non initially misleading on what exactly the problem may be . The most enjoyable part of my job is the team work my co-workers and I have because we are all awesome motivators and our chemistry is truly unique .
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working with troubled youth and providing youth with the certifications offered by the Home Builder's Institute
Regional Career Services Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Saint Petersburg, FLJuly 7, 2016
I enjoyed working with troubled youth and providing youth with the certifications offered by the Home Builder's Institute.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was productive as i had learned alot
Maintenance Trainee (Former Employee) –  Monroe, VAJune 15, 2016
It was enjoyable to work as the day went on. As I learned to patch holes in a wall; while after getting done with the wall we tore it down which was fun.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good overall learning experience
Carpenter Trainee (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCMay 25, 2016
HBI is a pretty good organization to be apart because of the more opportunity that have opened up to me since being apart of the company
Pros
Working down at the Department of Labor
Cons
The learning curve
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Home Builders Institute. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 73 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Compensation/Benefits
4.3
Job Security/Advancement
4.1
Management
4.3
Culture
4.4

CEO Approval

94%
18 ratings
Add your rating

Home Builders Institute Reviews by Location