Home Depot

16.4K reviews

Home Depot Employee Reviews

What people are saying about Home Depot

  • Success sharing 2x a year
  • The focus at The Home Depot is the customer
  • Stocking the shelves
  • See more...
Found 15,276 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
time for a rasie
The freight overnight lead (Current Employee) –  Alsip, ILFebruary 9, 2016
i am just doing my best at this work please help move forward on everything i hope i accomplism meant hoping to comeplete it all at once
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not the best but not to bad
Lumber associate (Current Employee) –  Roseville, MIFebruary 9, 2016
I love the work I do but people who work there is a down fall fast paced and enjoyable. had fun for the most part just a lot of people there are to lazy.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Lumber Associate (Former Employee) –  League City, TXFebruary 8, 2016
good work environment, good coworkers, management was lacking but wasn't bad. Pay was good but could have been more, but was a relaxed kinda laid back more homey and comfortable than most retail
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Hardware Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Chesapeake, VAFebruary 8, 2016
This is a horrible place to work. The management is so concerned with customer service that they allow the customers to walk all over the employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy inter acting with customers
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Euclid, OHFebruary 8, 2016
Productive and enjoy working for customers and being of service, being able to sale credit applications and knowing that I have help.
Pros
Helping Customers
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family oriented.
P.A.S.A. ( Pro Account Sales Associate ) (Current Employee) –  Tulsa, OKFebruary 8, 2016
Very easy to move up with the right will power. Great company to initiate a career. Accuracy is key. Very high expectations. Scheduling can be better. Excellent talents.
Pros
work regardless of weather
Cons
scheduling
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Need to be fast and accurate
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Lake Geneva, WIFebruary 8, 2016
Working with all types of credit and money counting. Had to make quick decisions on inventory so customers were informed so they could make good decisions on goods.
Pros
worked close with trainers
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low pay not interested in new business
Pro Account Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Butler, PAFebruary 7, 2016
too many errors and the concern of management seems to be somewhat misguided as to how the business should run as far as contractor sales is concerned, although they make a lot of money every fiscal year I do not believe that they are maximizing the market nor do they seem to care. very cold place to work with a rumor mill that is exhausting
Pros
some of the workers are nice and one manager is excellent
Cons
lack of expansion or training, experience and performance is not rewarded
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent organization for leadership development.
HR Manager (Former Employee) –  Wasilla, AKFebruary 7, 2016
I would recommend The Home Depot for anyone who would like to grow as a leader and has a passion for customer service. Be prepared for long hours and hard-driving days.
Pros
Team work and committment
Cons
Increasing expectations that lead to lack of work-life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Broomfield, COFebruary 7, 2016
This company is wonderful. It is the perfect retail job that welcomes you into the world of business. Room for growth. Enjoyable friendly work zones
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
Asset Protection Specialist (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXFebruary 7, 2016
You'll be hired part-time. Only a few set schedule positions. If your part time you'll be on notice. Asset Protection advancement is a trickle but management positions on the sales floor are available from supervisor to manager.
Pros
No college degree needed for promotion
Cons
Asset Protection Field lacks positions.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work!
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Brighton, MIFebruary 7, 2016
Very proud to have worked for this company. Great management, great learning on the job training. Wonderful staff and well kept store!!!
Pros
Excellent staff, and hours and on job training!
Cons
None!
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright for what it is.
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Denton, TXFebruary 7, 2016
Home Depot is an interesting company. While the benefits for part timers are great and fellow associates are kind and helpful ( As far as cashiers. Floor associates are a much different story, not all but most can be difficult at times to work with. ). Retail is retail so except it to be such just add a lot more movement and if you are male expect to load the occasionally vehicle with any given materials in the store ( without proper training ). Management plays favorites often so don't be surprised if you take more heat for one mistake while that guy thats been there for a few months barely does his job, is often late, and does nothing but complain about how hard his job is never has a word said to him.
Pros
Good Benefits if you can afford it
Cons
Some floor associates, cashiers take all blame for anyone in the stores mistakes, hard to change schedule, students say good bye to your social life, working weekends is highly inforced unless your a favorite, pay is lack luster for whats being asked.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company has the ability to advance yearly and offers relocation
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Redlands, CAFebruary 7, 2016
This company continues to improve and has a great vision for servicing the customer. The pay and benefits as well as stability are strong here.
Pros
Benefits and the ability to travel and support other DC's, as well as training for your further development
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Educational
Paint Department Associate (Current Employee) –  Simi Valley, CA 93065February 6, 2016
Mixed paint and helped customers choose the right tools for their project. Learned a lot if DIY tactics and tricks. Management wasn't all that great. some co-workers were not the nicest or greatest people. Hardest part of the job is knowing all the product information and which item will work the best. Most enjoyable part of the job is helping customers and meeting people.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This type of job want for me
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Emeryville, CAFebruary 6, 2016
This is a ok place to work i guess. I personally hated it and thought i could do it for the money but i just felt like a piece of me died each day. Its not a hard job at all but there are things you have to go through each day which make your day more difficult.
Pros
can choose between 30min or 1hour lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice position at a pleasant facility
US Security Associate (Current Employee) –  Van Buren, OHFebruary 6, 2016
I enjoy greeting and sending off warehouse workers. They are nice and pleasant to deal with. Enjoy their joking around, but they keep it at a professional level. Hardest part of this job is staying awake, but the "gang" pops in to revive me at times.
Pros
Midnight shift allows me to manage my family of 4 dogs with little problems.
Cons
There is no benefits that a single person can afford.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Home Depot
MILLWORK SALES SPECIALIST (Current Employee) –  Okemos, MIFebruary 6, 2016
I left lowes to come to home depot you work consistently but id more seasonal. Slower in winter fast paced in the summer a good mix where you never get bored
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co workers
Decor specialist (Former Employee) –  Spring, TXFebruary 6, 2016
Fun place to work for the most part. I learned allot while I was in the hardware department.. The workers were the main reason most people stayed as long as they did. Turnover was rampant. constantly changing. supervisors were reassigned different departments with little or no training then fired for not making quotas. If you weren't a department supervisor you were nothing.
Pros
bonuses, frequent free lunches, badges
Cons
weird work hours, not much stucture
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A healthy work environment
Paint associate (Current Employee) –  Flushing, NYFebruary 5, 2016
The management team is very supportive. It is a great company to work for. We always make sure that our customer come first and their time spent at our store an enjoyable one.
Pros
Free lunches, prizes, financial support, etc
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 16,436 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture