Find companies:
Home Depot
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
9,337 reviews

Home Depot Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Greeter (Former Employee), Jackson, MSJuly 29, 2014
Home Depot is a great place to work if you are a people's person. I have meet people from many places and I did a lot of networking with our professional customers. Management was always empathetic to my needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company to work at
Plumbing Associate (Current Employee), Cerritos, CAJuly 29, 2014
Pros: great communication with the manager and supervisor
Cons: it take time to move up with the company
A typical night at Home Depot we be working on pallets in my department and when finish, I will help out others in their department until the job is done. I am fully equipped to work in any department by myself with no supervision. The co-workers are ok throughout the night. The most enjoyable part of the job is working with the supervisor or manager – more... on projects one on one when my help is needed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun
Plumber and Kitchen and Bath Specialist (Current Employee), Simi Valley CAJuly 29, 2014
Pros: gaining lots of knowledge and a stable job and holiday pay
Cons: work most weekends and few holidays the store is closed and lack of coverage in employee
Day at the home depot includes lots of customer service and shelf maintenance. Being able to answer question that the customer ask you and showing customers whee things are at it the store. Ive been here 3 years and its amazing how much you can learn and be able to use it in real life.life. I'm a person that is like a sponge where i would absorb everything, – more... so i learn and i preach what i learn so someone else that needs the knowledge can use it. i know not only my plumbing but i know a lot in other departments. Co workers are great and we help one another constantly and making sure every customer is happy. Hardest part of the job is being by yourself and trying to help 10 customers at the same time. There are times where we are short staffed and are force to help customers that been waiting for you for 15 to 20 mins and they become angry by the time you get to them and so they try to ruin your day. I try not to let them get to me and still be professional and answer there question in the best of my ability. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast up beat place to work
Cashier (Current Employee), Memphis, TNJuly 29, 2014
Pros: free lunches on holidays
Cons: not so much helathcare available to part time employees
Being a cashier is simple at home depot. We are required to stand on the race track and seek out customers ready to check out. We are also required to have speedy and sufficient check out timing. The co-workers are nice and helpful and always available to answer questions. The hardest part of the job is standing in one spot all day. the most enjoyable – more... part is seeing the smile on a happy cusotmer's face. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best thing about home depot is the other people who work there
Cashier (Former Employee), Austin, TXJuly 29, 2014
Pros: amazing co-workers and good with breaks
Cons: coverage and management
it was a wonderful place to work but deteriorating working conditions, cleanliness, operable equipment, management had all gone down
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first job
Garden Sales Associate (Former Employee), Wentzville, MOJuly 29, 2014
Pros: fun, plenty of down time
Simple job that worked great with people. Management was friendly and tried to get you to do as much as you could.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job room for advancement
Department Manager (Former Employee), Keller, TXJuly 29, 2014
Pros: room for advancement and pay
Cons: home office orders made it difficult for sales
Everyday was a different day although with basic duties. Co-workers were great and management was supportive
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great workplace
Freight Team Member (Current Employee), Durham, NCJuly 29, 2014
A typical day is going in breaking down freight and packing it out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place diverse atmosphere
Machine Operator (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CaJuly 28, 2014
extremely busy, productive, fast paced workplace. I learned leadership skills and how to operate numerous machinery. The management was fair there was nothing hard about my job. The most enjoyable part of the job was working with so many great personalities we worked as a team to get the job done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Encouraging work environment
Front End Supervisor (Current Employee), Cedar Hill, TXJuly 28, 2014
Pros: homer fund, homer awards
Cons: healthcare for part-time
Work environment where you are able to challenge yourself to learn new departments, procedures, and new ways to do things. You are allowed to use your entrepreneurial spirit. We are able to encompass some core values. We are able to say yes to customers and fix there issues without being challenged by management on why we made a decision. Co workers – more... work well together. The most enjoyable part about my job is making a difference in people's day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast work place
Cashier (Former Employee), San antonio, txJuly 28, 2014
Answered and managed incoming calls for staff
Greeted customers, vendors and other retail clients
Provided and commended for excellent customer service
Handled customer service inquiries and complaints
Responsible for large cash reconciliation
Maintained register documentation
Generated & processed sales orders
Assisted in loss prevention awareness
Other – more... duties as assigned – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a job
General Warehouse Associate (Current Employee), Joliet, ILJuly 28, 2014
It's alright, management changes every couple of months. And you are not really sure what area you will be working from time to time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Freight Associate (Former Employee), Chattanooga, TNJuly 28, 2014
There was always something to do. The tasks that needed to be done were completed every single night without hesitation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy day to day job for a beginner job looker
Cashier (Current Employee), Trussville, ALJuly 28, 2014
Pros: food parties, healthcare, flexibility
Cons: short or no breaks, under staffing, under paid
A typical day at work includes helping customers find products to fit their needs, educating them on the specific products and all that it does, as well as checking the customer out and ensuring that they are happy with the product of their choice. I have learned that the more flexible your hours are, the better the chance of actually getting decent – more... hours. The management could do a better job at scheduling enough to make sure the store is not understaffed, but overall they do an adequate job. The hardest part of the job is learning all of the different products that the store has to offer. The most enjoyable part of the job is knowing that the customer is satisfied with the product that you helped pic for them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Split Decision
Home Depot Freight Worker (Current Employee), Frederick, MDJuly 28, 2014
Pros: fun environment and great co-workers
Cons: upper management and fluctuating hours
My direct supervisor is the best boss I have ever had, very understanding and a great guy overall. The reason I label this as split decision is because throughout the rest of the store supervisors and ASM's are chosen based on favorites, not skill.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every day was a new experience
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee), CaƱon City, COJuly 28, 2014
Pros: enjoyed going to work
Cons: always low staffed
Worked great with customers along with the other employees, always had weekly goals for our associates to achieve to earn extra cash or other things.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great family like teamwork environment
Department Associate (Former Employee), College Station, TXJuly 28, 2014
Pros: great breakroom, benefits, and good pay
Cons: bad hours
Home Depot is a great place for people to be able to work in a steady environment with nice coworkers. However, there is no real advancement available for part time associates. They begin by paying more than most places offer, the training is severe, but that allows for better associates. The hardest part of this job is the hours you are expected to – more... work. They can schedule you anywhere from 5 am until beyond midnight if they need it. However the environment created by coworkers makes it nicer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bootcamp for retail
Supervisor (Current Employee), grand junction coJuly 28, 2014
Pros: benefits, sucess sharing.
Cons: lack of adequate help in entire store.
Grew a lot by dealing with many associates and customers over the years in difficult situations. My co workers have been the best part of the job. Management has been poor and inconsistent for too many years at the gj location. Not a overall example of the company. The company in general has many incentives for the associates,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Home Depot experience.
Sales Floor Associate (Current Employee), Wasilla, AlaskaJuly 28, 2014
Pros: great co-workers, great customers, great learning expericence.
Cons: some unclearfied procedures, upper management is inexperienced.
A typical day at work consists of me sharing my knowledge of lumber and building materials to assist customers in their projects. I've learned about managing inventory, associates, and work loads at a retail level. I've also learned much of the construction trade. My co-workers are hardworking and self driven. Day and night work crews work in union – more... to ensure a grand opening everyday. The most challenging portion of my job is multi tasking to optimize my time in assisting as many customers I can. The most rewarding part of my job is ensuring that our customers receive the best service that can be provided by empowering employees to make the decision to do achieve the companies goals. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and highly competitive big box retail environment.
Designer/Pro Sales (Former Employee), West Allis, WIJuly 28, 2014
Pros: my favorite part of working for home depot was establishing relationships with customers, finding special order products needed for specialty projects, developing relationships with vendors, expediting
Cons: the physical work area inside home depot is hard on the body; standing for hours on concrete floors, poor air quality and constant back ground noise.
With micro management and strict sales guidelines, I met with new and existing customers each day. Each customer had different needs and expectations. I was able to tailor my customer service skills to help each customer secure the materials needed for their individual projects.
Starting in the Kitchen Design department and then moving into Pro Sales – more... I learned to design kitchens and bathroom using 20/20 software for homeowners and contractors, I became familiar with materials needed for replacing a roof to building a garage or deck.

The hardest part of working in a big box retail store was the work schedule, especially working weekends and holidays. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Home Depot

The Home Depot is the global leader in home improvement and fourth largest retailer in the world. Providing superior customer – Read more