Find companies:
Home Depot
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
8,127 reviews

Home Depot Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NA
Retail Associate (Current Employee), Bricktown, NJApril 21, 2014
Pros: 15 break min lunch 30 min
Cons: weekends must work
This is a great place to work. I enjoy being around my supervisor and management is respectful. Other associates use great teamwork skills to work together on projects. They assign you a job coach as you start to mentor you so that you learn all the specifics.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the homedepot
Cashier (Former Employee), houston\April 21, 2014
they give wonderful customer services but there they dont pay enough for the work they expect you to do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Management
Outside Sales Representative (Current Employee), Ventura CountyApril 21, 2014
Management is supportive of training. I had little knowledge of home improvement but through the intranet training and the initial six week one-on-one training with my manager I was able to intelligently and confidently speak to customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
multitasking and alot of costumer service
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Carson, CAApril 21, 2014
in this position you see a little of everything everyday new people, products and new ways of costumer service interractions. This is a job were you use many multitasking skills such as Establishing and identify prices of goods, services or admission, and tabulate bills using calculators, cash registers, or optical price scanners and in the same time – more... Receiving payment by cash, check, credit cards, vouchers, or automatic debits. In this position i have learned that costumer service is very important because such as myself any store that i walk in to i would be apreciated for good costumer service. As a new member co- workers were very patient and helpful then i became part of a team. The most enjoyable part of the job is seeing the satisfaction on a costumers face when they got the help they needed it makes you feel the same emotion. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Home Depot
Cashier (Former Employee), Kansas City, MOApril 21, 2014
Pros: good job
Cons: hours were only seasonal
I enjoyed working with the public. It was a seaonal job. I scored in the top 10% of employees in successful resolution of issues. I monitored cash drawers in multiple checkout stations to ensure adequate cash supply.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Lot/Freight Night Associate (Current Employee), Baton Rouge, LAApril 21, 2014
It was a busy work day and where different items where at in the store. The management was good and i get along with the managers at m job. I get along with everybody at my job and their wasn't to hard of the job to do. The job is it okay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced,great associates and customers
Inside Garden Supervisor (Current Employee), El Cerrito, CAApril 21, 2014
Pros: bonus potential
Cons: high turnover of management
Walk department for work list needs and out of stocks. Check in with associates to see what they need. Walk with magmt to set weekly goals. Hardest part of the job: staying in-stock. Most enjoyable part of the job: working with my associates to give great customer service and keep store looking good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun environment.
Garden Associate (Current Employee), Normal, ILApril 21, 2014
I enjoy my day to day experience at The Home Depot. I work with good people selling good products.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sales associate
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Houston, TXApril 21, 2014
Pros: stock options
Cons: high volume of sales / lack of employees on floor at times (registers)
Great working environment , with the opportunity to advance within the company , working with the public to me is self rewarding and Home Depot allowed me to be interactive with the public and gave me a sense of accomplishment as a member of society
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great leadership team
HR Supervisor (Current Employee), Newnan, GAApril 21, 2014
Pros: the people, the brand and the culture
Cons: pay
The management team at my store is wonderful they are extremely supportive to their associates and supervisors
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prepared delivery orders for shipment
Delivery / Will Call Coordinator (Former Employee), Broomall, PAApril 21, 2014
Pros: can, at times, be a fun place to work
Cons: typical retail mentality management
As Delivery Coordinator, it was my responsibility to ensure any and all sales orders were prepared, prepped, and scheduled via contractors, for final destination site delivery. This primarily consisted of large lumber and building materials orders from the contractor services desk for contractors, yet would also include flooring and kitchen sales orders – more... on items bought at the specific store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a very busy productive environment.
Project Coordinator (Former Employee), Boca Raton, FLApril 21, 2014
I coordinated work between Home Depot and contractors to install hurricane windows and doors. I worked under a lot of stress, often long overtime hours along with the rest of the team. I had a lot of job satisfaction and was thrilled when a job I had managed was completed successfully and we had a happy customer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy enviroment
Head Cashier (Former Employee), Passaic, NJApril 20, 2014
Managing the front end included assisting cashiers in any issues they may encounter. It also involved keeping a clean and safe work area for employees and customers. As a head cashier I was responsible for auditing the registers as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable atmosphere
Merchandise Specialist (Former Employee), Egg Harbor Township, NJApril 20, 2014
Pros: good break times, enjoyable and alive atmosphere
Cons: healthcare
A typical day would consist of helping customers with locating their items. During the time of work I learned to expand a positive attitude to customers and have a friendly atmosphere.The management was lenient when not busy, but strict when it was busy. The hardest part of the job was to lift heavy items to and from the main desk. The most enjoyable – more... part of the day was interacting with different people and making a comfortable and friendly environment for them. Also, learning about their projects they will perform, allowed a close relationship to build. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced Retail Store
Special Services Associate (Current Employee), Batavia, NYApril 19, 2014
Pros: i get to work with a variety of customers, and help turn problems into solutions and make sure they leave with a smile
Cons: rarely get breaks, hard to find management for customer issues, no one answers the phones when called or transferred a call, management is not very good at this location
On a typical day I answer phones a million times, I get happy and very angry customers but the difference is how you approach each customer and how the situation is handled. No one situation will be the exact same so there is a big learning curve. Associates for the most part are very fun and very helpful to myself and to the customers. The hardest – more... part of my job is being alone at the desk and juggling the phone, creating orders for the customer in front of me, having 5 people in line that want to cash out, return, or make a credit card payment, and in the mean time I can find no help in the store. The most enjoyable part of my day is when I can make that one really really upset customer that is ready to just walk out and go to a competitor and turn them around sell them a product they love or help get them a solution for their current product and they leave with a smile and want to tell a manager about my service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place for the right person.
Customer Service (Former Employee), Dacula, GAApril 19, 2014
Pros: staying active, a verity of daily tasks, ever changing.
Cons: retail hours.
For retail, great place to work on the full scale. Stock options, benefits, and profit shearing. Learn a ton of useful skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My experience
SPECIALTY SALES (Current Employee), Newark, CAApril 19, 2014
Pros: benefits, some growth opportunities, part-time flexibility
Cons: get moved around (pro/con?), management is too busy for you, little to no support
I've been working at Home Depot for just over three-and-a-half years now. Home Depot has given me confidence over the years as I have learned some selling skills that will stay with me for life.

I started as a cashier and moved my way up to associate and then specialist. During this time, you learn all there is on the floor to help customers, but Home – more... Depot is really good at throwing you to the sharks. You have to be able to learn on your feet with little or no support from management as you get more specialized in the departments.

What has kept me here for so long is the lasting friendships I have with my coworkers. They have created an environment of friendly people who all sincerely care for one another and are willing to help each other out. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outdated
Millwork Sales (Former Employee), Greenville, SCApril 19, 2014
My review of Home Depot would be outdated because its been a very long time since I worked for them. When I did, it was in their heyday and I enjoyed working for them. For the type of company it is, they compensated well, benefits where above average and the job culture was enjoyable.Since then I understand things are not the same.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a fun place to work
GARDEN CENTER ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), Auburn Hills, MIApril 18, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: the pay
Helped many customers find items and talk about their home depot needs, Management was always available and always telling us how great of a job we were doing and was never afraid to jump in to help out the customers as well. Co workers and I were always on top of things and helping and communicating with one another. Hardest part of the job would be – more... helping to many customers at once with a ringing phone in your hand. Enjoyable part about the job would be the atmosphere and knowing the customers I helped went home happy with their needs met. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning to stock and place items in the correct place.
Freight Team Member (Former Employee), Newnan, GAApril 18, 2014
What I would do is clock in go to the shipping department and take the items that were just shipped and start to place them on the shelf in a proper manor in a quick time frame to not have stock backed up the next day. The things I learned in this job was how to put things in the proper place and to make sure the (SKU) shipping # matched the place where – more... the item needed to go. The management there was always making sure you place the items in a timely manor so that way by the end of the shift you would be able to sweep and mop the floor. The co-workers there were team players if you didn't know where the stuff in the store were located they would help you out until you understood where everything went and what department the item would be in. The hardest part of the job was dealing with the garden items certain bags of mulch would be ripped on the bottom when transporting to a pallet and you would get your clothes real dirty or watering the plants would get your shoes very wet. The best thing about the job was each person would try to race and see where the items would go in there cart before the next so that way we would finish stock quicker. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Home Depot

The Home Depot is the global leader in home improvement and fourth largest retailer in the world. Providing superior customer – Read more