Find companies:
Home Depot
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
9,012 reviews

Home Depot Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's retail.
Cashier/ Garden and Hardware Associate (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJuly 7, 2014
Pros: well managed.
Cons: it's retail.
One of the better retail companies to work for. The only major downfall, is having to constantly push credit on customers. It's required. I think I sucks, cause while I do enjoy helping people and customer service, I hate pushing things on people that they don't want. Especially in this economy, an additional credit card it the last thing people want – more... or need, with the exception of contractors and new home owners taking on giant home improvement projects. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
..
Team Member, Merchandising Execution Team (Current Employee), Atlanta, GA (Tilly Mill Location)July 7, 2014
At The Home Depot every morning before getting to our usual duties, the team meets up and discuss the work safety topic for the day as well as stretching in order to prep for any strenuous manual work. Then, apart of the daily task are to change daily prices changes throughout the store, take care of any priority task (such as vendor display changes, – more... product moves, fixture take downs or to be put up, and routine department servicing) in a timed format and continue daily bay service throughout the aisles. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work.
Delivery Puller (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLJuly 7, 2014
Pros: set schedule
Cons: management was lacking professionalism.
Good benefits, poor management. Physically demanding job. Had some helpful co-workers. Set schedule. Alright pay scale.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working there.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Sandy, UTJuly 7, 2014
Pros: fun people.
Cons: inconsistent work schedule.
Home Depot is fast paced environment. I thought it to be well managed. I would work there again given the opportunity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Import Re Buyer (Former Employee), Monterrey, NLJuly 7, 2014
Worked very close with the merchandising department,
Analyze inventory for the 60 stores of the country
Re buying
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Inventory Management Associate (Former Employee), Kemah, TXJuly 7, 2014
Pros: stock options, competitive pay
Cons: early work hours
I enjoyed working at Home Depot. I was an Inventory Management Associate and I took care of three departments. There was a lot of responsibility with this job and I enjoyed the challenges. The hardest part of the job was getting up at 2:30 a.m. in order to be at work by 4:30 a.m. I did like getting off work at 1:30 in the afternoon.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good workplace
Customer Service (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJuly 7, 2014
Pros: coworker environment and great customer experience
Cons: human resource and management department
Great coworkers and environment at Home Depot but management and training is horrible. I've had many jobs throughout my life and never was in a position where training was so unorganized but yet you were still expected to know things you never were properly trained in. Very unscheduled and not a comfortable work environment due to the micromanagement – more... of some managers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAJuly 7, 2014
Great company benefits and advancement opportunities.
Friendly associates and leadership team. Serious customer service atmosphere mixed with fun.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant work environment
Head Cashier (Former Employee), Claremont, NHJuly 7, 2014
This place was great to work for. The only downfall was that they didn't have much for full time positions
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall lack of caring for employees and/or customers
Freight team associate (Former Employee), Suwanee, GAJuly 7, 2014
Cons: lack of order, lack of compassion, and constant lying
A typical day at home depot was a lot of running around without any organization, with 2 or 3 employees having to go and help in a different department leaving theirs unattended and the customers without help.

I learned how to drive a forklift really well, and a little about paint.

Management was always 2-faced saying one thing to your face and doing – more... the opposite behind your back.

My co-workers were nice enough when having time from all the craziness to relax on their lunch break.

The hardest part of this job was having to run all over the store to help people in departments that i knew nothing about.

Unfortunately there was no enjoyable part of this job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to meet and interact with people.
NIGHT CREW SUPERVISOR (Current Employee), Woodland hills, CAJuly 7, 2014
Fun place to be. Great opportunities for growth. You can learn so much.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great range of technologies for enterprise.
Sr. Front-end Architect/Developer (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAJuly 7, 2014
Pros: location, range of technologies, some social activities.
Cons: location, older-school hardware and tools. cramped.
Hours can be flex. Management is conscientious and accommodating. Very diverse dedicated team. Work-hard culture.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Salesman (Current Employee), Glendale, NYJuly 6, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule
great place for advancement in careers. very understanding towards its employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn
Cashier (Former Employee), PhiladelphiaJuly 6, 2014
Pros: great place to learn
Cons: no time for a lunch short staff
Home depot was an eye opener you had to a quick learner to make it. The customers that come in there know there stuff all they really want to know is where the product is.I learned at lumber there and how to drive a forklift the team i had to show me around was great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly enviroment
Customer Service Rep/Cashier/Credit Captain (Former Employee), Cedar Hill, TXJuly 6, 2014
great company to work for with benefits. I worked there when I was younger and I didn't have any complaints
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYJuly 6, 2014
great place to start and room for advancement, co-workers were cool and it was an enjoyable job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor example of a Home Depot store
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Juneau, AKJuly 6, 2014
poorly trained management team lead to poorly trained and over stretched supervisors which lead to low productivity and not near enough associates in each department to get a good chunk of the work done
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Home Depot Experience
Parking Lot Attendant (Former Employee), Simi Valley, CAJuly 6, 2014
A typical day at work would consist of clocking in, making my way out to the front lot, begin organizing and sorting the different builds of shopping carts. This process would continue until a call for customer loading/unloading assistance was made, in which I would go attend to the customer in need and assist them in their loading/unloading. Through – more... this job I learned how to work with people in a hurry and how to take and give directions to people with limited physical abilities. The hardest part of the job was being the only attendant during the busy hours of each day in which my assistance was needed in several different places simulatneously. Being on my own most the time I didn't really have much interaction with co-workers or management unless it was during break or lunch. The most enjoyable part of the job was the gratitude from some of the customers after a heavy lift or tedious load/unload. Most were highly grateful for the assistance. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work environment but bad paid
proloader (Current Employee), Tucson, AZJuly 6, 2014
Good work environment but bad paid. The hardest part is the clients .They cut be nice or very rude.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place if your looking for challenging work
General Warehouse Associate (Former Employee), Westfield, MAJuly 6, 2014
Pros: “company has great values and benefits. you are able to learn and train in the many departments.”
Cons: not enough employees during peak working hours/low pay
Not really much negative effects were found at the job other than looking for better pay

1 2 3 4 5

About Home Depot

The Home Depot is the global leader in home improvement and fourth largest retailer in the world. Providing superior customer – Read more