Find companies:
Home Depot
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
10,389 reviews

Home Depot Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly and relaxed enviroment, great coworkers
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee), Chula Vista, CAOctober 22, 2014
Pros: break every 2 hours, help when you need it, everyone gets along
Cons: not enough hours, no more than 29 hours a week are given
It's a great place to work, and my coworkers are fantastic. Management are there to lend a hand. Only downfall is that not enough hours are given.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management.
Store Associate (Current Employee), Tacoma, WAOctober 22, 2014
Pros: decent starting pay
Cons: managment
If you are looking for a short term job while you attend school for a summer then home depot is nice. If you are not then i would strongly recommend not attending. The Home depot is strictly run on middlemanagment with associates having to respond one or more department heads and the department heads responding to one or more Assistant store managers – more... which in turn respond to Store managers and they respond to district managers ect. This would not be a big issue if any of them were given agency or communicated with one another. Often the case the management would go back and forth telling associates different task to focus on causing confusion at the work place. There is also the problem that Home Depot is fueled by testosterone leading to all male managers having inflated yet fragile ego's. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent job with good coworkers
Cashier/ Paint Associate (Current Employee), Fredericksburg, VAOctober 22, 2014
Pros: usually have advancement from within the store
Cons: less pay if you move from a cashier to sales than if you just started in sales
Overall its a good job with everyday being a little different. If you really want to learn something and take the initiative there will usually always be someone willing to teach you. Working on the concrete floors can be a bit difficult if you have back issues. Getting bonuses for meeting and exceeding sales plan twice a year is nice though.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company. Passionate
Part Time/Season Help (Current Employee), Claymont, DE.October 22, 2014
Pros: success sharing, daily morning meetings.
Cons: benefits in terms of part time are non existing.
The Home Depot is a great company to work for, they are passionate about their business, they care about their customers as well as, customer service, and they provide an energetic and positive working environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Brandon, MSOctober 22, 2014
Pros: great benefits and a great place to interact with an array of different people
Cons: no complaints about home depot
I started with Home Depot during the time of installing racks, beams, etc. It was a great experience preparing the store for the smooth flow of customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Where a hat, because garden is a hot environment
Garden Associate (Former Employee), Miami, FLOctober 22, 2014
Pros: family environment, good salary, physical labor, customer interaction
Cons: cut shifts
Home depot is a very enjoyable job, 98 percent of it is physical labor , which I enjoyed , being young and so full of energy , however there was no opportunity to be creative. typical work day included cleaning the bays, watering the plants, and organizing the shelves. from 10 am to 2pm was power hour and the most busiest time in the store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This hospital closed
Project Specialist (Current Employee), Delray Beach, FLOctober 22, 2014
This hospital was said to close down years ago and finally did last year I believe.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment with great workers
Cashier (Current Employee), Queens, NYOctober 22, 2014
I've been working there for a year and I enjoy working there. The co-workers are amazing people and everyone shows respect to each other even if they're having a bad day. It's almost as if we were one big family. Everyone greets you as you enter the store and when you are leaving at the end of your shift. The best part of being a cashier at Home Depot – more... is that I get to interact with different people of all kinds. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learn alot about home improvement
Cashier/Head cashier (Former Employee), Houston, TXOctober 22, 2014
Pros: teamwork
all departments worked as a team, learned new ways to do things from different departments
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
normal, fun
Cashier (Former Employee), Mount Laurel, NJOctober 22, 2014
alot of the same routine, good easy work, working with customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work at.
Cashier (Former Employee), Cypress, CaliforniaOctober 22, 2014
Pros: the pros is the schedule i had, most of it was during the day.
Cons: the cons, is the management
A typical day for me was to help all customers with their questions. I learned a little more about handling money and customers needs. The management, well they were ok. Most of the co-workers were very friendly. The hardest part of the job was when we were very busy and a customer had issues with what they needed. The most enjoyable part was, the co-workers – more... would help you have a good day at this job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Currently Assisstant Store Manager (Current Employee), Cornelius, NCOctober 22, 2014
Pros: great benefits, great pay
Cons: quality of life is poor, hours
Great company to work with. People oriented. Progressive. Moving heavily toward dotcom. Always fast paced. Things constantly change. Makes for exciting work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Currently Assisstant Store Manager (Current Employee), Cornelius, NCOctober 22, 2014
Pros: great benefits, great pay
Cons: quality of life is poor, hours
Great company to work with. People oriented. Progressive. Moving heavily toward dotcom. Always fast paced. Things constantly change. Makes for exciting work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Home Depot
Team Member (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXOctober 22, 2014
Outstanding leadership. Fantastic work environment. Lots of direction with structure.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience
Sales Assoicate, Department Lead (Former Employee), Aiken, SCOctober 22, 2014
With Home Depot i was able to develop my Customer Service skills, managerial skills, learn about inventory, loss prevention, meeting sales quotas.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good work culture
Production Supervisor (Current Employee), Dallas,TexasOctober 21, 2014
Go over the daily planner with the associates and also productivity from the previous day. What I've learned is to stay engaged with the associates and you will get the best out of them. The management team is very experienced and can learn a lot from, and my co-workers are very fun to work with. I think the hardest part of the job is keeping everyone – more... happy and on the same page. The most enjoyable part of the job is I, learn something new everyday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its hard to get the hours you need
Sale Associate (Former Employee), Knightdale, NCOctober 21, 2014
Working at the appliance department had its fun time but most of the time you had nothing to do. Which can make your day a lot longer then usual but the workers are friendly and are willing to teach the things you need to get the job done. like most jobs they won't teach you everything so they can keep their job so you will learn somethings on your – more... own. The management is good depending at what store you work at. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a learning and growing experience
Cashier (Current Employee), Fort Worth, TXOctober 21, 2014
Pros: you learn something new each day
Cons: no discounts
it was a learning experience, the co workers there are all like family helping each other when ever they can, I grew with each day and just to know that you have helped someone with their hopping needs is a great feeling.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome job
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Grand Prairie, TXOctober 21, 2014
great place to build customer service skills. good staff. great opportunities for advancement
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going place to work. Diversity is high
Hardware Associate (Current Employee), Memphis, TNOctober 21, 2014
My days at the Home Depot is fun. I learn a lot each day with me going from department to department.

1 2 3 4 5

About Home Depot

The Home Depot is the global leader in home improvement and fourth largest retailer in the world. Providing superior customer – Read more