Find companies:
Home Depot
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
11,011 reviews

Home Depot Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent work environment
Freight Team Member (Former Employee), hendersonville, tnDecember 18, 2014
great fun environment, great employees and management, great benifits
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced stressful
computer associate / bookkeeper (Former Employee), Hilo, HIDecember 18, 2014
Each day I would make sure all reports was ready for the managers. I balanced the vault three times a day. I made sure that each cashier had their funds to start each day. I assisted the employees with their time sheets and leaves. I enjoyed working with the management and my co-workers. The hardest part was trying to provide help to give change to – more... the cashiers while trying to balance the vault at the same time. The most enjoyable part is when we went out into the community and did volunteer work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and good learning expierence
Garden/ lumber associate (Current Employee), Sunnyvale, CADecember 18, 2014
Pros: supportive co-workers
Cons: short on people
Was usually assigned to do task that were given by managers, since I was licensed to operate most of the forklift machinery. I learned to always exceed peoples expectations whether if it was helping a customer or assignments that I was given to do, I had to go above and beyond. Management made you want to help them because they always made sure that – more... they appreciated what you did for them. The most enjoyable part of the job was tackling any given task with co-workers that you were close with and knew that you could rely on them that they can help balance the weight of the work with you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Electrical Sales Associate (Current Employee), Atlanta, GADecember 18, 2014
A typical work day for me at Home Depot is giving great customer service to any person that approach me or any person I approach. I explain to every customer that is in need of know how an electrical/lighting item work. I go into detail about any item in my department. I also, suggest other items to sell more products. I always smile and thank the customer – more... for shopping. Home Depot have this job that is called pack down. I do pack down every day during the week by filling holes of any items that is empty/low on stock. I also, learn from customers. It is a lot of contractors that come into home depot and have more knowledge than me on certain items, I ask them to explain those items to me and what they are use for to gain my knowledge. At the riverdale Home Depot the management is not all that supportive of there associates. Some but not all of my co-workers like drama and I do not feed into it at all. I say hey and have a great day to be respectful. I really do not have a hard part at work I just love to learn. The most enjoyable part of my work is putting a smile on every customer face that I get in contact with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxing Work Enviroment
Cashier (Current Employee), Ludington, MIDecember 18, 2014
Pros: occassional free lunches/dinners, success sharing, tolerable hours (close latest 10pm)
Cons: a lot of standing around
A typical day at work includes; Maintaining the cash registers, light cleaning and restocking, fast and providing fast and friendly customer service. Promoting company credit, and Sales (Kitchen/Hardware/Plumbing/Lumber/Garden/Electric). Slow-paced (alot of standing around)-[Located in Ludington, MI]

What i learned: Increased Patience. But also, I – more... learned quite a bit about Garden Center (flowers [species], fertalizers..etc)

Managment; Seeing as this review is public, i will say that managment is not terrible, but they are bored (you are watched). But, some of them are fair.

Co-workers; Most of my co-workers are wonderful, bright and fascinating people - all at different stages in thier lives, and on thier own journeys. Getting to know each of them has been a gift.

THe hardest Part of the Job; Standing around (I don't mind working 8 hours - But i'd like to WORK 8 hours, and there's often times where you see 2 customers an hour ~ Not enough customers)

the most enjoyable part; It's leasuirly. Other then my back pain (from standing in one spot on cement floors) - im not too bad off. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a fun place to work at.
Recieving Assocaite (Current Employee), Prescott, AZDecember 18, 2014
The employees and staff are really like one big family. The staff here has been almost overwhelming in that they are so helpful and nice.The motto, you work hard and things pay off, still exist at the Home Depot.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun, fast paced work place
Fuel Center Supervisor (Former Employee), Acworth GeorgiaDecember 18, 2014
Pros: 1 hour lunch break
Cons: woking most holidays
Running morning reports, Cash in audit, Set up coffee bar, make sure Fuel pump islands are neat and clean in appearance along with the car wash being operational and clean, great customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail job with ability to move up in company
Cashier-Lumber Associate-Seasonal Associate (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PADecember 18, 2014
Typical day at work would include helping customers with questions they have and stocking the shelves. I am also able to work in other departments when things get a little hectic and assistance is needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy,productive
Head Cashier (Former Employee), Quincy, MADecember 18, 2014
I've been working at The Home Depot on and off since 2004. I really enjoy the fast past and enjoy helping customers find what they need. Home Depot is a great company to work for because there is room for growth. At times it can get hard when a customer is unhappy with the customer service but I always find a way to change the mood.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
met a lot of interesting people
Cashier (Former Employee), Anaheim, CADecember 18, 2014
I enjoyed my co-workers, they made a long work day easily manageable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed working in gargen
Cashier (Former Employee), Rialto, CADecember 18, 2014
when i would start my day i get my reg ready clean and stock everything around me and wait for customers to come to me and i would try to help with any qustion they had for me i use to work in garden
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace workplace
Cashier (Former Employee), Natick, MADecember 17, 2014
Pros: great co-workers, flexible with schedules
Cons: there were always new managment which lead to problems with co workers and scheduling
Its been a while since I've worked at The Home Depot, but from what I remembered I really like how the pace of this job works. I am a fast pace worker and I like to get things done on time. There is always a lot going on in this store especially at the returns desk where I was mostly at.

My ex co-workers was the reason why I love coming into work. – more... If you don't have a good crowd of workers to work with then I don't know what I would do. Creating a family at your job is always good for me I believe it makes you feel like you are part of something. It also makes you work together pretty well.

I would definitely get an angry unsatisfied customer at the returns register everyday I've worked. You would definitely have to come prepare for it. It was a challenge because some of the customers would get so upset they would cause a scene or spit in your face or throw things at you. I have had all of that happened to me before.

This was the only job I had that I've stayed with the company for 4 years. It was pretty much like a second home to me. I've learned a few things about each department. It was an interesting workplace. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company and Great Team
Home Depot M.E.T. Member (Former Employee), Bee Cave, TXDecember 17, 2014
Pros: great team and great company
Cons: hour break (too long)
A typical day on the MET Team, consisted of addressing changes to POG's and correcting unintentional changes of product by customers and employees. Also, we would address concerns of customers and assist them with there home improvement needs.I learned quantitative and analytic skills from continually dealing with large amounts of numbers and product. – more... My co-workers were great, including the regular Home Depot associates. The management was Okay, although sometimes hard to communicate with. The hardest part of the job was ... hmmm. nothing. I loved the whole job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to start ou jobs
Pro Sales (Former Employee), Chehalis, WADecember 17, 2014
jobs was ok but cant work around school schudle and kids. you feel like you never move up when your part time if was like you had no life and ou time for work would be all over the place. for some one who has no kids to take care of this would be the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
boring
Pro Cashier (Former Employee), Mount Pleasant, MIDecember 17, 2014
the old days were better• 11 years in customer service
• Strong organizational skills
• Large cash/check deposits expert
• Customer service expert
• Telecommunication skills
• Active listening skills
• Energetic work attitude
• Inventory control familiarity
• Seasoned in conflict resolution
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, good people, hard changes
Freight Associate (Current Employee), Madison, WIDecember 17, 2014
Pros: easy to make friends, easy work
Cons: confusing management, lack of hours, not full time
I like the people I work with. Sometimes trying to get further in the company (Transfer posistions, or lead and gain responsibilites) can be difficult. Managment can be back and forth. The managers are nice but every manager has their own way of running things and sometimes it can be confusing. We just got a new Freight Supervisor and he's still trying – more... to figure out the flow of things so things are bit overwhelming right now. Overall, the job security is nice but for working late. I think we could be getting paid more and should be full time. But unfortunately Freight cannot be full time even though some people have full time and others dont. Nobody is sure why that is. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company to work for, advancement opportunities
Appliance Sales Associate (Current Employee), Eldersburg, MDDecember 17, 2014
Good company to work for, career advancement opportunities, provides training and the tools needed to move forward in the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with a few free lunches.
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Former Employee), Bismarck, NDDecember 17, 2014
Pros: great work hours, nice lunch room & nice, clean store.
Cons: sometimes it was difficult to get a co-worker to help with some heavy lifting.
I had great work hours & co-workers were fun & easy to get along with. The management was fair at all times for getting time off for a family emergency. I learned to take special care & time with customers that had a hard time explaining how they were going about doing their project. The time spent with the customers was great & I learned different – more... customs they had from their home countries. The hardest part was making friends with co-workers & they would leave for other stores. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work at when your on the sales floor
Head Cashier and Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Garland, TXDecember 17, 2014
Great place to work at, and great people, you almost become a family with your coworkers. If you work on in a department, on the sales floor you have a lot more opportunity to move up in the company, and gain full time if that is what you are looking for. However, if you are working on the front end you have less space to move up in the company and – more... more likely than not you will not receive a full time position. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
District Merchandiser (Former Employee), Bangor, MEDecember 17, 2014
...................................................................................................

1 2 3 4 5

About Home Depot

The Home Depot is the global leader in home improvement and fourth largest retailer in the world. Providing superior customer – Read more