Find companies:
Home Depot
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
9,313 reviews

Home Depot Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Encouraging work environment
Front End Supervisor (Current Employee), Cedar Hill, TXJuly 28, 2014
Pros: homer fund, homer awards
Cons: healthcare for part-time
Work environment where you are able to challenge yourself to learn new departments, procedures, and new ways to do things. You are allowed to use your entrepreneurial spirit. We are able to encompass some core values. We are able to say yes to customers and fix there issues without being challenged by management on why we made a decision. Co workers – more... work well together. The most enjoyable part about my job is making a difference in people's day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast work place
Cashier (Former Employee), San antonio, txJuly 28, 2014
Answered and managed incoming calls for staff
Greeted customers, vendors and other retail clients
Provided and commended for excellent customer service
Handled customer service inquiries and complaints
Responsible for large cash reconciliation
Maintained register documentation
Generated & processed sales orders
Assisted in loss prevention awareness
Other – more... duties as assigned – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a job
General Warehouse Associate (Current Employee), Joliet, ILJuly 28, 2014
It's alright, management changes every couple of months. And you are not really sure what area you will be working from time to time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Freight Associate (Former Employee), Chattanooga, TNJuly 28, 2014
There was always something to do. The tasks that needed to be done were completed every single night without hesitation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy day to day job for a beginner job looker
Cashier (Current Employee), Trussville, ALJuly 28, 2014
Pros: food parties, healthcare, flexibility
Cons: short or no breaks, under staffing, under paid
A typical day at work includes helping customers find products to fit their needs, educating them on the specific products and all that it does, as well as checking the customer out and ensuring that they are happy with the product of their choice. I have learned that the more flexible your hours are, the better the chance of actually getting decent – more... hours. The management could do a better job at scheduling enough to make sure the store is not understaffed, but overall they do an adequate job. The hardest part of the job is learning all of the different products that the store has to offer. The most enjoyable part of the job is knowing that the customer is satisfied with the product that you helped pic for them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Split Decision
Home Depot Freight Worker (Current Employee), Frederick, MDJuly 28, 2014
Pros: fun environment and great co-workers
Cons: upper management and fluctuating hours
My direct supervisor is the best boss I have ever had, very understanding and a great guy overall. The reason I label this as split decision is because throughout the rest of the store supervisors and ASM's are chosen based on favorites, not skill.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every day was a new experience
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee), CaƱon City, COJuly 28, 2014
Pros: enjoyed going to work
Cons: always low staffed
Worked great with customers along with the other employees, always had weekly goals for our associates to achieve to earn extra cash or other things.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great family like teamwork environment
Department Associate (Former Employee), College Station, TXJuly 28, 2014
Pros: great breakroom, benefits, and good pay
Cons: bad hours
Home Depot is a great place for people to be able to work in a steady environment with nice coworkers. However, there is no real advancement available for part time associates. They begin by paying more than most places offer, the training is severe, but that allows for better associates. The hardest part of this job is the hours you are expected to – more... work. They can schedule you anywhere from 5 am until beyond midnight if they need it. However the environment created by coworkers makes it nicer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bootcamp for retail
Supervisor (Current Employee), grand junction coJuly 28, 2014
Pros: benefits, sucess sharing.
Cons: lack of adequate help in entire store.
Grew a lot by dealing with many associates and customers over the years in difficult situations. My co workers have been the best part of the job. Management has been poor and inconsistent for too many years at the gj location. Not a overall example of the company. The company in general has many incentives for the associates,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Home Depot experience.
Sales Floor Associate (Current Employee), Wasilla, AlaskaJuly 28, 2014
Pros: great co-workers, great customers, great learning expericence.
Cons: some unclearfied procedures, upper management is inexperienced.
A typical day at work consists of me sharing my knowledge of lumber and building materials to assist customers in their projects. I've learned about managing inventory, associates, and work loads at a retail level. I've also learned much of the construction trade. My co-workers are hardworking and self driven. Day and night work crews work in union – more... to ensure a grand opening everyday. The most challenging portion of my job is multi tasking to optimize my time in assisting as many customers I can. The most rewarding part of my job is ensuring that our customers receive the best service that can be provided by empowering employees to make the decision to do achieve the companies goals. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and highly competitive big box retail environment.
Designer/Pro Sales (Former Employee), West Allis, WIJuly 28, 2014
Pros: my favorite part of working for home depot was establishing relationships with customers, finding special order products needed for specialty projects, developing relationships with vendors, expediting
Cons: the physical work area inside home depot is hard on the body; standing for hours on concrete floors, poor air quality and constant back ground noise.
With micro management and strict sales guidelines, I met with new and existing customers each day. Each customer had different needs and expectations. I was able to tailor my customer service skills to help each customer secure the materials needed for their individual projects.
Starting in the Kitchen Design department and then moving into Pro Sales – more... I learned to design kitchens and bathroom using 20/20 software for homeowners and contractors, I became familiar with materials needed for replacing a roof to building a garage or deck.

The hardest part of working in a big box retail store was the work schedule, especially working weekends and holidays. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i love it
Cashier (Former Employee), Norwalk, CTJuly 28, 2014
pay was great i love the hours
i got along with my co-workers good everyone was nice and respectful..
home depot is a great place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work in the Holbrook building
cashier (Current Employee), Patchogue, NYJuly 28, 2014
Pros: working hours
Cons: management, security
The job itself is relativelly easy, but you get treated like you are a complete idiot alot. The management in the holbrook building is very poor. The day processing manager is really moody and very hard on people, he tends to overreact. He is also a complete hypocrate,and a real jerk. The general manager is very arogant but not very smart, and does – more... not treat people fairly. The head of security is very two-faced,he pretents to be friendly to get information from people he can later use against them. If you are thinking of working here, work in the ronkonkoma building.I think you you will be able to tolarate working here a lot better if you don't have to deal with these people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place and people to work for.
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Bend, ORJuly 28, 2014
Pros: great people
Cons: it is physically demanding
The supervisors and coworkers are wonderful to work for. I would recommend this job to anyone who is wanted a wonderful work environment and a place that has many opportunities for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
one person does it all
Garden/Lumber Associate (Former Employee), Crescent City, CAJuly 28, 2014
Pros: you can be lazy if you want
Cons: you cover a large area by yourself
Not enough people to cover an area. Pay is low. Never could find management when needed. No direction.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent enough
Am currently head of Paint department (Current Employee), Travel team with five stores.July 28, 2014
Pros: overnight work means no customers
Cons: sleeping during the day
Working an overnight shift at home depot is okay not too bad, but hard to manage a good sleep schedule and almost feels like I live there. But overall it's a good experience and has taught me a lot about the vendor aspect of working retail. Management is great but pay does need an improvement for the amount of work that goes into this particular job. – more... Co-workers are great and friendly and feels like a solid team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and diverse workplace
Kitchen & Bath Designer (Current Employee), Chicago, IL.July 27, 2014
Meeting new clients daily. Providing showroom tours. Assisting new clients with budget planning. Overseeing kitchen and bathroom projects from start to finish.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool Place, Minimal Growth
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Dallas, TexasJuly 27, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule, nice management
Cons: low pay
If you are looking for a place that doesn't pay much and doesn't ask much, this is the place for you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work.
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJuly 27, 2014
The scheduler worked well with my home life. Lots to learn there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cashier/ plumbing
Cashier (Former Employee), Lancaster, PAJuly 27, 2014
help customers look for the items they are looking for so they can finish there projects

1 2 3 4 5

About Home Depot

The Home Depot is the global leader in home improvement and fourth largest retailer in the world. Providing superior customer – Read more