Find companies:
Home Depot
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
10,355 reviews

Home Depot Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
see comments below
part time (Former Employee), Lake Zurich, ILOctober 16, 2014
Pros: none that i can think of
Cons: see comments section
I originally started working there working Part Time 20 hours a week. After about 3 months they then ramped my hours up to 25-27 hours per week which was OK. Next thing you know they started making my shifts where I closed at night at 11PM one day and they wanted me to open at 6 AM the next morning plus they then upped my schedule to 35-37 hours per – more... week. I asked to be considered a full time employee which would make me eligible for benefits(vacation,insurance etc.) and they would not elevate me to full time status. They kept/keep store labor costs down by doing this to many employees at this store – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun enviroment!
CASHIER (Former Employee), Poway caOctober 16, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: short breaks
You learn a lot from all the departments. Very friendly co-workers. The hardest part of the job is transferring and the most enjoyable part of the job is interacting with the customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
inventory,cashier,stock (Former Employee), corpus christi txOctober 16, 2014
Pros: meet new people
i enjoyed working at the home depot. very friendly enviroment get to meet new customers each day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced retail sales and merchandising
Master Plumbing Specialist - consulting and sales (Former Employee), Greece, NyOctober 16, 2014
Pros: benefits of full time with retirement and health insurance
Cons: corporate management is impersonal
Troubleshooting and sales advice from an actual plumber is an invaluable service to the average DIY'er as well as the pro customers.
Ordering, Stocking, and staying current on the newest innovations in the plumbing trade, also gives this position added value.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
Mid Night Packer and Shipping/Receiving (Former Employee), Dover, NJOctober 16, 2014
Pros: good benfits
to many chiefs and not indians,certain head dept,personals dont have time to talk with you ,so you do the best you can, no more full timer so they bring part timer ,that why i dont work there ,not need any longer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
Receiving Associate (Current Employee), Oakland, CAOctober 16, 2014
Very busy and fast paced, but great place to work for. A lot of work to do. Managers are understandable and very nice. Hardest part about my job is the late hours I have to work. I love working and helping out customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A workplace where you can always learn more.
Greeter/Cashier (Former Employee), Texarkana, TXOctober 15, 2014
I would greet customers, assist customers, check customers out, check on orders, call venders, answer the phone and spot for other employees using heavy equipment. I learn so much I can't even begin to cover it. The management was always there for you when you had a question or to just guide you. All of the co workers are amazing to work with. The hardest – more... part of the job was making all the customers happy but, their smile and thanks makes it all worth it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
retail
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Former Employee), Mechanicsburg, PAOctober 15, 2014
good enviroment great coworkers flexible with hours when need off
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a good place to work
Garden Center Associate (Former Employee), Little Rock, AROctober 15, 2014
Pros: management staff, work load, team centered environment
Cons: hours, benefits, and pay
A typical day with Best Buy is that you get there, you show customers how stuff works and you reassure them that they are getting the best thing for their money. For all intents and purposes, that reassurance was right because Best Buy has some really awesome and dependable products. The training was professional grade and moving from each department – more... was preferred because it allowed for cross-training and that is something you need to work here. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
we often had cashier parties,for voc scores
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Winter Haven, FLOctober 15, 2014
Pros: could advance up compny
Cons: bad hours
was avery nice place to work,grest benifts best job ever had was there 3 years started out part time and was promised full time company changed managers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Project Specialist (Current Employee), Napa, CAOctober 15, 2014
i love working at the home depot its very family orriented and theres so much stuff you can learn and beat apart of!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This review will side with my others
Floor Associate (Former Employee), Boynton Beach, FLOctober 15, 2014
Pros: good experience
Cons: not doing your job
Job well done as reiewed in others ,the company offers a good chance to understand your job with available on line educational topics
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved this job
Department Head (Former Employee), City of Sunrise, FLOctober 15, 2014
Had the best time working at this company....loved the people the job and the life style....it was great!!! Would go back in a heart beat!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Home Depot
Freight Team Associate (Current Employee), Palmdale, CAOctober 15, 2014
Pros: work and stability
Cons: short shifts and not enough hours so far
Show up work freight while assisting customers and putting away overstock freight by way of Order picker and or Reach or sit down forklift.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work at
Customer Service Coordinator (Current Employee), Marietta, GAOctober 15, 2014
Cons: location
The place is a very good place to work at, excellent benefits. They have fun while we work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back environment
Cashier/Head Cashier (Current Employee), columbia,scOctober 15, 2014
I love meeting new people everyday, hearing about their everyday issues and projects. I love learning about new things to build and how to go by building them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a rather stressful position
Kitchen Designer (Former Employee), Lincoln, CAOctober 15, 2014
Pros: the job was always 40 hrs. a week with little mgnt. interference.
Cons: stress
Things were always changing on the job. For a while we were required to go to the customers home, measure kitchen, design it and then customer would come in to go over the design and make what ever changes were necessary. Most Kitchens were sold with counter tops materials that Home Depot offered.

Management was never an issue. We all worked as if – more... it was our own business and worked primarily independent of any body else. I got along well with everyone.

The job had quite a bit of stress attached to it depending which store you were in and how busy you were plus the element of problems when things went wrong. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
security officer
Sales (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PAOctober 15, 2014
Pros: hours
Cons: patoral
8 hour shift patrol where I learned to observe procedures used in emergencies or signs of disorder
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company with opportunites for advancement
Millworks Sales Specialist/ Department Supervisor (Former Employee), Downey, CAOctober 15, 2014
Pros: opportunities for advancement
Cons: schedule varied
Working with the public, and employees to increase overall sales of the department. Management varied. The co- workers are great people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved this job
Department Supervisor (Former Employee), Pasadena, TXOctober 15, 2014
Voluntarily quit to go back to school. Big mistake! Wish I could be rehired.

About Home Depot

The Home Depot is the global leader in home improvement and fourth largest retailer in the world. Providing superior customer – Read more