Find companies:
Home Depot
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
10,341 reviews

Home Depot Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
employment
Flooring Specialist (Former Employee), New Orleans, LAOctober 14, 2014
over all great company to work for but management just dont support there staff
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company.
Cashier/Sales Associate (Current Employee), Flowery Branch, GAOctober 14, 2014
Working at The Home Depot has been a very fulling experience. My typical work day entails greeting customers that enter my department as well as throughout the store. I've actually learned a lot while building my career here and continue to learn more each shift that I work. My co-workers are awesome we are all team players with the same common goal – more... which is to make sure our customers have a pleasant shopping experience. The hardest part in my opinion would be keeping a cool demeanor after dealing with an unpleasant customer. The most enjoyable part would be knowing i've provided excellent customer service to my customers and that they will return to my store instead of traveling to our competition. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work, but not a perfect job for me.
Lot Associate (Former Employee), Ellicott City, MDOctober 14, 2014
They take good care of me, but the work isn't for me.

Management allows for flexibility, and are good.

Most enjoyable part of the job is meeting many new customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Same thing every day
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNOctober 14, 2014
Pros: location, decent hourly pay
Cons: no disounts, hours weren't the best, not accomodating.
Since the Home Depot of Minneapolis, MN was most focused on landlords and other contractors, there were a lot of regulars. The same thing every day, answering tons of questions and showing my knowledge of paint on a daily basis. Never a boring day. The management was awful, unorganized, and didn't seem to do much throughout a work day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
always an active environment at work
Garden Associate (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INOctober 14, 2014
Great management with general store management and department management. A typical day was coming in checking every aisle to make sure that all was in its place. HElping customers was the most important objective of the day and making sells. Making displays. Another great thing about working here was that whenever we had a new item(s) or a new season – more... coming up every employee had to take their computer training to be updated and be able to give customers the most accurate descriptions. Working with coworkers was great because we always worked together as a team to get things through and our department manager always had a schedule and a list for every individual to do that day. Also even if we did everything that was told for us to do there was always something to do something to keep us busy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very nice atmosphere and different but good personality personnel
Cashier (Former Employee), fulton georgiaOctober 14, 2014
Pros: experince
Cons: tardiness from other employees
I really enjoyed working at home depot. It was my very first time working with or on a cash register so it was something new but by the management and their friendliness with the co-worker's made learning very easy and wanting to learn more. The Co-worker very nice and friendly, I had a nice time working and greeting customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT WORK PLACE
Paralegal (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAOctober 14, 2014
LOVED WORKING THERE.
WOULD LOVE TO GO BACK
GR• Support General Counsel & President
• Reviewing, drafting, revising and negotiating agreements with vendors, distributors and other third parties, including data licenses, software, master agreement, terms and conditions, nondisclosure agreements, telecommunications agreements and other commercial agreements.
 – more... Manage third-party relationships (i.e. subtenant, vendors, franchisor, partners, etc.)
• Manage corporate Documents, including record and prepare monthly board minutes, resolutions, etc., in addition to forming and dissolving companies.
• Research and responding to general legal inquiries from in-house clients that bay relate to.
• Maintaining, updating and revising contract templates.
• General corporate and commercial laws are areas of strong point for this position along with “service” to our clients.
EAT BENEFIT – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work with interesting co worker
Customer Care Specialist (Current Employee), Boca Raton, FLOctober 14, 2014
Pros: make extra money
Cons: running out of leads
Fun place to work. Good flexibility of hours. Meet lots of interesting people both in the office and on the phone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work but do not have a small child or want a life.
Flooring Associate/Appliance specialist (Current Employee), Aberdeen, MDOctober 14, 2014
Pros: benefits, bonuses, co-workers
Cons: occurance system, pay, scheduling
A typical day is pretty much stocking shelves and helping very needy customers. Its a good place to learn new things although you're learning thru reading labels and contractors that you are supposed to help. I enjoy my job only because of the ppl i work with but for the most part I would only keep my positon as a part-time job. At this time i am full – more... time and i feel like i rarely see my 11 month old. The schedule is never set. One day you could be closing the next day you're opening and the day after youre a mid shift. The occurance system sucks bad. Doctors notes do not help you as far as excuse absenses go. If youre on a final youre on it for 6 months so if something happens to you or a family member during that time and you do not have the personal time you have to come to work not matter what unless theyre dead, or youre termenated. The benefits are nice but alittle pricey. Growing in the company isnt hard to do for some but then have others where its nearly impossible. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Productive and fun place to work
Supervisor (Current Employee), Myrtle Beach, SCOctober 14, 2014
Pros: breaks
Cons: pay to little for all that you do
I love being around and working with the customers at the Home Depot. I love to see the customer leave with a smile on there faces.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs better managers in place
Electronic Data Interchange (EDI) Coordinator (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAOctober 14, 2014
Pros: opportunity to learn new things
Cons: horrible management
The job was great. I learned how to create business processes for EDI transmissions. I learned a lot about the business systematically and the flow of Purchase orders, creating electronic documents, etc..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Associate Human Resources
Human Resource Associate (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAOctober 14, 2014
Pros: great orientation, wonderful corporate office
Cons: poor pay, less advancement if starting in the call center oh im sorry the human resource associate, not so great hours (weekend work involved)
Great company if you will be working at the corporate office. When hired for the Human Resource Associate I was very excited to be helping others. That excitement didn't last when I found out that I was going to be working in a call center, with ACD reports and calls waiting in que. Your overwhelmed with everything from timesheets, time edits, vacation, – more... payroll, garnishments, Fmla, dealing with employees and store managers issues and complaints all while on a time limit. The call center environment takes the human out of service, especially if someone has cancer and your putting them out on leave and your time on that call is going over your minutes. Theres no room for advancement to get to the corporate office. The health benefits are so expensive you can't afford them. I was single and looking at 160.00 to 200 a month to have their insurance. The pay is well below average starting at 15.15 which might be ok if they gave raises every 6 months instead its every year and its only about 9 to 20 cents Thats right 9-20 cent. Management is hit or miss because secretly there also looking to get out. If truly interested in working for Home Depot work at the store level, better opportunities and better pay. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Loss Prevention Associate (Former Employee), Bossier City, LAOctober 13, 2014
This position helped me develop good time management. This was necessary to keep up with high shrink items in the region, safety issues, positive trainings, and floor surveillance. This position also enhanced my ability to perform in a team environment at different levels of the organization. I had to interact with floor associates, department heads, – more... store managers, district managers and regional managers. The most challenging part of this job was getting all the associates and managers to buy into loss prevention's shrink control processes. The most enjoyable part of this job was working with team members from every level to achieve one common goal... "protect the company's brand through unsurpassed customer service." – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its just ok. nothing outstanding to say the least.
Associate Support Department Supervisor (Current Employee), Boca Raton, FLOctober 13, 2014
needs to work on developing the associates. very hirarchial
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive and great and knoledgeable co workers.
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Current Employee), Red Bluff, CAOctober 13, 2014
Pros: success sharing every 6months and football in breakroom.
Cons: not enough hours to support my two kids as a single mother.
I usually work afternoons so in my department its tool returning time. I clean everything and help cashier if they are busy. Management could do better. I love the people I work with, they are very helpful and make work fun.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
home depot
Sales Executive (Current Employee), Ellenwood, GAOctober 13, 2014
Pros: 401k, stock options
Cons: expensive healthcare, no raises, work all times of day and week
Its very busy, customers are every where and everyone wants your help with something their working one. The set isn't fair once a year employees only get one raise, which isn't no more then 20 cents goes for full-time employees as well as the part-time employees. Its just hard to try make a move up the ladder because everyone is trying to make the same – more... move and the process is a very long process. During your time while your working there your living next to property. Insurance is expensive and the work wears down your body. Also no body cares how your doing either everyone is every man for themselves. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beneficial
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXOctober 13, 2014
Very busy. Enjoyed meeting customers.

Great co-workers.
Good company to work for.

Part time only.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place with different challeges each day
Delivery Agent (Current Employee), Tampa, FLOctober 13, 2014
Pros: paid weekly
Cons: 14-16 hour days
My day starts around 6 a.m., I approach work with a positive attitude and await all the new customers I will encounter during my day some are a little more easier to please than other but I always find a way to work it out. My management is very helpful to help me provide excellent customer service which allows me to fulfill the customers every need – more... in making sure they have a great delivery experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace and busiy
Store Manager, Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Toledo, OHOctober 13, 2014
Pros: large bonuses
Cons: daily beat downs from higher up
work long hours and drove to longer days.
training your people to strenghtin your team, lead by example and follow up, keep all well informed.
over bearing.
excellent people that wanted to work.
being away from my kids.
going home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A job about People
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Current Employee), Northlake, ILOctober 13, 2014
Pros: hour lunches, secure job, flexible for school
Cons: no employee discount, average pay.
Working at the Home Depot is very much about people. If you don't like people, don't apply. As long as you do what is asked of you on a day to day basis, and arrive on time your job will be secure. The job itself has its ups and downs, but the people you work with every day become close friends.

About Home Depot

The Home Depot is the global leader in home improvement and fourth largest retailer in the world. Providing superior customer – Read more