Find companies:
Home Depot
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
9,707 reviews

Home Depot Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay
Customer Service Representative/Cashier (Former Employee), Duluth, GAAugust 20, 2014
one on one customer experience how to deal with upset customers and just learned the company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Little Rock, ARAugust 20, 2014
Pros: met new people daily
Cons: horrible management
I had a very typical day at Home Depot it was never a dull moment and I like that about the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at night was a good choice for me
Garden Recovery (Former Employee), Hiram, GAAugust 20, 2014
Pros: flexible lunches, warm work place
Cons: time was crunched, very busy.
Working at night was able to get things done, not many people in the way, fast paced, warm and friendly workers. Management informed you of a few things that needed to be done, or what was going on. Hardest Part of the job was to get time allotted for training.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun to work for.
Head Cashier, Front End Supervisor (Former Employee), Cedar Hill, TXAugust 20, 2014
My duties included training, coaching, and developing cashiers to ensure customers received outstanding and prompt checkout services. I ensured the registers operated efficiently, expedited price checks, resolved any other obstacles inhibiting smooth flow of the checkout process. Customer questions were answered thoroughly and in a timely manner.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for a starter job
Retail Associate & Machine Operator (Former Employee), Jersey City, NJAugust 20, 2014
Pros: the job experience
Cons: management, no room for growth
Its a great job if your in school. As far as advancing in the company however there the downside. Unless you know someone higher up promotions are hard to come by.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love helping people
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Payson, AZAugust 20, 2014
love to work,enjoy new challenges,enjoy helping people,like to learn new things
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun working with the customers
Head Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee), Hutto, TXAugust 19, 2014
Pros: free gratis from venders
Cons: poorly managed
I loved the y something different it brought every day.
was not enough coverage
the hardest part leaving my co workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Thie review was also about performance too
Department Supervisor (Former Employee), Reston, VAAugust 19, 2014
My review was very good and outstanding while at the home depot....
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Cashier/Sales Associate (Current Employee), Athens, GAAugust 19, 2014
Pros: success sharing, christmas parties, cookouts, vacation time even for part time employees, regular breaks
Cons: inconsistant schedule/hours
You know what to expect for your shift when you come in. One way to keep it interesting is that you are scheduled to work at different registers throughout the store and relieve co-workers for breaks. I've learned a lot about home improvement and gotten a lot of project ideas while working here. One of the most challenging parts of the job is trying – more... to learn the store and figuring out where everything located so you can better assist the customers. Everyone gets along which is nice. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work the best people you would ever want to meet
Lead Generator (Former Employee), Saint Augustine Beach, FLAugust 19, 2014
Pros: healthcare
Cons: leaving for the day
you start o with a morning cheer up and whats goin on today meeting. to follow with the best customers ever.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hollywood area
Inventory crew/return cashier (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAAugust 19, 2014
Pros: 1hr lunch
Cons: low staff, labor job
an okay job for my first not great always busy with afternoon rush very limited staff, as a cashier supervisors would change me from station to station where ever I'm needed always had to cover some ones else shift
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Behind the register at Home Depot
Cashier (Former Employee), Manhattan, KSAugust 19, 2014
Every day was different at The Home Depot. The weekends brought much excitement; the store was always packed with regular and new customers that I was always ready to assist. I learned how to be an independent worker who is yet still part of a working team. Often many tasks were set upon me that I had to fulfill while still helping my customers. Some – more... times I was given a leadership role as head cashier. Most of my co-worker were very friendly and we all worked toward the same goal, customer satisfaction. The hardest part of my job was not having a set schedule and being outside when the weather was cold. The most enjoyable part of my job was being able to help people, pointing them in the right direction. I really liked my customers and they enjoyed me as their cashier. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace
CASHIER (Former Employee), fair lawnAugust 19, 2014
Not a learn term position but it can be fun and great room for advancement if seeking it
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work at
Special Service Supervisor (Former Employee), west nyack nyAugust 19, 2014
Helping customers and taking care of employees' needs, running the store, ordering, monoring, payroll etc...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always Busy which does make the time go by quickly,
Kitchen and Bath Designer and Appliance Specialist (Current Employee), Gonzales, LAAugust 19, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: i make a good income for home depot but want and need a much larger income
Home Depot is very good at keeping employees involved with the education and skillset we need to excel at our careers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work
Cashier, Service Desk, Paint Desk, Freight Team (Former Employee), Littleton, COAugust 19, 2014
After about a year and a half, I am in my fourth department. If I hadn't been given so many opportunities, I honestly wouldn't know how management felt about me. Typically the only time you know how you're doing is if you're messing up. I feel I work too hard for what I get paid but over all don't mind the work. It is a nice place to work and gain knowledge – more... and experience but not somewhere I would hope to stay and build a career. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work.
SERVICE DESK ASSOCIATE/CASHIER (Former Employee), Nanuet, NYAugust 19, 2014
My specific Home Depot was a little unprofessional, with childish employees. Grateful for the experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warehouse
Front-end Customer Service (Former Employee), Apopka, FLAugust 19, 2014
Great opportunity to work in a warehouse...if you like that sort of thing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice work atmosphere
Flooring and Blinds Specialist (Former Employee), Glendale, AZAugust 19, 2014
The customers make the job worth doing. Hours are cut if sales are down. Fast paced and lots of walking.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and awesome team work environment.
Lead/ICQA (Current Employee), Ontario, CAAugust 19, 2014
Pros: awesome work enviornment with ok pay.
Cons: management isnt always on the same page as associates.
Day start off by reporting to your manager to get assigned duties for that day. Once assigned your off. The associates are all helpful and on the same page so it makes it easier to stay focused. Best part of the job are the many incentives they offer such as bonuses and product raffles from the stores.

About Home Depot

The Home Depot is the global leader in home improvement and fourth largest retailer in the world. Providing superior customer – Read more