Find companies:
Home Depot
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
10,999 reviews

Home Depot Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A busy store
Cashier and customer service (Former Employee), Cheyenne, WYDecember 8, 2014
Pros: making a new friend
Cons: hours, other coworks and management.
A typical day at work for me was taking care of the needs of the customers by checking out their items. I also worked up at the customer service desk handling accounts of the customers , handling site to store orders from online orders and other work retaining to that, as well as many organizing needs for the department of Customer service and the front – more... end.
I learned about how to input special orders, organizing accounts, filing papers, accuracy of checking out items, finding orders from the back and other information pertaining to that type of work,
The management where nice for the most part but their was a lot of turn over and certain people had favorites which I did not like. My coworkers were ok, I did not make much of a connection with them. Expect for one. The hardest part of my job is that I never had the chance to get full time hours. The most enjoyable part of my job was not a lot. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working here
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Lakewood, CODecember 8, 2014
I loved working at the home depot. It was a fun and exciting job. You get to know your coworkers and customers.pay wasn't so great but they offered the best health care plans and a 401k.Management is great and pleasant. The best part about working here is the customers and making a difference in their days.if i could. i would rewind time and would have – more... kept working here. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great products that people need
Cashier (Current Employee), Merritt Island, FLDecember 8, 2014
Pros: great enviornment
Cons: no set schedules
A great place to work , offers some medical and financial benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good bartending job
Manager/Bartender - Server (Former Employee), Harrison, OHDecember 7, 2014
bar is no longer in business but was a fun place to work and I enjoyed working for my boss learned more about managing a bar
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low wage/Hard work
Freight Associate (Current Employee), West Roxbury, MADecember 7, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: bad pay, company culture
Low wage with no night differential. Inefficient SOPs with very little value placed on associate input or workload. High turnover due to conflict between upper and middle management. Good benefits. Store culture trends towards lack of accountability and finger pointing which leads to apathy among the employees and frustration by the customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Management
Packer (Former Employee), Charles City, VADecember 7, 2014
(Packer) Assigned to package, box, cabinet pieces and prepare
pallets for shipping
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
merchandising projects Reset Expert
Merchandising Execution Associate (Former Employee), Miami, FLDecember 7, 2014
Pros: parties
Cons: markdowns
Displaying attention to detail when working a planogram , or utilizing analytical skills to execute merchandising strategies perform in-store merchandising service activities such as merchandising projects, maintenance, and overhead organization
•Verified inventory computations by comparing them to physical counts of stock, and investigated discrepancies – more... or adjust errors, by recording data manually or using computer system – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and customer oriented
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Former Employee), Anderson, SCDecember 6, 2014
Pros: clientele, and co-workers. fun place to work.
Cons: understaffed
The Home Depot was a very positive and productive work environment. it had plenty of possibilities is advancement for any who wanted to. in most cases the management was very helpful and caring. But most of all it was a very customer oriented work place. a typical day at work was full of hard work but very rewarding, helping customers and always finding – more... something to do. co-workers were kind and mostly helpful. the hardest part of the job was the slow days or the extremely busy days, sometimes we were understaffed and there was more work then workers. the enjoyable days were very enjoyable, full of of course hard work but also fun. such as cook outs and just all around fun with co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
one of the worst jobs I've had
Garden Associate (Former Employee), Montgomery, ALDecember 6, 2014
Cons: everything
never will i ever work for this company ever again. starting off i was in love with my job but as time progressed management every opportunity they could to steal happiness away from most of their employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
o
Garden Associate (Former Employee), Bloomington, MNDecember 6, 2014
A great place to learn more about gardening. Great learning opportunity with wonderful coworkers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Freight Team Associate (Current Employee), ArizonaDecember 6, 2014
It's very physical. There's not a whole lot of mental work to do. The best part is doing something meaningful. What I do is very important and if the work I did was never done, the store wouldn't be able to operate. The worst part is how much I get paid to do it. That's my only complaint.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful work enviroment
operator/csr/decor specialist (Former Employee), North Las Vegas, NVDecember 6, 2014
Pros: daily learning experiences
Cons: benefits
I loved working for this company. The pay was adequate, the fellowship was great, the appreciation was there and the management were supportive. There were really no hard parts to this job, I just considered it all learning experiences and I enjoyed them all. I loved all that I learned both through my fellow employees as well as my customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organized workplace
Garden Merchandiser/ Expert (Former Employee), AlgonquinDecember 5, 2014
Pros: flexible breaks, paid ot, outside job
I would work at quite a few different Home Depots. I worked as a vendor from Anton Sales & Marketing. It involved driving to different locations and doing duties such as merchandising all of the trees and shrubs in the garden sections of The Home Depot. I would mostly work independently and occasionally with a few co-workers who were really fun and – more... easy to work with. I would pull in all shipments from receiving, organize and condense old product to make space for the new product. I would price the product and cleaned up. I would also cull any dead product up to 100 lbs. Sometimes it was hard for me to decide where i should display the product, but the more I did it the more comfortable it became. I enjoyed looking at the finished display and complete all of my assignments. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work!
Cashier and Lot Attendant (Current Employee), Ludington, MIDecember 5, 2014
Pros: fun coworkers
Cons: no health insurance for part timers
I enjoy working with my coworkers and helping customers.
Each day I work to give customers the best experience and my bosses assist me in doing so.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company but hard to get training
Sales associate (Former Employee), Southlake, TXDecember 5, 2014
I just got a millwork position. I did not know anything about that department. I had no one to train me or show me the information for months, but then we got a new ASM and he realize one day I did not know anything. He was nice about it. So he mad sure I got the training right away. So I was able to be more helpful. It was hard but I enjoyed that I – more... got to know my information and not telling customers sorry that I could not help them out. Besides that it's a good friendly company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Archaic systems for a company that thinks they're cutting edge!
Merchandising Execution Area Supervisor (Former Employee), MontanaDecember 5, 2014
Pros: schedule for met
Cons: zero integrity
This is a great place to work if you are a brownnoser or male. If you're female, intelligent and competent run away! If you work for the store you are likely going to be over compensated for the amount of work you do. The benefits are pretty standard to what other retailers offer but a little pricier. There is very little room for advancement and even – more... less if you are with MET. They spend a lot of time and energy talking about their core values, great benefits and how much better they are than other retailer but no effort is put into actually being or doing those things. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What you would expect for a minimum wage job
Seasonal sales associate (Former Employee), Sylacauga, alDecember 5, 2014
Pros: easy job, no hard labor, dependable
Cons: low pay, rude customers
As a cashier there is a lot of standing in one spot, and waiting on people to come to you. It can be very boring. However I did enjoy talking to people throughout my day. And I really enjoyed being at the customer service desk, it kept me busy, which I prefer. Management was fine, just very busy and not very personal. The hardest part of the job was – more... some customers can be very rude and hurtful. The best part would be the customers who weren't rude or hurtful. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a good company to work for
Recieving associate (Current Employee), Morrow, GADecember 5, 2014
I come in work some freight then after a couple of hours I start bringing everything out for the freight team before they arrive.
I have learned how to used all of the different lifts since I have been there.
The management team are a bunch of good people.
My co-workers are good they don't give any problems.
The hardest part of the job is making sure – more... that everything is all put up.
I enjoy completing a task. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Supervisor of front (Former Employee), Yorba Linda, CADecember 4, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: none come to mind.
If you love your life join this company. They will embrace all conditions. I cant say it enough how great it is to work for this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was very close knit and friendly people
Front End Supervisor (Current Employee), Paris, TXDecember 4, 2014
I am very lucky to be with this company. The customer service to customers being a top priority and then the treatment of the employees has been the best I have ever worked for. I am trying to relocate to Austin area. The hardest part of my job is having to find another job within the company to relocate because it is so great to work for. I have learned – more... a lot about the ins and outs of retail, receiving and merchandising, cashier duties and performing special orders with vendors. The most enjoyable part of my job is the interaction with customers and other associates. – less

About Home Depot

The Home Depot is the global leader in home improvement and fourth largest retailer in the world. Providing superior customer – Read more