Home Health United Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 16 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management creates Hostile Work Environment
Hospice Aide (Former Employee) –  Madison, WIJune 4, 2016
Patients and co workers are great. Supervisors and upper management abuse power and retaliate. HR and CEO do nothing when employees bring serious concerns and violations to their attention. High turn over rate. Don't be swayed by "sign on bonuses", desperate companies offer those because honest reviews by former employees alert prospects to what is actually going on in the company. Definitely look elsewhere if you love working with hospice and home health.
Pros
Patients and coworkers
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible place to work
Licensed Practical Nurse (Former Employee) –  Madison, WIFebruary 16, 2016
Was told would be working 1 weekend per month and it was 2. Poor management, weekend schedule came out with mistakes and last minute- hard to plan around this. Management demanding travel to other offices in bad weather. Incompetent staff. Was told 5-6 patients per day and was always more, schedule constantly changing. No team work, no accountability for mistakes. Poor scheduling department, many other employees on FMLA therefore always short staff in nursing and scheduling.
Pros
self-directed
Cons
over-worked, more travel then expected, high turnover rate of management, low merit increase
Was this review helpful?Yes10No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management, low staff morale, long hours
RNCM (Former Employee) –  WisconsinJanuary 28, 2016
Don't bother if you are looking for a healthy work environment. Patients and co-workers are great, that' about it. Very low morale with staff because of uppermanagement and supervisors. Company cares more about profit than patients. High turnover of RN's due to long hours, on-call several nights a week and every other weekend, and constant micro-managing. A truly compassionate person would not fit in with this company, look elsewhere. Dont let sign-on bonuses sway you, that shows they are desperate for help.
Pros
Patients and co-workers
Cons
Micro-managing, lack of trust from supervisors, put profit before patients
Was this review helpful?Yes13No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exceptional Care
RN (Current Employee) –  Madison, WIDecember 12, 2015
Love working at Home Health United! Large home health organization with multiple opportunities for career development, growth and advancement. Patient care is a priority as is the training and support of staff.
Pros
Multiple opportunities, great benefits, advancement opportunities.
Cons
As with most health care related jobs there are times one must work off hours, on call, etc. The weekend/call rotation is comparable or better than other organizations I've encountered.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No15
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High turn over with unhappy staff
Therapist (Current Employee) –  WisconsinJuly 28, 2015
Poor company to work for, employee dissatisfaction rampant. Unequal treatment of staff with obvious favorites. Impossible to get approval for continuing education and in services only focus on making more profits for the company and "partners". Very little respect for employee feedback.
Best part of working at HHU are the coworkers when you have a chance to see them. Worst part is upper management and supervisors with little clinical experience.
Pros
Nurses and therapists want to do what is right for the patients.
Cons
Hard to get time off, oppressive policies and procedures that decreases efficiency of staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes30No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful situation at all times
Home Health Nurse (Former Employee) –  Madison, WIJuly 24, 2014
I never knew what my day would bring, schedule changed on a dime. Management wanted PRODUCTIVITY but no time to get ready for the day before the actual day of visit. Travel distances were increased with travel from far east side to far west side.
I would not recommend this company unless you can commit 24/7 to the job.
I heard so many times from staff: "How do they expect me to see all these patients in an 8 hour day?" This job does not have to be this stressful, but it is.
Pros
fair compensation for alternate shift
Cons
poor management, hiring process does not reflect true working conditions, productivity productivity productivity
Was this review helpful?Yes60No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning enviorment
Customer Service Representative Retail Showroom (Current Employee) –  Madison, WIMay 2, 2014
My typical day is very productive and busy, not much time to sit and even think about how busy you are, however I prefer this. I am learning so much about all the different insurance companies and policies, what's covered what's not and etc. The hardest part is keeping up with Medicare's changes! Management listens, they are open to suggestions to make the place run better. What I like most is that I am challenged. Everyday I learn something new
Pros
free coffee, great co-workers, great team work
Cons
fussy customers, lots of gossip by staff, ticketing system not a good learning system
Was this review helpful?Yes11No21
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the director was great to work for
medical coder/referral assistant (Former Employee) –  madison,wiJuly 11, 2012
get to work at 8:00 clock check to see if any coding need done from the previous nite.what i learned is learn everything you can for the aspect of your job because if you don't stay at this job you will have some experience to write in your resume.the hardest part of the job is when you dont have a lot of work to do you have to find something to keep you busy.the most enjoyable is when we made baskets for hospice.
Pros
you get bonuses, giftcards for x-mas
Cons
your department can change at any given time.
Was this review helpful?Yes15No34
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Has provided a wealth of knowledge in the area of billing
Patient Account Representative (Current Employee) –  Madison, WIOctober 2, 2013
It has given me a great wealth of expertise in the field of insurance billing from commercial billing to Medicare and Medicaid billing. I have gone as far as I can with this position and am looking to use my knowledge and expertise in helping others in the billing field.
Was this review helpful?Yes14No13
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Culture for employee's is very negative. No follow through from upper management.
Purchasing Manager (Former Employee) –  Madison, WiJune 27, 2014
Because of the lack of training, concise policies and procedures, and lack of follow up with most of the management team, days were not typical or organized in most departments. Senior leadership constantly spoke to employees about the fact that they were there to listen to employee's ideas, suggestions and opportunities for positive change; however, every employee that I had direct contact with would state that if they brought up certain ideas, suggestions, or areas for improvement, it fell on deaf ears.
Employees were promised changes in positions with an increase in pay, and then the position was given to another employee, with no feedback or reason given.
The most enjoyable part of the job was working with some of the other employee's.
Pros
working with some good employees
Cons
poor leadership, hourly pay for employee's low, no proper training
Was this review helpful?Yes49No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would never suggest working at this company.
n/a (Former Employee) –  barabooMay 14, 2014
i would never suggest this company, understaffed, over worked, micro-managed, upper staff follows you to ensure your working. Untrustworthy agency.
Pros
working with patients
Cons
unorganized, micro-managed, uncontrolled gossip
Was this review helpful?Yes54No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Different type of work environment when airplanes are involved
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Madison, WIAugust 22, 2012
Fast pace environment with many people performing a variety of duties
Pros
free travel
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1No24
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very fun job
Delivery Driver/Courier (Former Employee) –  Madison,wiJanuary 14, 2013
Loved working at HHU. Good work envirnment. Great people to work with. Typical day was making deliveries and doing warehouse work.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No20
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly co-workers
Human Resources Assistant (Former Employee) –  Madison, WIAugust 25, 2014
Nice to walk into my department where the co-workers are nice, friendly, and helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes16No19
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very strict call center enviroment
Telephone Operator/ Switch board (Former Employee) –  Madison, WIMay 1, 2013
* Call flow vairies on a day to day basis.
* Great coworker enviroment.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No14

Overall rating

2.5
Based on 16 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.2
Compensation/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
2.1
Management
2.1
Culture
2.0

Home Health United Reviews by Location