Find companies:
Home Health
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
155 reviews

Home Health Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only 2 cna's on units with 40-50 residents.
Interim Home Health (Current Employee), Danville, VASeptember 24, 2014
Pros: work 6 months and given pto
Cons: no lunch breaks @ times not enough staff
walking rounds competed @start & end of shift. with shift report given to on coming staff. assignments given to cnas with vs baths weights due etc. call md if new orders needed. ck wound book for assessments due. start med pass. complete med pass with nebulizer tx. diabetic cks. incooperated assist with meals when finished do charting co-workers worked – more... as team. hardest part not able to give 1:1 care with residents as needed. giving and receiving hugs from residents and family members. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Family to work for
Medical Asst (Current Employee), Las Vegas, NVSeptember 16, 2014
Pros: great hours
Cons: not full-time
Productive and great place to work to keep up with Medical knowledge in which I have obtained
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work enviroment
CNA/Caregiver (Former Employee), Houston, TXSeptember 10, 2014
Pros: work with my school schedule
I love going to work everyday! I have great communication skills with my co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Licensed Practical Nurse (Former Employee), Chesapeake, VASeptember 9, 2014
I love it here. easy schedule. easy staff to get along with. Great home cases I could not complain about this job at all.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed the complete independence of Home Health
Registered Nurse Case Management (Former Employee), FloridaSeptember 7, 2014
Pros: one on one personal care
Cons: price of gas
I would start my day from my home go directly to my first appointment, and follow through with all my patients for that day, calling physicians, drug stores, setting up appointments, assessing my patients needs, wants and desires. I would do what ever was necessary to assist my patients in their daily activities, instruct ancillary personel on plans – more... of care for each of my patients in my case load. I loved this position, I was able to really spend time with my patients and know them intimately. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable work environment
Live in LVN (Former Employee), Cheney, WASeptember 6, 2014
Pros: relaxing, yet educational environment
Cons: employment compensation very low
I worked with this family, child, for yrs. I became very close to them all. This child was on vent, pulse ox, gt, incontinent. I had to be extremely detail oriented and alert at all times, which I enjoy. This was a fantastic environment as I worked night shift so I could attend college during the afternoon.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Serving those in need.
Medical Social Work Home Health (Current Employee), Torrance, CaliforniaSeptember 2, 2014
No days are typical. Each patient, health status, home environment is unique. As a medical social worker, with emphasis in geriatrics - I offer hope and comfort to a vulnerable population. My knowledge, skill and over all commitment to serve those in need/underserved is rewarding.
The most challenging part of my work is recognizing the health care system – more... is flawed - and unable able (at this time) to provide needed services for those most in need. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very rewarding career
Home Health Tech (Current Employee), Tulsa, OKAugust 29, 2014
I work with a 5yr old vent dependent little boy. I work alone but other nurses share in the responsibility. I work with him in Speech Therapy, Occupational and Physical Therapy. The hardest part of the job is trying not being too critical of my performance. Although I work very hard with this little man and I am well appreciated, I always want to do – more... better. The most enjoyable part of my job is watching him grow and learn and progress into a very special human being. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Job
Caregiver (Former Employee), Hardwood, MIAugust 29, 2014
Pros: self-worth and self-growth
Cons: watching some one suffer
Caring for an elderly patient is one of the most rewarding thing you could do. I loved my job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
providing excellent home care
medication tech (Former Employee), Rock Hill, SCAugust 29, 2014
helping patients ina home setting with their adls of living
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed cooking and cleaning
Physician Choice Health (Former Employee), Albany, GAAugust 14, 2014
i enjoyed meeting new customers and old customers everyday, smiling, working with everyone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy working with older people and learning from them.
Caregiver (Current Employee), Dothan, ALAugust 14, 2014
A typical day at work would be taking care of a patient and their needs. I have learned a lot from each persons life and ways of living. The patients I have taking care of Ive been my on manager other than them telling me what to do and I enjoy it this way. The most hardest part of the job would be watching them pass away. It takes a mental piece out – more... of your body and hurts your heart. I enjoy watching them smile and making them happy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee), KilleenAugust 12, 2014
Pros: being on your own. feeling of making a difference
Cons: low pay, sometimes hard on your body, rude family members in some cases
You worked on your own providing care to an elderly patient. Your reward really was knowing you did you best and the family apprecited you. The work could be challenging at times but most of the time it was good. The pay was not great so you really had to enjoy what you were doing and care about the patient. I always loved the elderly so it was easy – more... for me to want to do and give my best and my all. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Fun office that celebrates Birthdays & recognizes Staff on monthly basis
Assist Home Health/LVN Case Manager (Current Employee), Corpus Christi, TXAugust 6, 2014
Pros: company car for visits out of town
Cons: no 401k, high cost for insurance, no telephone allowance, high volume of calls from patients
Day starts at 0800 with last patient seen at times after 1700. SN visit notes are usually done at patients home & if not finished must be taken home & finished with in 24 hours. Notes done on IPAD. Educate patients extensively on their disease process & medications. Educate patients on safety procedures in their home. Instruct on safety devices or medical – more... equipment. Communicate with physicians on patient status & perform wound care as needed or ordered. I have learned to be patient, listen to patients needs, that's when you actually find out what is going on & can communicate to MD what is going on with patient. Management is new, yet learning quickly by reading up on all regulations & laws to keep staff current with medicare guidelines & changes. Co-workers work well together & assist each other out. Is when I cannot provide patient with assistance needed d/t insufficient earnings by patient. So patient may go without medication or food. Making patients laugh or smile even when they are feeling sad or voice they are depressed. Or when they actually remember what has been taught and are grateful for being taught. Or when a wound is healed & they are excited. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Sadness that Surrounds You/the Family.
Home Health Care Aide (Former Employee), Dallas, TexasAugust 6, 2014
Pros: listen, speak when spoken to, lend a helping hand in any way i can, offer support if appropriate, most be there for all included.
Cons: being able to not bare the sadness, trying my hardest to not offer advise unless asked, watching all around wait for the moment to come.
Watching and not knowing when the time will come for this loved one and listening for every click of the clock, and hear every sound in the house like a mouse would.
Silence is golden in times like these is what I've learned and respect for all involved.
Management of time, effort, efficiency,care, compassion not just to the patient but the family as – more... well is very important. Really listening with your heart not just your mind is very important to me.
In this situation the co-workers are the family which seemed to be always willing to lend a hand, and be very caring toward me if ever needed. This was greatly appreciated.
The tones go off, there is a scramble for shirts, ties, and boots. You hear crying and sounds of unhappiness as well as sounds of re-leaf for some, for me sadness and having to keep it to myself so I want upset anyone as they already are.
There is a rush of adrenaline through all those involved in the house. The street comes alive with flashing red and white lights and screaming sirens. Ambulances tear down the street to the scene. They arrive to find a body of the deceased and take it away. There is silence like none I'd never known. This was the hardest part of the job for me. Not during the process but after effects of the family and friends of the loved one who had passed.
Everyday I'm faced with decisions of right and wrong, most of which are easily and correctly dealt with. Sometimes however, decisions need to be made that are not easy or clear-cut like working with those such as anyone losing a loved one. They require thought and often prayer. I like to draw on past experience to make comparisons that help give insight to new problems. Many times, however past experiences cannot be related to present problems and can confuse and obscure possibilities. Even the opinions or actions of friends faced with similar dilemmas may not be helpful. Often you
feel pressured by piers that say, "it's no big deal", or "you'll understand later". It's important that I understand why a particular action or resolution is correct or incorrect. If I can't or don't it's difficult to feel I've been honest with myself. That for me can be a good measure of ethical behavior, my conscience. That for me helps to conclude the enjoy of my job and the part I've given to those around me. Maybe I've helped in someway or gave some advise when asked for it to ease the hearts of those mourning is how I'd like to see me for what is call enjoyable for my part of my job.
I'm adding this so you and I know the correct job on this one it was one the last ones on my resume. Needed to be clear on that.
Thank you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun work place in a hands on work enviorment.
Home Aide Assistant (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXJuly 30, 2014
Pros: discounts on this or lunch at the work places
Cons: breaks only 30minutes an inbetween breaks was 15mintues
its was a typical day at the last job I had, loved showing up an loved what I was doing for my patience on a daily. I learned how to love an appreciate life on a daily bases. I managed a good work skill in any thing I did, an also succeed an accomplished it all. It was fun working with all my co-works at each in everyone at each last work history. The – more... hardest part in the job places, was trying to make sure all your clients an patience or customers happy, with you service. An the most enjoyable part of work place was getting up an having a job to go to, cause many people out here cant say or do that. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manager very understanding
aide (Former Employee), Salt Lake, UtJuly 17, 2014
No co-workers, I learned how to work with a quadriplegic. The hardest part was working alone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CNA
Certified Nurse Assistant (Former Employee), Scottsbluff, NEJuly 16, 2014
Pros: lots of overtime
Cons: working short handed
tend to residents at late hours and made sure if they needed something we were there to assist them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beat the Burnout
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Pyramid Home HealthJuly 15, 2014
I loved the culture and the benefit of choosing when I worked.
The management changed hands too often when I was there. I will say the managers always remained professional and friendly, and I will suggest that they were in a transition period when I worked for them.
If you are burnt out on not being appreciated, home health is the way to go. With so – more... many resources at my disposal, my patients were ever so grateful to me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Self-Managed Home Health Care
Caretaker (Former Employee), Cerritos CAJuly 12, 2014
Patient was a post bilateral below the knee amputee with history of diabetes mellitus, type 2.

Duties included: assisting with activities of daily living, administering medications (oral and subcutaneous), using the hoyer lift to move patient from bed to wheelchair and vice versa, using a transfer tablet to transfer patient from bed to wheelchair and – more... vice versa (once patient was stable), assisting with toileting (bedpan and briefs), performed range of motion exercises, etc. Patient only spoke spanish, which I speak. I also provided comfort and listened to the patient's concerns. I encouraged the patient to set small goals and continue working toward their goals. Together we looked back at her progress and continued to enourage. Because of her progress and will to thrive, she is now more independent and her daughter took over as caregiver. – less

1 2 3 4 5