Find companies:
HOME INSTEAD
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
156 reviews

HOME INSTEAD Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Caregiver (Former Employee), Tolland, CTJuly 2, 2014
its a fun place to work some of the best clients in the world great staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helping the elderly with a smile.
Home Instead Senior Care (Former Employee), Mission Viejo, CAJune 30, 2014
I really enjoyed working for Home Instead. A typical work day would begin at 10am and end around 5pm. I was able to visit with elderly patients and tend to their needs. I learned that I have a true passion for taking care of those in need, I have a special place in my heart for the elderly community and would find myself always excited to start a new – more... work day. The management was always available to direct me and teach me and were always open to my questions and or concerns, I was an independent worker so I did not interact much with other caregivers. The hardest part of the job was visually seeing older adults suffering. I did however enjoy making their days a little brighter and putting smiles on their faces. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very flexiable and rewarding place to work.
Care Giver (Former Employee), Livonia, MIJune 26, 2014
I enjoyed working here but needed to leave do to schooling. At this type of job each day would bring something new. Home Instead is a senior care agency in which the care givers care for the clients in the comfort of the seniors homes. The most enjoyable part of the job is building relationships with the seniors you care for. You become family to many – more... that may not have family of thier own. The hardest thing is that you do build relationships and with caring for the elderly you may have to deal with death. This is emotionally hard sometimes. Amazing place to work but the office staff is disorganized which is frustrating at times. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding work with professional employees.
Housekeeper/Caregiver (Current Employee), Pittsford, NYJune 24, 2014
Pros: you work when you want.
Cons: driving in extreme weather conditions can be hazardous
I get to do what I enjoy most. Which is helping others and making them happy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excelent
Caregiver/ Community Service Rep/ Marketing (Former Employee), Murray, UTJune 19, 2014
I have learned how to multi-task. Smile, Smile, Smile especially on the phone. I worked with great people who worked hard but still knew how to have fun and reward their staff. The hardest part of my job, and I say this unfortunately, was working with my husband, now ex- husband. Waking up and just being excited about what would happen today and starting – more... the day with a smile was the best part of working for each of my employers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Caregiver (Former Employee), Bel Air, MDJune 11, 2014
Pros: able to travel
Cons: long rides to get there sometimes
very productive at this company went to different homes and assist patients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very nice place!
Caregiver (Current Employee), ZelienopoleJune 9, 2014
nice place to work. everyone there is very nice. the management is very flexible with your needs if you need anything.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work but do not have enough hour to work
Caregiver (Former Employee), Dothan, ALJune 6, 2014
Pros: careing for the people
Cons: watching them loss who they were
I would learn what life was back in the early 1900. I would cook for them,help with baths and reminder to take meds .I did not get to work with other as i went from home to home. Having to watch them past away. Learning about what life was back in the day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people to work for and fun
Personal Caregiver (Current Employee), Racine, WIJune 1, 2014
Pros: work my own schedule
Cons: not enough consumers or hours.
Help older people in home care giving day to day daily activities. Responsible for companionship, medication reminders, and personal care. Hardest part is when the person you take care of passes away or gets so sick they need Hospice to care for them. Most enjoyable is when you know you helped that person and you made the difference in someone's life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the best job ever
Home Health Aide (Former Employee), Camden, DEMay 28, 2014
Pros: my client
Cons: long travel time
I loved this job. The most rewarding in so many different way.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what I was looking for.
Senior Care (Former Employee), De Planck, WALMay 27, 2014
Was not what I was looking for as a job. You had to take care of seniors and help them with their needs in their daily lives things they may not have been able to do for themselves such as cooking and cleaning. Sometimes you had to help them bathe and get dressed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lead
Caregiver (Former Employee), Lancaster, OHMay 20, 2014
•Provided excellent customer service
•Supervised and scheduled personnel
•Operated fork lift and bobcat
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fast paced enviroment
Caregiver (Former Employee), Grants Pass, ORMay 12, 2014
I learned how to provide excellent customer service. Management was kind and understanding. The most enjoyable part of the job was helping the customers have an excellent experience in the store
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caring for seniors is great but their management is horrible
Caregiver (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LAMay 7, 2014
Pros: caring for seniors
Cons: no health insurace, horrible pay, horrible care management
I like caring for seniors but this office management department is horrible. They only care about filing their shifts and sometimes don't believe when caregivers are sick or have an emergency. They call you at any time expecting you to work and if you don't they act rude. There is always new people working there, I guess they can't keep employees for – more... too long (red flag). The pay is horrible. Caregivers only make around 8-9 hrs a hour. I rather work for a private client. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great honest company!
Caregiver (Former Employee), Winchester, VAMay 6, 2014
Pros: the people i cared for !
Cons: seeing them sick or in pain.
Every person who worked in the office really genuinely cared for their customers. I really enjoyed the training sessions that the job provided. I learned a lot about taking care of elderly people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked too much for too little
Direct Care Worker (Former Employee), Mesa, AZMay 2, 2014
Pros: work was pretty easy
Cons: pay was low
I had started working as a caregiver and they did give me an opportunity to work. I really enjoyed the clients they gave me. They did keep me busy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Summary
Caregiver (Current Employee), Reno, NVMay 1, 2014
At Home Instead Senior Care I worked as a caregiver for almost six years. Everyday was different and I had to constantly learn new tasks. I worked with many clients some needed level 1 care which included, cooking, cleaning, medication reminders, transportation to their doctor appointment and/or grocery store etc. At the current time I am considered – more... a level 3 Caregiver which means working with less independent clients whom rely on me for many of their daily activities such as bathing, incontinence, transportation to and from bed, wheel chair, vehicles, showers etc. Companionship is a major part in this company. Since working for HISC I have learned a great deal about communication, every client was different and I learned how to communicate with all my clients very fast. In order to properly and successfully be a Caregiver I needed to access the situation and the client very quickly and be confident in my work skills to insure the client and their families that they were getting the best care. Most of the time I worked independently but it was very important to work as a team with my co-workers. Things change quickly in this work environment and we depend on each other for the most current and accurate information. The most difficult about working as a Caregiver is the sporadic schedule, the hours vary on a daily basis and you have to be prepared to be called in at any given time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job, but no benfits ,and no hours
Caregiver/Personal Assistant (Former Employee), Meridian, IDApril 29, 2014
Pros: got paid perdiem to travel on your car
Cons: no hours, low pay, inconsistent
was a caregiver in homes of elderly,shopping meals, adl's, meds,housekepping, laundry
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for.
Caregiver (Current Employee), Bakersfield, CAApril 20, 2014
Pros: they help you with your schedule.
Cons: no benefits.
They help you with your schedule. When there's a problem they fix it fast. Good company to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a productive and fun work place
Nursing Aid (Former Employee), VAApril 16, 2014
Pros: great place to work
Cons: no health care
My time spent working at Home Instead was educational, productive and management was easy to deal with; very helpful

1 2 3 4 5

About HOME INSTEAD

Home Instead helps keep the elderly at home instead of in assisted living or nursing homes. The company, which operates under – Read more

HOME INSTEAD Photos