Homeboy Industries Employee Reviews

Showing all 19 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great stepping stone for people trying to reintegrate back in sociaety
Development Assistant (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAApril 18, 2017
Homeboy industries was the perfect place for me to develop increased stability and acclimate back into the working world. I gained a lot of confidence in self through working at Homeboy Industries.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great resources and platform for opportunity
Trainee (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAApril 7, 2017
Homeboy Industries is a great place to work and rehabilitate yourself. It is a place of comfort and building on a solid foundation to help secure a successful future.
Pros
Great staff and resources.
Cons
7 our work days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good to be at
Landscaper/Laborer (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAApril 3, 2017
Best food ever, I learned a lot there and my help will always be given if they need it.by the way they open on weekends too so go visit be my guess there.
Pros
Good people
Cons
No over time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good place to work .and fun
Maintenance (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAMarch 3, 2017
This is a great job to work ,they give u days off on holidays .Down fall is that its minimum wage .they got the bakery in the back .they got a cafe in the frond .Food is really good .bread is awesome
Pros
holidays off with pay
Cons
health care
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Second chance at life
Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJanuary 25, 2017
Loved working here they give you the chance to make these better in your life. GED Drivers licence anger management parenting AAA meetings you are able to take classes while you work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun work environment
Café Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJanuary 13, 2017
-Great work experience
-Good Job Training Facility
-Great Leadership
-Culture behind Homeboy's
- Able to supervise and multitask during big projects
- able to grow with in the company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work place
Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJanuary 11, 2017
• Operate various tools and job related equipment such as mcLeod and Pulaski tools, hoes lay and etc.
• Extensive knowledge of machinery and fire equipment tools, including their designs, uses, repair and maintenance
• Follow and ensure the company’s policy, rules and regulation, to promote others to do the same
• Other duties were assigned such as attend group meetings related to specific mandatory trainings
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great mission, poor managemetn
N/A (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAOctober 4, 2016
The mission is great and really helpful, but the managerial support is lacking and advancement opportunities are limited. The clients and most of the staff are amazing people.
Pros
Mission, interaction with clients
Cons
Management, Advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eye Opener
Manager (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CASeptember 22, 2016
I enjoyed working with people who wanted to change their lives and move on from the gang culture. Management is not supportive at all. You don't really receive support from supervisors in other departments as well.
Pros
Clients
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and exciting place to work for
Janitorial Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJuly 15, 2015
It's an interesting place to work for, I thought I was in a county jail or prison. The idea there is to work well with others even if the co-workers were once enemies. Gang related.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Beautiful Place To Be
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJanuary 17, 2015
Very positive and efficient place of work with very kindhearted staff and clients.
Pros
Positive Staff & Positive Work Environment
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Paid Training Program for those eager for change
Tour Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJune 24, 2014
The hardest part of my job was securing tour guides
The easiest part was dealing with my coworkers (friendly)
Pros
Fun Environment
Cons
Lay Offs
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful, wonderful place
Maintenance Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAMarch 25, 2014
It was a great pleasure and honor to work here and support the mission.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Homeboy Industries is a open welcoming facility. I can not complain about anything. I am very friendly and I get along with everyone.
Janitor/Maintenance (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAAugust 13, 2013
Everyday is a new day in Homeboy Industries. I almost meet new people everyday. I learned new cultures and different personalities. My co-workers are very friendly and open. There hasn't been no complains and no reasons to complain. We all treat each other with respect. My most ejoyable part of the job is communicating and it makes my job fun.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Maintenance/ supervisor (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJune 28, 2013
Good job environment. gives a lot of people second chances in life that made big mistakes in life. keeps them safe than being on the streets getting shot or arrested, but my job here was to help them i was more of a leader here for young kids and adults.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inventory/ Warehouse Assistant
Administration/ Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CASeptember 26, 2012
Utilized hand-held computerized system to verify shipments and identify loads for re-packing and distribution to stores or forwarding into inventory.
• Shipping/receiving, picking/packing orders, inbound and outbound inventory control and distribution.
• Maintenance and general upkeep of all warehouse areas.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Homeboy Industries is a great place to work and develop new skills
Office Assistant (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJune 8, 2012
The work is demanding but rewarding. I have developed a range of new skills as an administrative assistant, customer service, and more. I got along well with my co-workers and always enjoyed coming in to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was fun but only a stepping stone for a better tomorrow
various (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles CAFebruary 29, 2012
had many opportunities while worked here had many learning skills also speaking engagements
Pros
cheap lunches for only 2$
Cons
health care
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Homeboy Industries. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 19 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.8
Culture
3.8

Homeboy Industries Reviews by Location