Find companies:
Homegoods
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
185 reviews

Homegoods Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Largely consistent, depends on the days.
Senior Associate and Shrink Mentor (Former Employee), Bedford, MADecember 6, 2014
Pros: 45 minute lunch breaks, multiple managers on duty, adequate on the job training
Cons: lack of loss prevention specialists on site, odd procedural rules
Most days are manageable, steady flow of customers with enough time to do tasks required of you (IE store recovery, flowing furniture, etc.)

Weekend afternoons are the busiest during the typical work week, hard to do any other additional tasks until later in the day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A prospect for 1st job hunters.
Associate (Current Employee), Ypsilanti, MINovember 21, 2014
Pros: 15-minute breaks, 45-minute lunches, friendly atmosphere
Cons: ornery customers at times, busy during weekends
Overall, it's a nice place to work at. You come in, if you're early, you can stay and relax in the break room, otherwise you clock in, take a deep breath, and start the day.

You will learn how cashier machine works, as well as how to organize the items Homegoods sells. If you're in the early morning, chances are, you'll either be unpacking new items, – more... doing maintenance or marking down items. Learning to do almost of these things, i can say each one is worthwhile in its own right.

The co-workers come and go. Either from moving up in the company, working somewhere else, or simply being fired. Same as everywhere else. Every new co-worker tends to be very friendly and ready to learn how to earn their paycheck. The older co-workers are very nice once you get to know them, and as you work with them, be sure to observe how they do things, as you may pickup some useful tips. I came to the job 2 years ago, and became friends with almost everyone there in a week. Literally. They were just that friendly.

At times, you will get a customer who WILL get ornery with you. Those are not exactly the funnest people to deal with, but there are all types of people. Meh.

the most enjoyable times are either talking with really awesome customers (common interests, ya know?), or working alongside a friend (just don't slack off).

Management was a bit wobbly, but now that positions have been moved around, things should be better. They are always understanding of life OUTSIDE of work, and so if something goes wrong, you could call off, and they'd ask around for someone to take your place (This is a good chance for extra hours, but don't abuse this :P). They are very understanding of schedule changes you may want, especially when you're in school. If you want days off, you must let them know 2 weeks ahead of time, otherwise.... Well, you don't get those days. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a great job if you just need some extra cash
PROCESSOR (Current Employee), noviNovember 17, 2014
Every employee is so nice. Great overall place to work. Clean and friendly. They have great work ethic. But the pay is just not there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Homegoods an Employer of choice
Assistant Manager of Operations and Merchandising (Current Employee), Moraga, CANovember 13, 2014
Pros: promotions/advancement
Cons: poor work/life balance
Homegoods is a company gaining many competitors. In order to set themselves apart, customer service is a major priority. Many interactions occur throughout the day with internal and external associates. Many aspects of the operation depended on other outside factors ex. if our truck arrived late it could impact the processing team, the flow team and – more... so on. As a manager I had to be flexible and able to have sharp critical thinking skills to solve the constant problems that occurred throughout the day.

Working in a college community, most of the applicants tend to be building their resumes versus looking for a career. As the hiring manager I ultimately looked to hire individuals who would be staying in the area for awhile, had strong interpersonal skills and desired a career in business.

The most difficult part of the job was not being able to provide my associates higher wages and more detailed training. With little payroll and corporate overhead, this was very hard to overcome.

I learned how to listen better. To work in a team one must be able to listen. Relaying information heard is more powerful and effective than simply saying I understand. Strong communication skills are relevant and important to any job.

I had the most joy from the hiring process and giving my orientation class. Because I was an internal promotion, I had a lot of information to share with the associates. I really enjoyed training and seeing the development in each and every associate. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
*
Cashier (Current Employee), Bedford, NHNovember 10, 2014
I am currently working as a cashier at Homegoods. I interact with customers every day at work. I have dealt with people in different situations with different issues, building customer service skills. I have patience and the will to please people. Over the past four years at Homegoods I have had great customer service reviews and comments. I enjoy interacting – more... with customers and being as helpful as I can, from giving directions to sharing ideas. I have also had the opportunity to work hands-on on our sales floor building displays with coordinators and participated in conference calls with management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult Experience
Back Room Coordinator (Current Employee), Durham, NCNovember 7, 2014
Pros: most employees are enjoyable to work with
Cons: lack of support by management, personality clashes between management and coordinators.
My experience in a supervisory position with this particular store has been extremely difficult. There is very little support from the general manager and she has a tendency to ignore complaints and concerns by her employees. As a result, morale is low and I dread going to work each morning. I am typically not one to look to leave a position after only – more... a month, but the stress caused by this manager gives me no choice. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place, Fun and friendly staff
Cashier/ Customer Service Rep (Current Employee), Westport, CTOctober 30, 2014
Pros: caring staff, great management
Cons: short breaks, part time
I have a lot of fun when I go to work. It is a pleasure to work with their staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice place to work because of the employees.
Sales Associate - help customers (Current Employee), Pittsburgh, PA 15237October 30, 2014
Co-workers are very pleasant to work with. The hardest is not able to plan out your week. The most enjoyable part of the job is that it is close to home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Front End Team Member (Current Employee), Mooresville, NCOctober 22, 2014
The co-workers and management are extraordinary. I've learned a lot about customer service and to maintain a smile no matter what. The hardest part of this job is heavy lifting and minimal pay. The most enjoyable thing is helping customers find what they're looking for and knowing you helped them pick that out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it's a good job for part-time
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee), Bloomfield, CTOctober 21, 2014
Pros: you learn a lot and friendly bosses
Cons: sometimes no work for long piriods of time
I came in signed my name and time I came in ,I learned to ticket merchandise the correct ways, and pick and pack orders for shipping etc.. the hardest part was driving 45 minutes to work so they tell you there is no work for me or the majority of the employees cause its to slow and send you back home and do this often during the week and sometimes get – more... paid 1 day that week and be without work up to 2 weeks no good. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and easy to work for.
Processor Associate (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXOctober 21, 2014
Pros: good job if one already is retired and has another source of income supporting themselves.
Cons: little or no advancement opportunities and well below substandard pay.
Fun and easy to work for. More flexible with schedules than most jobs. Fun people to work with. Learn something new every day in the retail industry. Very good on enforcing safety standards set down by OSHA.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to start out
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Florence, KYOctober 15, 2014
Its a great start if your just needing part time. Hours are reasonable
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place with awesome co-workers!
Sales Associate, Cashier, and Bulk Processor (Current Employee), Norman, OKOctober 14, 2014
Pros: flexible schedules, co-workers, and enough work to keep me busy.
Cons: the money
A typical day at work includes: processing bulk and flowing merchandise onto the sales floor in an efficient manner. After all the merchandise has been flowed, I also carryout rugs and furniture for customers, as well as assist in recovery routines and cashier assistance. I really love working at Home Goods. I get along with all of my co workers and – more... managers and have enough work through out the day to keep me busy, which is great! I love to stay busy and work hard to accomplish any and all tasks. The most enjoyable part of my job is that it has become second nature, I know exactly what i'm doing so as well as working hard when i'm there I can also enjoy myself while doing my tasks, not having to worry if i'm doing everything correctly or not anymore. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very few hours with very high demands
Receiver/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Woodland Hills, CAOctober 8, 2014
Pros: flexible
Cons: few hours and no advancement opportunities
Homegoods try's to do the bare minimum for it's employees. Things like giving three days a week to each stockroom employee for only three hours a day. That added up to nine hours a week. My three hours there would involve me taking off freight from a truck and making sure everything was processed and ready to go out before our three hours were up. Some – more... of my coworkers were good people that i still know to this day, while others were difficult to work with and held us behind. At first when I worked there the hours were longer and the number of days we worked amounted to a full week of work. Hopefully things have changed since I left. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a job not a career.
Associate (Current Employee), Williamsport, PAOctober 3, 2014
Pros: scheduling.
Cons: no chance for advancement, favoritism, nepotism, low wages/raises, unorganized.
Poor management. Passed over twice for full time coordinator positions after good annual reviews (yet poor raises) just to be made to do the work of the people I was passed over for because they can't get their work done & often call off. If you're in high school, college, or you have a family it's an ok job, but this is certainly not suitable for a – more... permanent career. Unless you plan to eventually commit suicide so none of it matters anyways, then by all means... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun day at the front end registers.
cashier (Former Employee), Naples, FLOctober 2, 2014
Pros: lunches are 45mins. managers are great.
Cons: no benefits. not a lot of hours .
A typical day at work , just ringing up customers items , bagging them, and working a register, also answering phones. keeping my area clean.
What i have learned at Home Goods is, Customer service.
Management , is great good people caring, understanding.
my co workers, are awesome sweet , great people.
Hardest part of the job, I don't find anything – more... to hard.
most enjoyable part of the job , dealing with great customers and showing my customer service skills. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people
customer service associate (Former Employee), Brandon, FLOctober 1, 2014
I was very lucky to have worked in a nice store with delightful associates and managers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Homegoods
Warehouse Supervisor (Former Employee), Bloomfield, CTSeptember 23, 2014
One of the best places I have every worked, Management was helpful and coachable. Associates were kind and hard working
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Accuracy Control Associate
Accuracy Control Associate (Former Employee), Bloomfield, CTSeptember 17, 2014
*Documented freight by purchase order number, style, color, and size using NORAND hand held scan system
*Redirected the freight either to be processed or shipped
*Solved misdirected freights utilizing the NORAND and the procedures code handbook to label correctly
*Assisted and trained new associates in same field
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management never kept promises
Part-time associate (Former Employee), Lancaster, PASeptember 16, 2014
Pros: lots of free food
Cons: minimal training, poor scheduling, poor management
Minimal training was given. When I started I was expected to watch someone do a job for a few minutes and then I was thrown in. Then, when I inevitably made a mistake, I was penalized for it over and over, yet never shown how to correct the mistake/what the proper procedure was. My coworkers and I were also promised a raise after so many months of working – more... for the store, but that never happened and when we asked, we were either ignored or management became angry. Also, the store manager mysteriously disappeared during my final few weeks and no one seemed to know where he had gone. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Homegoods

Rifling through the racks is an art at TJX stores. The TJX Companies operates¬†about a half a dozen retail chains, including the – Read more