Find companies:
Homeserve
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
24 reviews

Homeserve Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing Company
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Chattanooga, TNMay 14, 2014
Pros: always changing
Cons: health care
It is a growing company, many opportunities. I recommend people who are young and looking to grow in a company to apply.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great family Owned Business
Customer Service Repairs (Former Employee), Chattanooga,TNFebruary 27, 2014
Pros: hard work learning verbal skills
Fast ,Fun
How to greet and meet people
Great leadership
we were like family willing to help a hand
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Completely unprofessional.
Marketing Manager (Former Employee), Stamford, CTFebruary 22, 2013
Cons: hostile, unprofessional.
Homeserve is possibly the worst place to work. There is an overwhelming culture of fear and hostility that is rampant throughout the corporate headquarters (US). There is a lack of leadership at all levels and performance is seldom rewarded. Innovation is lacking and most problems are resolved by shouting and bickering between senior management. It – more... is the most uncomfortable environment I have ever worked in. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work for a driven sales person.
Outbound Sales Agent/ Insurance Outbound Agent (Current Employee), Chattanooga TNJuly 2, 2012
Great management and support from them, and also a good place for a driven sales person.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good workplace
Service Engineer (Former Employee), Aberdeen, SCTJune 12, 2014
Pros: own van
Cons: long hours
very bad man managment and long hours with a very hard and confusing bonus scheme
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Customer Care Manager (Current Employee), Walsall, ENGFebruary 16, 2014
Pros: free gym membership - childcare voucher - pension plan
Overall is a very good place to work and do provide childcare vouchers and free gym membership as well as well as a clean tidy environment to work with as few distractions as possible
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Customer Care (Current Employee), walsallFebruary 6, 2014
in my day at work, have a daily target of 6.5 closures daily.
I locate the correct call and screen this accordingly.
mark call against relevant triggers, to deem suitability of call.
answer inbound calls, dealing with customer queries and solving problems.
listening, and logging complaints accordingly.
dealing with complaints and solving.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
brillant place
Warranty (Former Employee), Walsall, ENGJanuary 31, 2014
really nice people to work with, they all nice to be around just a nice place in general
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intense working environment where every second counts
Customer Service Agent (Former Employee), LondonNovember 29, 2013
Customer Service Agent

• Communicating with engineers and booking appointments for customers
• Handling complaints or issues a customer may have and logging these down
• Actively used selling skills and techniques with the objective to increase business growth
• Invoicing customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Drainage Engineer (Former Employee), scotlandOctober 29, 2013
dealing with customers travelling all over central Scotland
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
run to the hills before even think of working here
field Engineer (Former Employee), ukOctober 24, 2013
Pros: meet nice customers
Cons: oh my god, where do i start
I cant believe a national company can work like this.

Incorrect tax disc, mot expired 3 months before they noticed

refused holiday entitlement, breach of employment contracts. bullied and blackmailed weekly. Has to purchase parts required myself, outrageous travel (personal best 307 miles in one day) then had cheek to question low number of job completed, – more... informed training would only be offered after 3 years. Informed company was a charity org by management. Customers lied to and sometimes told to pay for works not required (lets face it 145 pounds for a new tap washer bit over the top)

Forced to carry a 51kg radiator up and down 4 flights of stairs on my own at 7pm at night even when managers had advanced warnings

worst case i discovered a gas leak in area i was working, told by management to cut through the gas pipe which for an hour i said no and refused, informed them it was against the law (i was threatened with displinary)

advised in works that required qualified workman by law if i was not that person "what they dont know wont hurt them"

if you have one tiny bit of self respect this company is not for you – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont touch it with a barge pole
Various (Former Employee), WalsallOctober 2, 2013
Pros: "subsidised" lunch n star bucks coffee
Cons: unorganised incompetant management structure
Pro's; happy to be flexible with hours once you've conpleted training. Prizes were good and events were ok.
Con's; their contracts are a waste of time, the managment could manage. So long as you enjoy working in a dictatorship and treating customers as money pots then this is the place to work! Your concerns will be ignored and you'll be told that your – more... not doing your job properly even when tou do it by their book. even though you know what you're doing is wrong your concerns will be washed over and you'll only get to do incentives if you are pallypally with your manager. Great place to progress your career whilst stuck up someones proverbial..
Worked here for 4 years and was included in redundancies up till last minute when they decided they'd got it all wrong and they wanted to "keep the best of the best".. Should've thought about that before they made us redundant!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just fodder
Area Manager (Former Employee), SouthSeptember 27, 2013
Cons: cons... yep that sums homeserve up - a con
No respect for there staff - recruit in volume and get rid of just as fast. If you want a company who thinks they own your soul 24/7 this is it. Treated like trash.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Homeseve strived to be top 100 company to work for and put lots of effert into staff engagement
Area Network Manager (Former Employee), west midalnds 10 years south west 6 monthsAugust 8, 2013
Pros: a company that has will grow and engages every one
Cons: can make very quick changes, but does comunicate to all
A typical day was 06.00am till 2100 hrs managing remote work force and ensure all KPIs where been hit , health and safety was been followed and more importantly customer service was been delivered to the highest standard.
Over the past 12 years I certainly learnt how to manage change
Management . we all had to work as a team to ensure end goals where – more... met .
co workers we had regular meetings and kept in touch to make sure best practice was adopted across country.
Hardest Part of the job was trying to switch off
my 12 years with Homeserve was very enjoyable on my last day I was as motivated as my first – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Comapny to Work for
Real Time Analyst - Resource Planning (Current Employee), Preston, ENGAugust 8, 2013
Pros: internal group called socialites which is used to gain discounts on events
Cons: trying to explain process to management time and time again
over the 8+ years i have worked here the place was enjoyable, but management changed so often you sometimes had no idea who you manager was which i felt was poor
Got a internal move to Resource planinng after 2 years working on the phones, this part of the job i really enjoyed, seeing how all the internal workings aof th call centre worked, homing my – more... own skills to advance them further into real time managent, learning to use varios WFM tools QMAX and Impact 360i (Verint) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good palce to work
Sales Representative - At (Former Employee), walsallJuly 11, 2013
Pros: good work force
Cons: no progress
At Homeserve I’ve dealt with general insurance products in a FSA regulated environment. In my role I have been first point of contact for new and current customer. Started off in there One Contact team where I dealt with mostly new customers with problems they have, arranging an agreement and have it resolved, on the back of which sailing insurance – more... products. During my time at Homeserve I’ve learnt a number different skill in different role around the business, not only working in that sales team. I have also work in there Customer. Relations, Warranties and also the Retentions Departments where I believe it has given me the knowledge and skills to how to deal with different type of customers and different type of issues. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun work place
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee), prestonJune 27, 2013
Pros: long lunches
Cons: long hours
Answering insurance calls regarding insurance updates and calling companies to take on the query
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad for your relationship
Gas engineer (Former Employee), PlymouthMay 22, 2013
Cons: long hours little reward, don't even think about it !!!!
Lack of customer care and no understanding of gas safety .heavy workload no time to do your job as the HSE EXPECTS
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Job
Compliance Auditor (Current Employee), WalsallMay 20, 2013
Pros: flexible working hours
Cons: job security
Most Enjoyable part of the job is implementing change in business process and seeing this put into action.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic, fast moving, challenge and rewarding
Business Manager Customer Retention (Current Employee), WalsallMay 14, 2013
Pros: always challenging rarely the same day
Cons: i need a new challenge after 7 years
- Business review meeting
- Monthly forecast review
- Sale review meeting
- Business transformation project review
- "Where are we / need to be" Mangement meeting
- Show and tell Client visit
- Collate and prepare weekly SMT update
- Weekly Market and product development meeting
- Managers 1-2-1
- Operations forecast in/outbound
- HR monthly review

Great – more... people, great product and rewarding environment – less