HON COMPANY Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 30 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Utility Assistant Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Chester, VAJanuary 25, 2016
Learned how to manage personnel, better computer skills and multiple other skills
Management and co-workers were exceptional to work with on daily basis
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
place is a joke!
lead Saw (Former Employee) –  MuscatineOctober 30, 2015
Management is usually who sucks up the best. First time floor leads need trained before they interact with others! Turn over is terrible. My advice: look elsewhere
Pros
benefits
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes7No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
+
utility (Former Employee) –  Cedartown, GAOctober 29, 2015
Good company to work for.The people make it fun to go to work everyday. You have to do the same job a lot of the time so that makes it fun too.
Was this review helpful?YesNo4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Rapid Continuous Improvement Technician (Current Employee) –  Muscatine, IAOctober 22, 2015
Hon has given me tons of opportunities to grow and learn other roles. They have a fun atmosphere and believe in changing for the future.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Utility Worker (Current Employee) –  Muscatine, IASeptember 17, 2015
Very productive work environment. It is not at all about the number of chairs per day but the quality of each chair that is produced for a customer. In order to make good product for customers we work as a team to finis successfully each day.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful environment and grouchy peiople in charge.
forklift driver (Former Employee) –  muscatine iaSeptember 5, 2015
This company would have been ok except people were allowed to be jerks and they would pull out in front of you and not even worry about the other guy. They were constantly complaining about other shifts and the manager made jokes about the employees in front of everyone.
Pros
4 days work week
Cons
poor bosses and low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hon company
Distribution support (Current Employee) –  Muscatine, IAAugust 12, 2015
Typical day at work is the same usually everyday with a various in the boxes. I have learnt how to organize and ensure the product is safe when it arrives at its final destination.
Pros
Fun
Cons
second shift
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast paced place to work
Work Cell Operator (Former Employee) –  Muscatine, IAJuly 6, 2015
Made tables all time when I was working there. People are friendly, Boss is a very nice guy. Many different things to do at this company.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Hon CO was the best place I been working, learned a lot from my 27 years of service.
Production Supervisor (Former Employee) –  South Gate, CAMay 21, 2015
The best thing that I can remember was the opportunities the company give me to improve my personal and work skills. Learning rapid continuous improvements was challenging but the best tool provided to me. I miss so much my peers and co-members from this job
Pros
Ownership, stock share, 401K and all health care benefits.
Cons
Can't think of any cons
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Distribution Support (Current Employee) –  Cedartown, GAJanuary 19, 2015
Good place to work everyone gets along with one another. Steady work all year round. Learned that the company make great products. The management team is excellent. A lot of knowledge in the workplace.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work summary
line worker (Former Employee) –  Chester, VADecember 22, 2014
A typical day consisted of line labor. I assembled the first three pieces of a file cabinet. I received plenty of overtime and I accepted all of it. We followed all OSHA rules and regulations and made sure our work area were clean and safe at all times.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A manufacture job
Assembler/Packer (Former Employee) –  Cedartown, GAAugust 27, 2014
Your days differ day to day. You got to meet lots of people there
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great team work
Utility Operator (Current Employee) –  Louisburg, NCJune 29, 2014
Hard work, how to meet demands, cool, normal, dusty, benefits
Pros
close to home
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good entry level company
Production Team Lead (Former Employee) –  AlabamaJune 15, 2014
Good place to work. Great company culture. Picnics, giveaways, company likes to keep members involved. Great experiences here, how to manage time and people and some great people to work with.
Pros
profit sharing
Cons
pay not great, takes a while to earn profit sharing or raises
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hni
Production Team Leader (Current Employee) –  Muscatine, IAMarch 25, 2014
Management structure lacks stability. Typical day at work can have a lot of variation and is great at teaching time and task management. Team members all want to do a great job and achieve company goals.
Pros
long standing company, can provide advancement in certain situations
Cons
management frequently changes along with overall direction.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and good people to work for
FORKLIFT DRIVER, LOADER (Former Employee) –  Muscatine, IAAugust 23, 2013
Hon tried to treat everyone fairly and like family. Top management always keep everyone informed and had meeting every month to explain the direction of the company
Pros
pay was good and every so often they would buy lunch for all or have it brought in
Cons
was laid off when the economy took a plunge
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Market leader with a tremendous corporate culture
Business Development Manager (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCJuly 19, 2013
As a Business Development Manager, I was a part of the sales arm of this organization which has been increasing sales and market share aggressively in the last 5 years.

The management team at HON is second to none. Each manager has something to offer and always has the best interest of their subordinates in mind. It was a great place to be if you are looking to advance within the company and get cross functional training.

As a BDM, the hardest part was balancing my daily selling activities with extracurricular (required) projects. Because of this, most nights I spent working and had little personal life.

I enjoyed the people and the culture otherwise, as well as the ability to work with customers face to face.
Pros
opportunity for advancement
Cons
not much work-life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun enviroment
Machine Operator, Inspector (Former Employee) –  Chester, VAJune 3, 2013
I loved working at the Hon Company. Friendly team, staff, and management. Room to grow and great benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved learning new jobs
Vacation Reliever,covered jobs on Lines 1and 3 (Former Employee) –  Cedartown, GAMay 16, 2013
We made vetical metal cabinets.Icould run every job from begining to end.I loved my co workers we always helped each other.If we ran a number ,the boss would let us go home earlier.
Pros
during break i would try to learn more and everyone liked that.
Cons
i hated it when a press went down.we lost production.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Engineering Manager - New Poduct Development (Current Employee) –  Muscatine, IowaApril 8, 2013
HON has some of the best people you could possibly work with. The company is good at developing people. I have enjoyed my time here.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 30 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture