Hoover Employee Reviews

Found 15 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long Term Employee
Group Leader (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXJanuary 4, 2016
I worked with the Hoover company for 24 years beginning in 1990 and ending 2014 and would still be there if I hadn't been laid off.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Job Security
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment and kind people
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCJuly 20, 2015
Loved the atmosphere, Learned to Audit and filing Was a great increase to my personality and skills
Great learning experiment for the time i was there
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Secretary/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MINovember 19, 2014
this was the best job anyone could have. all management was excellent. the customers were outstsanding. all phases of this job were excellent. no better place to work for. rewarded for a job well done and company was generous of reviews and salary,
Pros
excellent in every aspect
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Dirt on Hoover
Materials Superintendent (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXNovember 11, 2014
Hoover was a fabulous place to work. There were times that were demanding but such is the way in a manufacturing world. You have to be able to adapt on overcame any challenge that may come your way. The Management team was full of great professionals who help mold me into a great leader as well. My Co-Workers were knowledgeable and very friendly. Always eager to work together to get the job done.The most enjoyable part of the day was being able to see all your efforts manifest into a final product.
Pros
teamwork of all employees believing in the common goal.
Cons
long commute from where i lived
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
they left for China no longer available
Electrician (Current Employee) –  El Paso, TXApril 7, 2014
Mainjtain Injection molding machines .Troubleshoot Electric problems
Pros
plenty of overtime
Cons
they left to china
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and Interesting place to work.
Optician (Former Employee) –  Hoover, AlabamaMarch 30, 2014
Opening the store I was required to receive the key from customer service desk and sign it out for the day. I then opened the store and had to log in on the computer at one of the desks. Get patient information sheets out and ready for the incoming patients of the day, if the Optometrist was going to be present for that day. The Doctor was not in the store every day just set days per week. I was required to assist patients with picking out their eyeglass frames. Which required them trying on several pairs. I also ordered patients contact lenses on the computer system. I operated the cash register and answered phones and maintained the stores order. Stocked inventory when it arrived as well. I learned how to measure pupils for the fitting of eyeglasses. I learned how certain eyeglass frames complemented customers facial features. I learned also quite a bit about the eye and how vision works. The management changed in the time period I worked there. I enjoyed working closely with both the managers I had. They were positive and very upbeat and kept me motivated. My co-workers were very enjoyable and I enjoyed my relationships with each of them. They were friendly and caring and very knowledgeable. The hardest part of the job was business would slow and lull at times. Not everyone needs glasses or contacts. I like to keep busy and managed too. The most enjoyable part was helping the customers find the frames for their eyeglasses. It was fun helping them pick them out and decide on a pair. I would get excited when we found just the right ones and I saw the smile on their faces and  more... could hear how excited they were to get their eyeglasses. For some there is always been that stigma of wearing eyeglasses, it was my job to show them that wearing glasses was not a bad thing. Not only could frames be fashionable and look good on them, but glasses improve your vision so you can see better and enjoy life.  less
Pros
meeting new people
Cons
none.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a fast paced position.
Portsmouth, and Lawyer Chiropractic Clinics (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth, OHOctober 15, 2013
A typical day was filled with patients therapies and answering the phone. I learned how the patient therapy was to be applied, how to develop x-rays, and verify insurance. The management was friendly as were the co-workers. The hardest part was juggling many patients at once but I really enjoyed helping these people on a daily basis.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work was very good for several years
maintenance mechanic (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXApril 17, 2013
Good pay and benefits but management would never communicate what was happening to employees
Pros
terrific fellow workers
Cons
lack of information from supervisors
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Loader Operator (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXMarch 31, 2013
this job takes some one that can multi task and fast learner and it was for me but found a better opportunity that was challenging for me
Pros
lunches
Cons
breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and made my time fly faster.
Operator (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXFebruary 26, 2013
Long and Exhausting

I learned how to use several machines and equipment

Everybody is friendly and outgoing (co-workers)

The hardest part of my job was keeping up with all the machines, eventhough I made more than the average they still though it wasn't enough.
Pros
worked only four days
Cons
made me work every cent they gave me
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
warehouse supervisor (Former Employee) –  Canton, OHJanuary 29, 2013
Was a very good enjoyable job till they got bought out and all the lay offs happened
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good job
bilingual customer service (Former Employee) –  Solon, OHJanuary 26, 2013
really good place to work, but it was a temp job, it was only for a couple months.
Pros
lunch
Cons
health care
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a great place to work!
Sales and Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Southfield, MIJuly 13, 2012
When I worked at Hoover, I worked with a great team. The benefits where awesome. It was very rewarding.
Pros
was not micromanaged.
Cons
they closed all the service centers/stores in 2008.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked in the manufacturing end in the office
Parts & Export Coordinator (Former Employee) –  North Canton, OHApril 19, 2012
I worked at Hoover;s for 27 years. In the end we were like family.
I handled service parts, and shipping parts.
Was this review helpful?YesNo

See more Hoover reviews

You may want to try:

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 25 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture