Horizon Healthcare Staffing Employee Reviews

Showing all 20 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace
Certified Nurse's Assistant (Current Employee) –  Hicksville, NYJune 9, 2017
Its a great place to work. The supervisors are respectful and understanding. They work with your schedule and make sure you get paid. Also they love it when you go beyond your job position
Pros
pay for travel
Cons
your hours affect your pay and
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a good working evironment
BSN, RN Staff Nurse (Former Employee) –  Hicksville, NYApril 5, 2017
Encourage staffs, give details directions about school staff has to travel, promote a stress free working environment. Really enjoy my time with Horizon healthcare and I could work with them again.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horizon
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Hicksville, NYApril 3, 2017
enjoyed working at different schools. good placement, helpful, and get back to you quickly. wish the benefits were better though. Don't offer 401k or anything like that.
Pros
good placement
Cons
bad benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Agency
Care Companion (Former Employee) –  Hicksville, NYMarch 12, 2017
This is a great agency company. They can help you fine a great job position in the medical field that suits you. They make sure everything is taking care of and up to date
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall, unhappy with this company
School Nurse (Former Employee) –  NYC, NYJanuary 26, 2017
I did school nursing with this company
They got me really long distance jobs, and pushed me to take the assignments even if I refused it
It was almost threatening
Coordinators treated me rude
Pay was not good
I'm happy that I left this company
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I won't work with this company again
RN (Former Employee) –  NYC, NYJanuary 25, 2017
they don't have many openings in NYC
no benefits
low pay
nothing better than other agencies
Try with other agencies first,
If you really have no choice, go for it
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Staffing Coordinator/Recruiter (Former Employee) –  Hicksville, NYOctober 30, 2016
After working there for almost two years. I enjoyed both the staff and the assistance we offer for those looking for work in the healthcare field and other related fields. I believe those looking for a position in Nursing or other Allied health related positions at least take the time to apply and register with the agency.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horizon Health Care Staffing
1:1 Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Bronx, NYApril 20, 2016
This job is more for an older nurse who retired from a hospital and is looking to make some extra money after retirement. I am a new grad and I find myself bored. I want a challenge and I want to learn. Sadly, it's all I could find for now.
Pros
Per diem
Cons
Inconvenient at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked at one of the worst hospitals
Sitter (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 11, 2015
worked for this temp agency for about six months. the only thing I loved about it was that I was getting paid every week. The pay wasn't much but I have gathered up new experiences
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Hicksville, NYJuly 22, 2015
Very helpful staff and wonderful atmosphere. Anytime I have a question or a problem they are there to help you. If I cant cover a job they call me for they understand
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
ACCOUNT EXECUTIVE (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHJune 8, 2015
Great work / life banlance and a great opportunity to make money. Great employees to work with. Supervisors actually care about what you think.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
School Nurse (Current Employee) –  Staten Island NYMay 14, 2015
I truly enjoy working for this company. I wake up everyday happy to go into work. I work independently and the staff is always available and friendly. I highly recommend this company.
Pros
Flexibility
Cons
Payments easily can run late
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
flexible
Substitute School Nurse (Current Employee) –  New YorkApril 29, 2015
I find them easy to work with and quick to get me answers to any questions I may have. A pleasure to work for.

I have done school nursing in a school, as well as 1:1 and have found their descriptions of the assignments to be accurate.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and varied nursing positions. Office well kept and staff respectful.
Registered Nurse (RN) (Former Employee) –  Hicksville, NYApril 23, 2015
Working for Horizon Healthcare staffing has allowed me to experience nursing both on an individual as well as on a school level.

The staff provided much assistance and job opportunities. They were flexible when I needed a day off and tried to accommodate me in any way they could in finding positions close to home.

I love working with children, so that in itself is enjoyable to me. I got experience in many different areas including glucose monitoring, medication administration and suctioning. My last position as a school nurse provided with experience in collecting and organizing medical paperwork and files and making sure immunizations were up to date. I provided medical care to students who came to my office for an injury at gym or a scrape from falling. I informed parents as needed.

I learned that there are many types of personalities I interact with in my work environments, and I had to learn how to communicate in a respectful and assertive way in order to maintain the safety of my students as well as a healthy rapport with the staff and parents. This was probably one of the more challenging parts of my job. I had to maintain a balance between the school and the parents.

Overall, school nursing is an area I have and will continue to thrive in and make a difference. Teaching children and communicating with them can be a learning experience, not to mention, amusing at times!
Pros
Flexible hours and accommodating staff
Cons
Sometimes far travel to a job
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a good company.
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Hicksville, NYJuly 22, 2014
I enjoy working with them, the staff is very professional and helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unsatisfactory staffing positions.
1:1 case (Current Employee) –  Hicksville, NYMarch 11, 2014
No benefits, long distance jobs, very expensive health insurance-12,700 per year.
Cons
health-care, long job distances.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
managed well and friendly workers
Nurse (Current Employee) –  Queens, and brooklynJune 12, 2013
agency for school nurses. managed well and flexible schedule. Good supervision and training.
Pros
flexible schedule
Cons
no job security or benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love working with them
CNA (Current Employee) –  Marlboro, NJSeptember 5, 2012
I love what I'm doing with all my heart, I've learned to treat everybody the same way, my co workers are enjoying taking care of all patients.
Pros
have my lunch
Cons
enjoy
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Agency
LPN (Current Employee) –  Marlboro, NJAugust 18, 2012
I love Horizon, one of the best agencies. Good pay, nice pleasant staff. Very professional, and treat employees well.
Pros
compensation
Cons
inconsistent work
Was this review helpful?Yes 29No 9Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Horizon Healthcare Staffing. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 20 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.6
Culture
3.9

Horizon Healthcare Staffing Reviews by Location