Horizons for Homeless Children Employee Reviews

Showing all 11 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mission doesnt seem to be reflective of interpersonal interactions
Family Advocate (Former Employee) –  Boston, MADecember 19, 2016
Not very diverse at the top. Lots of gossip and mistrust. Management doesn't treat people fairly/shows favoritism. Can say that everyone seems to want to help kids and families, but not really organized well to do it.
Pros
Enthusiastic coworkers
Cons
Inconsistent practices, lack of stability, lack of knowledge
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer
Volunteer - Playspace Activities Leader (PAL) (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAApril 1, 2016
Outstanding organization helping homeless women and children in Boston. Assists adults in transitioning from homeless to independence.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work hard and stay professional
Family Advocate/ Social Worker (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAJuly 15, 2015
Great professional environment along with kind people. That's pretty much all i have ti say about this organization.











the end.
Pros
nothing but good things to say i have worked with amzing people and families here.
Cons
None that i can think off immediately.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great with children and assiting the homeless families
Teachers assistant (Volunteer) (Former Employee) –  Jamaica Plain, MADecember 12, 2014
I enjoyed working with everyone there because they loved teaching the children different "real life" things. The children loved their teachers, and I loved the fact that they always found some way to assist the families of the day care.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Mission Driven with caring and quity teaching staff.
Early Childhood Center Director (Current Employee) –  Jamaica Plain, MAJune 27, 2014
I love the mission of Horizons. I find the work very satisfying and the children, families and staff are amazing. I believe that Horizons is making a difference in the lives of homeless families and am proud to be part of this effort.
Pros
People
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always fun, always amazing
Playspace Activity Leader (Current Employee) –  Worcester, MAMay 8, 2014
Wonderful. The most enjoyable part of my day is learning through small mistakes how to calm a child down and make them smile. After an awful work week, little smiling children that appreciate the time you're giving them is everything.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love, care and share
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Malden, MAJanuary 21, 2014
The best place I have ever worked. This place provides support for homeless children for education and shelter. You get a kind of pleasure when you help those children.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to learn and grow in the Human Service Field.
Human Service Intern (Former Employee) –  Worcester, MANovember 26, 2013
I loved my time at Horizons as an intern. I learned so much and loved everyone I worked with.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding job. Active Childcare. Great Professional Development.
Preschool Teacher (Current Employee) –  Boston, MASeptember 21, 2013
The most enjoyable part are the students.
My Co teachers make a great team
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pal
PAL - Playspace Activity Leader (Current Employee) –  Worcester, MAAugust 6, 2013
This is a volunteering job that has taught me a lot.
The management is amazing as well as the other PALs. The hardest part of my job is not being able to spend more time with the kids I work with. The most enjoyable part I would say is when I come and they remember me and say hello to me with such innocent faces.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Horizons for Homeless Children. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 11 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.5
Compensation/Benefits
4.4
Job Security/Advancement
4.1
Management
4.1
Culture
4.1

Horizons for Homeless Children Reviews by Location