Hormel Employee Reviews

Showing all 11 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice work force
Offsite Inventory Control Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Benicia, CAMay 7, 2015
I must say the best thing about my time at hormel/cytosport were the people.

Thing change thou when hormel took over.
Low pay and no communication.
Pros
the poeple
Cons
low pay no movement
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
experience
Accounting Clerk (Former Employee) –  Austin, MNFebruary 3, 2015
The company had their own way of doing things. It is best to start right out of college. Previous experience is tough to bring in.
Pros
profit sharing, pay was competive with salaries for twin cities, good benwfits
Cons
if you complete additional education while working there as non exempt, difficult to move to exempt position
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Safety Program Intern (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CADecember 15, 2014
great co workers and boss

fun place to work

great experience

learn a lot about the business
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small town has big influence
Marketer (Former Employee) –  Austin, MNOctober 18, 2014
Great people, very conservative culture. Tough to be an outsider, lots of turf to be protected. Start in sales work your way through the organization, starting in the middle fosters potential for resistance to new outside ideas. If you like top down leadership this company will be good for you
Pros
safe
Cons
small town, limited social life
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They werer a good company to work for.
Merchandising Associate (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCSeptember 9, 2014
Typical day as a merchandiser is never typical ! There are all kinds of problems that can occur, from products not arriving on time,
or a change in where you are suppose to be.
I had made myself a set plan, once a month I covered all my stores.
However, that was always subject to change. Re-sets, new store
opening.
, Grocery stores, did a lot of night re-sets. So if I had
planned to be in TN that week, well, I'd tried to get there the following week.. Sometimes I could make it next week --- or
it would have to go back to my original schedule.
I worked with some really good supervisors. They usually travelled
with me once a month or every six weeks. They were encouraging
and challenging . They had knowledge of different situations and how
I could improve certain aspects of my job.
Challenging, we sometimes had contests, free standing displays,
or new product shelving.
I'm happy to say, I won several contests.
The hardest part was traveling so much.
I guess liked being my own boss. I was responsible to the company
to get certain things done. But, I could set my own hours and days.
Pros
being my own boss
Cons
alot of traveling
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Decatur, GASeptember 9, 2014
Fast pace .Good machine operator.Good management.Great compensation.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a job
Maintenance Engineer (Current Employee) –  Barron, WIAugust 16, 2014
Decent place to work, could use production employee improvement such as care. Otherwise plenty of oppurtunity to move.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning experiences
Service Driver (Current Employee) –  Austin, MNDecember 23, 2013
Very repetition, not much change in a packing house. Very early start 430am. Has a slow season and a busy season wish it was more even. They bring in alot of young supervision with not alot of experience in this line of work, not a positive thought for employees that have been there for awhile to have someone that doesnt know what there doing telling you how to do your job. Time management would be the most difficult, getting your jobs done in a timely manor, theres always something breaking or we dont have all the stuff to get the job done. I like the pay just wish there was more of it, benefits are good and for the most part they treat you good there. I need more money for my family and am willing to work more hours to do so.
Pros
profit sharing check. pay lunches sometimes. not real hard to get time off when needed.
Cons
slow an busy season. i need more busy then slow.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a good place to work.
Forklift Operator (Current Employee) –  Knoxville, IADecember 27, 2012
I move boxes of meat from my co-workers. I do back flushing. I weigh boxes,print labels and put away boxes.
Pros
good smell.
Cons
cold.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hormel
Sanitation Manager (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKMay 16, 2012
Hormel is a company that takes time to actually develop employees. It is the type of company that you can go to work after college and retire from when you are 70. Several generations of my family have worked there, we all have Spam in our blood
Pros
great company that develops talent
Cons
i was unable to transfer when the plant closed.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No14

Want to know more about Hormel?

Ask a question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 11 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture