Hospice Compassus

66 reviews

Hospice Compassus Employee Reviews

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learn a lot of job skills
Internship (Current Employee), Columbia, TennesseeJuly 13, 2015
Pros: You are not always in the office, and a lot of client engagement.
Cons: Sometimes long hours.
A typical day at work would be first you check emails to see if any clients need immediate services, or if there are any new clients that have to be assessed. You would then prioritize your clients on – more... the basis of need. Then you go on home visits and check to see if the families or the patients have any needs that we can help with. After see or talking to clients there is documentation that has to be filled out and filed. When a client would have certain needs you would have to find resources for that need. When you have new patients you fill out an assessment with the client and their families. In this job you have to have people skills, which I learned well from my supervisor. In this internship I learned a lot about people and different cultures. I learned how to get resources for clients, I learned that just listening to people when their loved one is dying helps so very much. My co-workers were very helpful in teaching me job skills. The hardest part of the job was the paperwork. What I enjoyed most about this job was the interaction with the clients and their families. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company will eat their young for a referral!
RN (Former Employee), Baton Rouge, LAJuly 8, 2015
Upper management cares about one thing: MONEY!! They keep toxic and poor employees if they are generating referrals and run off good people who really care. They chase their bottom line like its the only thing that matters. Slimy upper managers who think they are better than they actually are and promote a two faced environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed my job
Team Coordinator (Former Employee), Yuma, ArizonaJune 15, 2015
Pros: Flexable work schedule
Cons: inconsistant
Answer phones, data entry, Manage colleagues time sheets, mileage, Medical records filing, Interdisciplinary team coordination of weekly meeting with Medical Director. Request signatures of Primary Physicians for Medicare billing
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's all about the $$$ and not about the pts
RN Case Manager (Former Employee), Prescott Valley, AZJune 2, 2015
Pros: My patients, free Omaha steaks
Cons: Management, Productivity model, new admits more important than current pts
I live in a small town and thought the way this company treated their employees was due to lack of other options but after reading the reviews I find that my experience with this company is not unique. – more... First I want to say that I have been a Hospice RN for 8 years; I love my role. My patients are my utmost concern and I will forever be their advocate. Most of my co-workers followed the same work ethic and was a great group to work with. Management not so much. I parted ways with this company because their "productivity model" is absurd and impossible. It is either put in place to set you up for failure or have you work for free; I'm thinking the latter. I had a 20 pt workload that I was expected to complete in 36hr. My necessary drive time (which was 40-50 min each way) and my necessary paperwork time was considered "nonproductive" time and not included in those 36hr. And then throw an admission in there forget it. Because we have never received the computers promised everything is done on paper and takes twice as long. If you want to work long hrs, no family life, and only recognized when you make the company unhappy then this is the company for you!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dedicated staff, terrible management!
Chaplain (Former Employee), Bedford, NHMay 6, 2015
Pros: wonderful staff, patients and families
Cons: salary, lack of benefits, unscrupulous and unethical management team.
This was my job! I loved the patients and the team and learned a lot about being a hospice chaplain here. The down side was that this particular office changed ownership 3x in less than 2 years. Each – more... time, the job description and hours were adjusted. We went from a full time chaplain having 30 patients per week, to a full time chaplain having 85 patients and climbing. Each time the change went into effect, benefits were cut as well as time. The result was that the chaplain spends only 20-25% of the time caring for patients, and the rest administrative work. That made it time to leave the job. Beware! This company does not follow NH labor laws. You will be made promises which are not kept. I would stay away...it is a shame though. The staff is the best I've ever worked with. They are knowledgeable, caring and dedicated. Unfortunately, they are also worked to death and given no credit for their efforts. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved this job.
RN (Former Employee), Peoria, ILApril 19, 2015
Pros: Excellent job
Cons: Not enough staff.
The work was very rewarding. We just didn't have enough staff to continue working there. I was working sometimes 40 plus hours without a break and I could not continue to do that.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tiight Knit Team of Compassionate People
Hospice Care Consultant (Former Employee), Houston, TXApril 16, 2015
The most enjoyable part of the job is changing patients families lives by providing the best services. I also loved meeting with families and having the difficult conversations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caring ethical working envioment
RN Case Manager (Former Employee), Bullhead City, AZApril 5, 2015
Pros: Supportive
Cons: Very depanding time and mental emotional involment.
I very much enjoy the home hospice work environment. They are a great team. The working with the hospice patient and family is very rewarding. Down side is all I seem to do is work. No family time for myself.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Business Office Coordinator (Former Employee), Farmington Hills MichiganMarch 24, 2015
It was a very educational experience and I enjoyed most of my time there. In the begining I really enjoyed my position with this company but there at the end there was a large change in management and I was not pleased with the direction my position was going. The best part of my position there was the chance to make a difference in the day to day life of our employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company
RN Case Manager (Current Employee), Lafayette, LAMarch 5, 2015
Pros: flexible
Cons: on call
A great company to work for.
Very flexible.
Open learning environment.
Strong staff.
Great benefits.
Supportive management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very caring place to work
Case Manager Nurse (Former Employee), Grove, PADecember 27, 2014
Pros: caring
This was a great job & I only left to be able to work from home for a previous employer. The management was caring & always acknowledged hard work. They sought creative solutions to problems. I would highly recommend this office!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a mess
hospice consultant (Former Employee), dallasDecember 23, 2014
Pros: hours
Cons: everything else
Horrible management the hospice industry as a whole is a disgrace. This company only cares about the bottom line.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall good company
LPN/ Hospice Care Consultant (Former Employee), Monroe, LADecember 10, 2014
Pros: compensation/pto
Cons: micro-management of staff
Spent days in field attempting to grow business. Most co workers were very helpful and kind.Learned a tremendous amount about the benefits of hospice. Was let go abruptly with no warning. They were very – more... numbers driven with unattainable goals. Nurses were great and very compassionate but sometimes forced to work long hours.Chaplain and MSW very empathetic and able to connect with patients and families. Not a bad place to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Organization
Internship (Former Employee), Dallas, TXNovember 5, 2014
Amazing organization to work for. Employees are team-driven and the company is very family oriented.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great nurses, poor management
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Somewhere, USANovember 1, 2014
Pros: great rn case managers, patients
Cons: bad management, inconsistent pay
Worked as an on-call RN case manager. Was often sent out to deliver cookies and potato chips miles away from dying patients and then criticized for not being available for real emergencies. Also, was sent – more... out to do "emergency" admissions in blizzards and continually harassed by my manager when I objected to putting my life in danger. Would consistently arrive to do emergency admissions only to find patients who did not meet admission criteria. Struggled to receive all of my earned pay at the scheduled time, as well. The best parts about this job were the RN case managers ( not the DCS's), the patients, and leaving. Wouldn't recommend that anyone work for this company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is an excellent company.to work with.
Case Manager Nurse (Former Employee), Farmington Hills, MIOctober 16, 2014
Pros: salary, great team of people to work with
Cons: on call in many counties, constant change in management.
Long days
on call
Helping patients and families with dying love one.
Great team of compassionate people
The most rewarding part about this job was helping the families make it through a rough time in their life.
hardest part about this job was being on call in many counties with limited staffing on the weekend.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent company with great benefits
Hospice Care Consultant (Medical Sales Rep) (Former Employee), houston, txOctober 7, 2014
Company is solid, job security is not. Must know how to get on peoples "right side" to advance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good staff. Great place to work. good pay. Good work schedules
Registered Nurse/Nurse Practitioner (Current Employee), Houston, TXOctober 3, 2014
Cons: na
Good staff. Great place to work. good pay. Good work schedules
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible work environment
. (Former Employee), Farmington Hills, MISeptember 26, 2014
would not recommend. Management can not be trusted. Job duties change everyday without warning.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best co- workers around, terrible corporate and executive management
n/a (Former Employee), IllinoisSeptember 18, 2014
Pros: patients and great co-workers
Cons: healthcare, pay, no courtsey for a job well done, disrespectful management and unattainable goals
Enjoyed working with patients and very knowledgeable co workers from nurses, social workers, chaplain and clerical staff. But everyone having too large of caseloads in too many different counties unable – more... to effectively care for patients appropriately. Management no help due to their over work yet executive directors and other management can sit around and have lunches and dinners while the rest of us run around like chickens with our heads cut off... but we are told more numbers, more patients which always leads too less care – less
Claimed Profile
Headquarters
Creekside Crossing IV
12 Cadillac Drive, Suite 360
Brentwood, TN 37027
Industry
Links
Hospice Compassus website

Facebook