Find companies:
Hot Topic, Inc
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
31 reviews

Hot Topic, Inc Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun, fashion oriented environment
Assistant Manager, Torrid (Former Employee), Mercedes, TXSeptember 24, 2014
Pros: employeee discount
I enjoyed helping women find outfits that fit their body and style, that made them feel good about themselves. As a manager, I learned about staffing, interviewing, hiring, training, and operational procedures.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Product Development (Former Employee), Industry, CAAugust 27, 2014
Pros: work environment
Cons: long hours pay not comparable to scale of skill level
At time, work schedule consisted of a 10-12 hour work day. 9/80 work week. Learned how to take product from concept to saleable unit in store. Co-workers were brilliantly selected and their skills made for pleasant work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Place to work
Sr. IT PM - Merchandising & Internet Systems (Former Employee), Industry, CAJuly 15, 2014
Pros: cafeteria in building, concerts
Cons: advancement was limited
The funnest place that I ever worked at. The culture is different, but once you get used to it you love it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Casual work environment
Manager, Lease Administration (Current Employee), City of Industry, CAMay 4, 2014
Pros: casual work attire
Cons: understaffing, no room for advancement
Major selling point was 9/80 work schedule, which was taken away a few years ago. Still a very casual work environment. Most people do the work of two people, while raises are minimal and promotions depend on the political games played.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job if you don't have bills
store manager (Current Employee), orlando, flMarch 14, 2014
Pros: discount
Cons: ehh...
This company started out fun now it just sucks. On a normal tuesday for example you do shipment, meet sales goals, remerchandise the store, move stuff around, reviews sales, do paperwork and anything else that may be thrown at you. My point is little coverage and we work alone alot with goals we cant reach.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun when you can work
Sales Associate (Former Employee), DoverFebruary 10, 2014
Pros: store mgmt, discount
Cons: no hours, unrealistic store expectations
The store management is awesome but unless its Christmas don't expect to work more than 8 hours in 2 weeks. The pay is less than $8 and the discount is 40% so unless you have another job you wont be able to afford the clothes. If you really like Torrid clothes than its good for the discount. The manager can only schedule what the district mgr allows – more... so you could be the only one there besides the manager and overworked. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing management and great company culture
Accounts Payable Associate (Former Employee), Industry, CAJanuary 23, 2014
Pros: opportunity to learn new things, great company culture, open environment with amazing upper management
Cons: due to the economy a big lay off occured and a new ceo was appointed, this caused more needed lay offs and therefore created a loss of job security
I loved working at Hot Topic for almost 8 years. I learned a lot working under the management there and the company culture was great. I enjoyed going to work everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place, very postive
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Lancaster, PAJanuary 22, 2014
Very positive and energetic work place. Excellent customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slave Wages and Horrible Managment
Cashier/Stylist (Former Employee), Ridgewood Queens New YorkJanuary 11, 2014
Pros: 40% off merchandise
Cons: management scheduling location pay
If you have a child or go to school Do Not Apply for this Job. During the interview the manager Larissa will make you feel like she'll be understanding to your scheduling needs. To the contrary; she will schedule you for a 2 hour closing shift which is a waste of time. If you expect to make decent money here think again. You wont even see a check over – more... $130 and that's for 2 weeks of work. TORRID is only good to work at if you just like trying on clothes. Don't be fooled either the job is sale and performance based. The manger on shift will have you up-sell and steal your sale all in one fail swoop. DO NOT WORK FOR TORRID IN QUEENS !!!!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wasted youth
manager (Former Employee), floridaOctober 30, 2013
Pros: music and discount
Cons: unsafe work place. if ure a female expect to be alone at night
I served as management for this company for years and feel like I got nothing but heartache from it. I loved the staff and enjoyed the customers just HQ was not open to the differences from high volume to lower income stores. Plus pay wouldn't cover rent! If your promoted with in u get 4% raise every year. If hired from the outside for the same position – more... expect them to get $5+ an hour for the same position you have. Oh and they like to hire people who are "pleasing to the eye" so they know nothing of the merchandise that they carry nor the music that you sell. So if u are 16 and don't want to survive on your own this is the place for you! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
proactive learning envoriment with room to grow
Assistant Store Manger (Former Employee), Richmond, VAOctober 6, 2013
Dealing with employment issues such as interviewing, hiring, and training employees, conducting appraisals and performance reviews; managing the store’s stock levels making key decisions about level and control; ensuring quality standards for customer service, health, and safety issues; resolving safety, legal and security problems; updating district – more... and regional managers on business performance, new initiative and other issues; responding to customer complaints and comments; maintaining knowledge of market trends; developing store’s fashion style by recommending merchandise based on customer needs and desires; increasing our customer base; organizing various in-store promotions; motivating the store team to increase sales and ensure efficiency. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Company
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Nashua, NHAugust 14, 2013
Pros: freedom to dress casual, show tattoos, show piercings
This is such a great company to work for! You get to listen to music all day and meet some pretty awesome people who can even turn into life long friends.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, loud and full of excitement.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Westminster, CAAugust 10, 2013
Pros: employee discount, mall location.
Cons: sometimes you see very strange people in hot topic
Aside from listening to awesome loud music all day, Hot Topic is a fun filled place to work. Granted it does get slow and boring at times, but it picks up rather easily during the holidays. I would love to have stayed at Hot Topic but I left for a better paying job. Highly recommend this place for an entry level and first job. Just move fast, fold clothes – more... neatly and you wont have any problems. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Retailer in SoCal to Work For !
Sr. Director of Human Resources (Current Employee), Industry, CAJuly 17, 2013
Great culture, benefits and very people focused ! You will love working here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing vibe and place to work
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Jacksonville, NCJuly 16, 2013
Pros: music and culture
Cons: not very much room for advancement
I loved the time I had with this company. Could not ask for better employees and managment team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not enough hours and not enough pay.
sales associate (Former Employee), TXJuly 9, 2013
Pros: store discount. free to be yourself.
Cons: pay. hours. corporate.
When I worked there (recently) it was horrible the way the people in charge (above store manager) made them make the schedule. They made them hire as many people as possible and unless you were management the most hours you could get was 8 hours a week which was a combination of 2 days. You weren't allowed more than 4 hours except on special occasions – more... like tax free weekend. Then you were ran into the ground. You only get paid minimum wage no matter how much experience you have. (Even though it says on the website they pay more for experience) I had 2 years store manager experience in a similar store and 10 years of fashion retail all together. The store manager kept trying to get the district manager to let me be assistant. But, he ended up quitting because of all the B.S. and the only reason I stayed on as long as I did was because my store manager. So I quit shortly after he did. I loved all the people I worked with. But, I could have made more bumming for change downtown. I also felt that the corporate people of Hot Topic really have no idea what Hot Topic customers want by the merchandise we would get in. I also felt that they are trying to change what it stands for. And if they change that then it just becomes one in a billion clothing stores. Like everyone else. And there will be no reason to shop there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not as great as it's cracked up to be
store management (Current Employee), Denver, COJune 16, 2013
Pros: casual attire, no overtime
Cons: poor recognition, pay, bonus program
I've worked as a manager for HT for 5+ years and every year the expectations get higher and your resources get smaller. Your expected to complete visual changes, shipment, markdowns (by hand) Merchandising and get secret shopped with minimal man power- 2 people at best. All while trying to make your 5k day. They pay minimal when you move up in the company – more... but if you come from an outside company they'll fairly compensate. The buyers constantly make huge mistakes and they look to store employees to do their job, while they sit back and take credit for your ideas. Planograms are made in photoshop where they shrink everything to size, while you're in the store having to come up with the pog yourself because we cannot photoshop reality. Bonus program is weak, recognition is non existent and the only thing we had as managers (the meeting in LA) no longer happens. If you work at a low volume store, forget about taking any breaks (which are required by law) because you work alone most the time. The only positive is that as a manager I only work 40 hours, no overtime. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
25 Year Old Company that Operates Like a Start-Up
Member of Management Team (Current Employee), Industry, CAMay 30, 2013
Pros: casual dress, pet fridays, occasional alcoholic refreshment
Cons: no leadership, little advancement opportunity, little respect for work/life balance
Lack of both process and engaged senior leadership make this company very difficult for a strategic and progressive thinker.

On the surface, the casual environment and seemingly rebellious nature of the brand itself can be quite appealing, but in actuality the company is the victim of inefficient processes, archaic systems, and uninvolved senior leadership.

On – more... the positive side, the employees are great and everyone attempts to rally together to get things done, however it is very much a finger pointing, blame throwing environment should sales take a dip. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Store Manager (Former Employee), Horseheads, NYMay 1, 2013
Fun place to work. Good discounts on clothes. Great music to listen to all day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work but has changed a lot over the years.
Facilities/Maintenance Supervisor (Current Employee), TNMarch 20, 2013
Overall, this is a good company to work for. Few negatives to be mentioned.

About Hot Topic, Inc

Hot Topic, Inc., is a mall- and Web based specialty retailer operating the Hot Topic and Torrid concepts, as well as the e-space – Read more