Houlihan Lokey Employee Reviews

Found 25 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
promising opportunity for those looking
Associate, Corporate Finance (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 4, 2017
promising opportunity for those looking to break into banking. houlihan is a deal shop, so there is tons of work, some painful and some not. but all-in, this is one of the most powerful mid-market IB in the game.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice group of people and respectful environment
Senior Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 2, 2016
I take on different responsibilities depending on what department I am assisting. It's been a great learning process. I enjoy working for this company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun place to work, with nice people
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 7, 2016
The job was easy and clear everyday that i came to work. There was never a day i did not want to go to work. I really liked my supervisors because each one showed me the ropes and taught me as i was willing to learn.
Pros
Free Food
Cons
Cold office area
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Executive Administrator (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXApril 28, 2016
Great company to work at. The people there are very kind and helpful, team players. A very fast pace environment. There is definitely room for growth.
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Restructuring Deal Flow
Financial Analyst (Former Employee) –  United StatesMarch 1, 2016
Long hours and demanding work. Very cliquey culture, so you are either in or out. Hours are long, as you would expect in banking. Management tries to make itself accessible but will make you feel stupid if you ask a simple question. Best part of the job is the experience, the compensation, and the exit opportunities. The worst part about the job is having to work till late at night and have co-workers distract you with different taunts and names.
Pros
Great place to start a career, compensation, very smart people
Cons
Hours, Ego
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Fun workplace
Analyst - Financial Advisory Services (Current Employee) –  Century City, CAJanuary 24, 2016
Great place to work and to learn. Very understanding individuals and some of the most intelligent people you can find in finance.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great investment bank to work for.
Investment Banking Analyst (Current Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 8, 2015
Very collaborative feel to the bank. Small, boutique bank feel with the resources and support of a large, global financial institution. Live deal experience at a junior level and lots of client interaction as well. Good pay structure and benefits. Work/life balance is always a compromise in the industry but, depending on your group at HL, the company does a nice job of allowing you to have your life outside of the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work
Financial Advisory Services - Financial Analyst (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJuly 20, 2015
Lots of hours required, middle market clients that may not offer the best exit opportunities, 10 days of paid time off which makes taking vacations throughout the year tricky
Was this review helpful?Yes10No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Middle market investment bank
Director, Mergers & Acquisitions (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMay 20, 2015
Houlihan Lokey is a middle market investment bank, focused largely on restructuring and private company sell side transactions. The firm enjoys a great reputation in delivering these services.
Was this review helpful?YesNo5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok firm
Investment Banking Associate (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMay 19, 2015
okay firm to work for. good people and rich experience. i like the office in new york city. the la office is nice too. growing firm. long hours and a lot of work.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
FACILITIES SUPERVISOR (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMay 12, 2015
Typical day: Non stop running. Dealing with complaints and issues.
What I learned: Not to take things personally
Management: NA
Co-workers: for the most part, my co-workers are amazing. Like most places, you have the good and the bad.
Hardest part of the job: Not taking this stuff home.
The most enjoyable part of the job: I've made a couple of friendships that will follow me when I leave.
Pros
Tons of meetings, tons of free food
Cons
Pay, management
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
"interesting" place to work
Managing Director - Financial Advisory Services (Current Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 5, 2014
There are some very talented people at this firm. Unfortunately, it appears to be fun as three separate businesses rather than a cohesive unit.
Pros
Excellent market reputation
Cons
Poorly managed. Little cohesiveness between departments and overall firm strategy.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
MBA Summer Associate, Valuation (Former Employee) –  Century City, CASeptember 28, 2014
Great place to gain experience. Not a team oriented environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate Environment
Registration Administrator (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CASeptember 9, 2014
Good place to work. They want me to post why I have been working for this company. Not sure why you would want me to post that when clearly I am posting a resume to look at potential new positions.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company except for the Accounting department
Accounts Payable Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Century City, CAJuly 14, 2014
I was not told that the turnover rate for the AP coordinator position was about 6 months.
Pros
Great pay, benefits, giveaways, events, free lunches and snacks
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK place to work
Manager (Current Employee) –  Los AngelesApril 2, 2014
Most days are OK. Work/Life balance is decent. Management is horrible. They only think of themselves and how much money they can put in their own pockets. They don't promote hard working employees but rather the lazy ones seem to get ahead. There are some really smart people here but most don't know how to mentor the junior employees.
Pros
Work/Life balance
Cons
Compensation doesn't keep up with COL; management only cares about themselves
Was this review helpful?Yes7No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a sweat shop
Vice President/Partner, Investment Banking (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 6, 2014
Very busy place. Little personal time. Completely no work-life balance. Pay is so so, particuluarly considering the hours that have been put in.
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment
Investment Banking Intern (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMarch 5, 2014
Great Environment. Hard but satisfying work and great people
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tremendous opportunity to see M&A from the inside
M&A Intern  (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 26, 2013
An extremely fast growing company with excellent personal made for a great summer of learning about M&A.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun workplace with great talent.
Associate (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAMarch 14, 2013
Overall a great place to learn and build relationships.
No work life balance and you're required to be on call 24/7.
Compensated well for efforts.
Pros
great culture
Cons
extremely stressful, no down time, work 7 days a week.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Houlihan Lokey. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 26 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5