Find companies:
Houston Community College
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
129 reviews

Houston Community College United States Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun working with students
Math and Science tutor, level 3 (Current Employee), Houston, TXMay 8, 2014
Pros: teach and review by the same time
Cons: some students are......
teach students and learn from them as well
the hardest part... teach students who don't want to study
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great college
Program Manage Computer Science Dept (Former Employee), Houston, TXApril 26, 2014
Cons: not much advancement and pay is ok
I was with HCCS for 10 yrs. loved most of the people i worked with. Loved the students. There are some cliques and politics can be shady.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work- study program
Counseling Assistant (Former Employee), Houston, TXApril 25, 2014
Pros: great position
Cons: it was a work- study position
I assisted the counselors with student enrollment, and administrative tasks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family atmosphere
Manager North Forest Business Incubator& Weekend (Former Employee), Houston, TXApril 8, 2014
Pros: excellent benefits
Cons: some decisions are politically motivated.
Fantastic place to work. Staff and students are respectful to each other. every day exciting with new challenges. Very positive work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Pace work environment
Division Secretary (Current Employee), Houston, TXMarch 22, 2014
I spend much of my day dealing with student problems
There is not enough money to hire more secretaries in order to pick up the slack
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Expierence
Student Information Services (Current Employee), Houston, TXFebruary 21, 2014
Loved the things I learned while at this job. The information and software helped my resume. I enjoy helping people, this job was geared in the area.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great students - Extensive and Varied Job Responsibilities
English (ESL) Instructor (Current Employee), Houston, TXFebruary 5, 2014
Pros: great students; opportunities to attend conferences
Cons: lack of opportunity for advancement
Many additional job responsibilities in addition to teaching, such as curriculum committees, curriculum development, mentoring, supervision of adjuncts, scheduling, etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Corporate Trainer-Development (Adjunct) (Current Employee), Houston, TXJanuary 23, 2014
Good benefits,
flexible hours
Great coworkers
Good pay
Most enjoyable part of job is the flexible hours
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Enviorment
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Houston, TXJanuary 6, 2014
Great work environment
interacted with many different people
Co-workers were very professional
I Loved the challenge of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
SAP Lead Instructor Houston Community College (Current Employee), Houston, TXDecember 29, 2013
Productive and very good job culture. Work and life are balance and very important job security.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Office Assistant (Current Employee), Houston, TXDecember 26, 2013
Get to help students and help teachers. Work with computers and filing. Very flexible with hours and attire.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HCC
Office assistant/CSR (Former Employee), Houston, TXDecember 17, 2013
Very fun job to work at. Strong background work environment was safe and well kept. Students are increditable and well mannered. Worked hard to get where I wanted and is a easy move up once in
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working in education environment make my feeling fresh.
Computer Lab Assistant (Work-Study) (Current Employee), Houston, TXDecember 17, 2013
Due to working in education area I must to improve my skills everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Keep student's record up to date
Customer Service (Former Employee), Houston, TXDecember 1, 2013
Maintain student's record with up to date information. Unable registration process for students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SAP FICO and ABAP Programmer
Programmer in SAP ABAP and FICO (Current Employee), Houston, TXNovember 18, 2013
I assist in teaching FICO and ABAP. I create tables in SAP ABAP for the financial information.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a fun work place
Library Assistant (Former Employee), Houston, TXNovember 12, 2013
Pros: free parking
Working with students and helping them with research papers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive enviroment to work at. Enjoy helping others out!
Library Assistant (Current Employee), Houston, TXNovember 11, 2013
Pros: relaxed enviroment
Cons: short lunches, short hours
Typical day at work consist of helping students, public and staff with all aspects of the library. Utilize the software and materials need to have a easy flowing day. Customer service is always a must around here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workable Place
Student Record Specialist (Current Employee), Houston, TXOctober 24, 2013
Workable Place,flexible and good environmental. There is no hardest job with the proper skills and trainning. Management has an open door availability.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A wonderful learning institution
Finance Intern (Former Employee), Houston, TXOctober 21, 2013
Houston Community College provided me with the solid foundation I needed to advance in my academic and professional career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive and motivating atmosphere to become a educator
Cosmetology Student Instructor (student) (Former Employee), Houston, TXOctober 2, 2013
Pros: building strong relationships with fellow classmates.
Cons: na
As a student at Houston Community College the cosmetology program prepared me for the reality of working with adult learners which was a great advantage. I am knowledgeable of the importance of helping my students achieve success with preparation, time management,team work and patience.I enjoyed creating activities to maintain the interest of adult learners and working to present high performance work. Also I have excellent ability to work within the team with my loyal team-player attitude.

About Houston Community College

The Houston Community College System (HCC) has an open admission policy and offers associate degrees, ongoing education, workforce – Read more

Houston Community College Salaries

Financial Aid Officer
$9.50 per hour
Office Assistant
$9.00 per hour
Secretary
$33,000 per year
Financial Aid Officer
$16,500 per year
Library Assistant
$9.50 per hour