Find companies:
Houston Methodist
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
347 reviews

Houston Methodist Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Most Enjoyable Part Of the Job
Corporate Community Recruiter (Current Employee), Houston, TXJuly 9, 2014
Any positive working relationship is based on trust. An environment of trust assumes that both parties will be safe, and it carries with it an implicit message that you have each other's best interests in mind. I love making that match between the candidate and the manager and working to build the relationships with the managers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management duties.
Registered Nurse/Nursing Supervisor (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 6, 2014
Able to help nurses with bedside nursing in a difficult situation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am highly skilled very detailed worker who takes pride in my work, and I strive to be the best at everything I do.
Environmental Maintenance Service Technician (Current Employee), Gary, INJuly 2, 2014
Pros: freedome to do what needs to be done to complete the assignment.
Cons: poor quality equipment
On a typical day I go meet with my manager for my assignment, after receiving the assignment I go gather all the equipment I will need for the entire job. If I am working by myself I ask my co-workers I see if my co-workers need any help before I get locked into my work. Since my job is mostly to strip and wax floors the hardest part is the prep that – more... goes into preventing my current work from running off on the previous work I've done, After stripping the floor down for a hour or more I rinse the floor with clean water and after it dries I start laying the wax. The most enjoyable part of my job is looking at the finished product after days of working on a specific cooridore. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
feel important
Housekeeper (Former Employee), Gary, INJune 28, 2014
Pros: feeling important
Cons: not working there now
a lot of people ask for me by name so i felt important
Seeing people heal and not sick any more warm my heart
There was a lot of nice nurses
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Emergency Nursing
Registered Nurse/Charge Nurse (Former Employee), Gary, INJune 24, 2014
Pros: teamwork
Cons: long hours, short staffing
Gary Methodist is a unique place to work. We care for on average 120 patients a day. We are used to high levels of trauma, low socioeconomic status, and have the chance to educate the community to serious health concerns. I learn something new everyday. No patient is ever the same, despite the fact that they may be known as 'frequent fliers'. The most – more... enjoyable part of my job is saving that life. It can be very difficult to be an emergency room nurse, but it has many different rewards. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As this was the hospital at which I trained, it felt like "home".
Staff RN (Former Employee), Omaha, NEJune 17, 2014
Very familiar with hospital, personnel, physicians, and processes, as this was the hospital in which I trained. I felt like I left my house and drove to do my shift "at home".
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful experience my first job s a nurse and the one I did my clinical at for school.
Staff Nurse (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAJune 14, 2014
Pros: my experience working there
Cons: parking
I cant say a bad thing about this facility, It will always be one of my best memories. Staff was kind and encouragement. Not a bad the to say.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to gain work experience
Registered Nurse CM/UM Specialist (Former Employee), Houston, TXJune 13, 2014
Pros: flexible work schedule
Love this job, but moved and was over an hour each way. Enjoyed the staff, the teamwork and the opportunity to advance in role.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place
Engineer (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAJune 12, 2014
I worked as part of a great team at Methodist. I found many challenges and never a dull moment here. I learned to maintain ,troubleshoot and repair building HVAC systems.,boilers.etc
This position was a temporary position that I took when laid off from west hills
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience
Registered Nurse-Main Operating Room (Former Employee), Omaha, NEJune 12, 2014
Great place to gain knowledge and experience in your profession.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a new director was just coming in. Loved the new pharmacy, very skill and knowledgible staff
Inpatient clinical pharmacist (Former Employee), Dallas, TXJune 12, 2014
Pros: newpharmacy, good docs, a lot of great pharmacist
Cons: short in staffing
there was a wide range of responsibilities and duties. Learned a lot.
Upper management view of pharmacy at that time, necessary evil, which in turn lead to staff leaving.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Coordinator (Current Employee), Houston, TXJune 12, 2014
Great place to work no weekend and no holidays, friendly co-works
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Nice Learning environment
Physical Therapist Observer (Former Employee), Houston, TXJune 12, 2014
The best professionals are here. Methodist worries with quality of its patients treatment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Courier (Former Employee), Houston, TXJune 11, 2014
A typical day is delivering medications to doctors or nurses. I learned about medications and what they're for. Management was racist and unfair. My co-workers were very unfriendly and messy. The hardest part of the job was the people i had to work with. The most enjoyable was the pay, we got bonuses almost every two months.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Methodist Hospital was a friendly and caring hospital that I was fortunate enough to work for.
Admitting Manager (Former Employee), Arcadia, CAJune 9, 2014
I enjoyed each position in my 16 year career at this facility.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great co-workers
Food service Manager (Current Employee), San Antonio, TXJune 8, 2014
great teamwork
speed
good managment
strong co-workers
long hours
requested days off
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced, learning environment
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Merrillville, INJune 6, 2014
Pros: new learning environment, experieinced staff members, close to home
Cons: working 3 different shifts
This was my first job out of nursing school and the experience was challenging. There was so much to learn that was not addressed in school, however, my mentor was great!

I primarily worked with neurological deficit patients, many of whom had recent craniotomies and/or other surgeries and with cardiac related issues.

A typical work day included assessing – more... the patients, passing medications, charting, rounding with doctors and learning whatever my mentor had in mind for that day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MRI Technologist/Hospital setting
MRI technologist (Former Employee), RadiologyJune 5, 2014
Pros: variety
Cons: evening shift
Screen and scan MRI patients, IV skills, ER patients, sedation patients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assistant Purchasing
Junior Purchasing Buyer Assistant (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INJune 1, 2014
Worked with Med Surg, Dietary, and Small Capital Equipment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Genuinely care about thier employees
Unit Charge Specialist (Current Employee), Houston, TXMay 29, 2014
Great place to work! They go above and beyond for their patients and staff

1 2 3 4 5

About Houston Methodist

During your first day at Houston Methodist, you'll discover what makes us unique: a passion and spirit that serve our patients – Read more