Howard County General Hospital Employee Reviews

Showing all 68 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Work
Dietary Assistant (Current Employee) –  Columbia, MDDecember 24, 2015
A typical day at work for me is to come to work everyday on time and do what I am suppose to do and leave unless I am working overtime which I do a lot!

You can learn a lot working at a hospital or just working anywhere! I've learned how to deal with people emotions the most because being in a hospital is not really a good thing...So at times you have people that come in who is visiting a family member, or may be a patient there and a lot of them are not in happy moods and they tend to take it out on everyone, so that's something I have learned to deal with.

Management are GREAT!

My co-workers feel like family! We all work very well together and always get along to get the job done!

I don't think anything at my job is hard for me at all!

The most enjoyable part of my job is being able to help one another everyday, whether its a patient or one of my co-workers etc...
Pros
Free Lunch, Benefits, Overtime
Cons
Need to open more positions, short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if you're looking for late night shifts
Patient Clerical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MDOctober 2, 2015
Attractive benefit packages and nice corporate environment.
But because it is such a big organization, it takes many steps to get something done and management is going through some kind of change as of summer of 2015. Meaning a lot communication issues were being raised and stability was questionable.
Pros
security, established system
Cons
communication (too many people involved in any projects)
Was this review helpful?Yes11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff
Emergency Room Nurse (Current Employee) –  Columbia, MDSeptember 8, 2016
Strong, cohesion department. Gained critical care and triage experience in a very busy setting. Co-workers are excellent and we all step up to help one another. Department and hospital are undergoing many management changes and turnover is extremely high. Morale has suffered over the past few months and the community has outgrown the size of the hospital.
Pros
Tuition reimbursement
Cons
no breaks at times
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management team when I was there was fabulous. very colaborative.
Nurse Manager (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MDJuly 15, 2016
I joined the when the units were in flux, hospital was expanding and it was exciting to be included in the process. I was supported by upper management to build my staff and educate them.. I still miss them.
Pros
committed employees and management of all levels. Facilitated learning and advancement
Cons
physical plant
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people, poor working environment, management issues
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Nursing AdministrationMarch 14, 2016
A typical day would include answering busy phones, attend meetings, take and transcribe minutes, manage my supervisor's calendar, always making sure she is not double booked and on time to meetings. Staffing for the hospital is part of my position if the regular staffing person is not there. This gives you an overview of how each unit operates.

I am responsible for Nursing Policies and Procedures, uploading them to the Hospital Portal so that Clinical people can relay to them as necessary.

Very busy office with a variety of tasks.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This hospital is a part of Johns Hopkins Hospital and is a good place to work.
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MDAugust 8, 2016
The hospital environment is positive for staff to learn. The culture is always trying to improve throughput of patients. There is a learning curve with change and change can be difficult. This results in growing pains.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always changing with lots of turn over
Outpatient Service Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Columbia, MDJune 6, 2016
More people are needed to do the job. We are always short staffed. It could be a great place to work if they cared more about employees. The hardest part of the job is the employee moral. I love my job though because I get to help take care of people.
Pros
Perscription discount
Cons
Overloaded
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and nice place to work
HIM Indexer (Current Employee) –  Columbia, MDDecember 27, 2015
Everyday is never a dull moment. I enjoy working with my coworkers as we continue to learn the EMR system. The hardest part of my job is not be able to utilize all of my skills. The most enjoyable part of my job is helping the Doctors, patients, coworkers and ancillary departments in any way I can.

Management(Director) is the worst. She is unfair and shows favoritism- and it's obvious. If she has it out for you she does not hide it until she gets before HR and she will make them think you are worst employee. Anyway she can capitalize on errors or mistakes she does.
Pros
free parking and nice people to work with
Cons
Working in a closed area-no windows
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. Just looking for a change.
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Columbia, MDJune 7, 2016
Nice People and Management; great benefits; just looking for a new challenge.

I have worked here for 11 years so it hasn't been a bad place to work.
Pros
Great Benefits; nice people
Cons
evaluations and raises are not consistent
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An excellent place to work
Patient Care Technician (Current Employee) –  Columbia, MDAugust 19, 2016
A wonderful place to work, great hospital, great team work, I enjoy every single moment working there, very encouraging managers
Pros
excellent care
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Patient Access/ Financial Clearance Specialist (Current Employee) –  Columbia, MDJuly 18, 2016
Salary and advancement is great, management could be improved bur overall Amalgamated is a great place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
OB Technician / Anesthesia Tech (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MDJune 20, 2016
Very clean, free parking. Security on site.

Have not work there over 15yrs. Co- workers were very caring.
Manager were always present.
Pros
free parking
Cons
N/A
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NUrsing Technician 2
Nursing Technician II/Lead technician (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MDMay 24, 2016
*Making work assignments for the Technicians
*How to be a team player
*Was helpful and supportive
*Corporative
*Retiring
*Bathing patients
Pros
Free parking
Cons
Shortbreaks
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work, a very professional workplace.
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Columbia, MDMarch 20, 2016
Johns Hopkins Medicine at its best! I enjoy being part of this team.
The culture is one of professionalism and caring put together. The community is happy to have HCGH as its community hospital.
Pros
competitive pay
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Columbia, MDJune 16, 2016
HCGH is a great place to work. Great teamwork and management. It's great to work with such a diverse group of people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellend
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MDApril 22, 2016
I loved working for the Hospital. I was extremely good at my jobs and was a go-to person in many different departments. I was flexible with them and the were flexible with me. I only left because of compensation.
Pros
Flexibility
Cons
compensation.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work and learn
Cinical Nurse IV (Current Employee) –  Columbia, MDApril 23, 2015
the best part is my colleagues/peers. They are very supportive and friendly.
A great place to learn and explore professional strengths.
Management expect the impossible from staff.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
short staffed all desciplines
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
😞 hmmmm
medical records (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MDDecember 8, 2015
I worked in the HIM department and favoritism is at an all time high! It is so obvious that what is done for a few isn't for others. It's sad because we all need jobs but when you notice this it makes you want to quit! Director is shady and claims to have an open door policy. But this isn't true at all. I enjoyed working with my coworkers, for the most part we were a team.
Pros
Office setting
Cons
Management needs to be more transparent and equal!
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Full time days as an adult acute care RN in a hospital
Medical/ Surgical Nurse (Current Employee) –  Columbia, MDOctober 8, 2014
I work as a staff and charge nurse for a 30 bed M/S acute care unit. I perform pre and post operative care as well as the daily treatments for a wide variety of diseases. I oversee the tasks of patient care technicians and assist in training newly hired nurses.
Pros
full time day work of 36 hours per week
Cons
manditory holidays and mediocre salary increases
Was this review helpful?Yes9No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HCGH is a good place to work. I would just like to move on to be closer to home.
PCA - Intensive Care Unit (Current Employee) –  Job Location is in the Intensive Care Unit.April 3, 2012
Howard County General Hospital is a pleasant place to work. Everyone is friendly and work as a team.
Pros
community hospital where everyone is family
Cons
limited raises (last raise: 15 cents per hr.), that is not compensating for the rise in gas, etc.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 68 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.5
Culture
3.7

Howard County General Hospital Reviews by Location