Howard County Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disappointed in management
Camp director (Former Employee) –  Lake centennialFebruary 5, 2018
Was a pretty decently enjoyable summer loved who I worked with in camps, but I wanted to grow in my knowledge in Parks and recreation, and to be helped and grown as a recreation professional, was ready to learn, but boss just made me feel belittled by the end of the summer. I definitely made my mistakes nothing major, but was never helped to grow beyond those mistakes. Very passive aggressive management style, constantly gossiping
Pros
Working camps are fun
Cons
Long hours 7am-6pm Days, management style not helpful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Support Staff
Sales and Marketing Representative (Current Employee) –  Woodbine, MDSeptember 4, 2017
Wonderful company. Full training and guidance. Typical day is speaking with business owners
Hardest part about the job is the uncertainty of the sale.
Work culture is very friendly.
There are not benefits which is hard.
Pros
Great Management Staff
Cons
No Benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for long term employment
Deputy Director and Ombudsperson (Former Employee) –  Court House DriveJuly 7, 2017
I enjoyed by 8 years with Howard County government. Employment with HoCo government provides a great work environment and lots of wonderful benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Badminton Coach (Former Employee) –  Howard County, MDMay 9, 2017
This was a very good place to work. I highly recommend it. The clientele and kids were a joy to work with. The management and staff were excellent as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Staff Accountant (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MDOctober 1, 2015
In your own space, you do your daily work with sufficient opportunities for training and sharing of experience and tricks in performing tasks;
Excellent work training program;
Knowledgeable staff prevalence that helps everyone to learn and personally grow and develop.
Pros
Very good training program and trainers
Cons
Less diversified staff
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Detailed and multi-task
2nd deputy Clerk (Current Employee) –  courthouse downtownJune 20, 2015
Almost daily something new to learn, great on the job training for all positions, very concerned management. At end of day you know you have helped someone with a difficult situation in their life.
Pros
Great hours and insurance
Cons
pay and raises controlled by council
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical work day was very stressed
Office Administrator (Former Employee) –  Kokomo, INMarch 16, 2015
I had a good relationship with the offenders that I put on Home Detention. I realized that you show them respect you will receive respect in return with them. Just because someone is on Home Detention doesn't mean they are a bad person, just someone who made a mistake. Now there are some offenders on Home Detention that do not learn from their mistakes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managing many kids
Assistant Group Leader (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MDMay 21, 2014
Managed large groups of children and took responsibility for a variety of tasks.

Carried out disciplinary and conflict resolution relations between different parties.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Howard County Court House
Clerk (Former Employee) –  Big Spring, TXMarch 5, 2013
Helping answer the phones, file, and take payments online.
Pros
very friendly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding workplace
Black Student Achievement Program Facilitator (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MDJuly 12, 2012
Advocating for under served populations of students was the hardest part of the job.
Pros
relationships with parents of students.
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Howard County. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 11 reviews
53
43
32
23
10

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.0Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
2.9Culture