Howard Hughes Medical Institute Employee Reviews

Showing all 52 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you're going to be a postdoc be an HHMI postdoc if you can
Postdoctoral Fellow (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAJanuary 23, 2017
Being a postdoc is difficult we all know that. HHMI at least makes it less burdensome by offering better pay and benefits than your typical academic institution.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administrative Assistant with 12 years of experience with a high degree of efficiency.
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  New Haven, CTDecember 7, 2016
My typical day at work is very productive. I provide thorough and skillful support to two professors. Responding to emails, managing and scheduling the calendar. Prepare travel arrangements and itineraries. Assisting with preparation of grant applications and manuscripts. Ordering supplies.

I am a hard worker willing to help out in any way I can. Also my
attendance is superb.
Pros
Medical benefits and holidays off
Cons
My job is ending due to no funding for my salary. I will explain:
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDNovember 10, 2016
HHMI give 10 % of your salary to your retirement. Pays up to $10,000 per year towards college tuition for employees.
Lots of holiday pay 12 per year.
Pros
Plenty of vacation time, sick, and holidays
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits, but salary is not impacted by cost of living
Research Technician (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CA 94158August 10, 2016
HHMI provides great benefits as the largest nonprofit medical research institution in the world. Your passion is the greatest reward.
Pros
Great healthcare and access to academic leaders.
Cons
Pay does not reflect cost of living.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Work
Talent Acquisition Specialist (Current Employee) –  Chevy Chase, MDJune 20, 2016
It is a positive and supportive work environment. One can build and grow a career here if you are aligned with the right manager.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Management
Research Technician III (Former Employee) –  Santa Cruz, CAJanuary 29, 2016
My time with HHMI allowed me to grow in my career and they fully supported me when health problems emerged. Great staff, benefits and growth opportunities.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Educator (Former Employee) –  Stony Brook, NYDecember 12, 2015
I loved working here. great vibe, loved working with kids and teaching new science techniques. there were no cons to this job in my opinion I loved my co-workers very supportive team
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits
Senior Desktop Engineer (Current Employee) –  Chevy Chase, MDDecember 7, 2015
Great benefits
Very nice campus
Co-workers are helpful
Free garage parking which is very nice around DC
Not much upward mobility
A lot of change in upper management during the fall of 2015.
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace.
File Clerk/I-9 Audits (Former Employee) –  Chevy Chase, MDDecember 5, 2015
Fun workplace with supportive and productive management. The most enjoyable part was working alongside my colleagues and personally I learn so much from them.
Pros
It has its own cafeteria
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fellowship opportunity
Post Doctoral Research Fellow (Former Employee) –  New Haven, CTOctober 14, 2015
HHMI provides valuable resources to both new and experiences scientists to promote scientific progress and discovery. I am honored to have been a recipient of their generosity.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work. learnt a lots from this University
Research Technician (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 16, 2015
the lab is a great lab.
a lots of work that kept me busy.
the work were quite challenging.
good relationship with co-workers. most of them are nice Post Doctors. they are polite and considerate
Pros
Great Place to work. learnt a lots from this University
Cons
I have to leave for Oklahoma for the family reason
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Research Administrator II (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAAugust 4, 2015
Primarily sedentary, at computer all day.
Learned to bridge the gap between 3 organizations.
Wonderful co-workers.
The hardest part of the job was that there was absolutely no training whatsoever.
The most enjoyable part of the job was my lab members.
Pros
Amazing benefits
Cons
Lack of development
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intellectualy stimulating environment
Summer Intern (Current Employee) –  Ashburn, VAJuly 30, 2015
Designed to promote innovative research, the Janelia Research Campus is more like a university than anything else. The key difference is that researchers do not have nearly the overhead they might at a university.
Pros
Lots of support of research
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Lab Technician II (Current Employee) –  Ashburn, VAJuly 10, 2015
Very enjoyable place to work, the flexibility to work how and when you want is very nice. Very nice community feel as there is a lot of independent and collaboration going on across multiple labs
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding working experience
Laboratory Manager, Picower Institute (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MAJune 15, 2015
Rewarding working experience for one of the best Medical Institutes in the world. Excellent pay and benefits. Wonderfull opportunity to work with the most gifted scientists in the field.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. Great area.
Research Specialist III (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNMay 15, 2015
I started here as an American Cancer Society Postdoctoral Research Associate where I directed several projects in the ubiquitin conjugation pathway to successful papers. During that time I learned to efficiently design and execute experimental plans to further my understanding of this system. I also gained significant experience in training and supervising undergraduate research technicians. Because of my early success I was eventually promoted to a Research Specialist III position within the lab. Now I supervise a large group consisting of undergraduate, graduate and postdoctoral researchers whose aim is to study the Cullin-RING ubiquitin ligase protein family.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent organization due to the mission of the science.
Procurement Specialist (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXApril 29, 2015
The organization was an excellent organization to work for. Working with a team to provide excellent customer service and procurement of all the needs to support the laboratories' science was a very rewarding position to be in.
Pros
Was an excellent organization to work for.
Cons
They lost touch of the importance of the people and focused on the bottomline only.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comparable to academic lab position
Research Technologist II/III (Former Employee) –  UWMarch 25, 2015
The pros: You get to work with remarkably talented scientists. The administrative support staff has always been top notch. The funding pressures are less, and the resources are generous. The cons: The pay is the same as in an academic environment.
Pros
Talented scientists
Cons
Pay same as an academic position. no flexibility for advancement. Once a tech always a tech.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and educational experience
Researcher at Purdue University (Current Employee) –  Purdue UniversityFebruary 1, 2015
This was a summer internship at Purdue University.I had the opportunity to carry-out my own research project under the direction of a professor. I learned a lot about doing research and working independently.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent organization for which to work.
Laboratory Manager (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDJanuary 22, 2015
Management and co-workers made coming to work that much more enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Howard Hughes Medical Institute. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 52 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Compensation/Benefits
4.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
4.0
Culture
4.2

Howard Hughes Medical Institute Reviews by Location