Find companies:
HOWARD UNIVERSITY HOSPITAL
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
98 reviews

HOWARD UNIVERSITY HOSPITAL Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace enviroment
Extern Medical Assistant (Former Employee), Washington, DCJune 30, 2015
Pros: close to good food eatery
Cons: short breaks
Very busy work environment and I learned a lot of filing skills and computer skills. it was a joy working along side of my coworkers very positive fun atmosphere. I was in charge of triage patients and filing and answering phones performing urine test and draw blood and assist patients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall stress free environment
Secretary (Former Employee), Washington, DCJune 29, 2015
Pros: Flexible schedule
Cons: Union dues
On a typical day I registered patients for vascular studies, manned phones, sorted mail, typed correspondence, directed patients, etc.
I learned new software programs, and procurement procedures. My – more... co-workers were team oriented, most of us worked well together. The hardest part of the job was getting through to some of the internal offices. The most enjoyable part of my job was being able to successfully help an internal or external customer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Taste of Healthcare
Nurse Extern Full-Time (Former Employee), Washington, DCJune 27, 2015
This was a wonderful experience in that I got to do something that I was passionate about. You could tell the nurses that were burned out, and the ones who really enjoyed what they did.

I didn't like – more... that a few doctors believed that they didn't have to take orders from anybody while a patient was on the operating table. I also didn't like the bickering and jostling to receive the highest accolades or just to be seen.

Overall the experience definitely taught that, that healthcare or even something you are passionate about comes with both good and bad. It is up to you to make the best decision in regards to your patient. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive environment to work in.
Intern (Current Employee), Washington, DCJune 11, 2015
I believe that HUH is a great place to work. I have very friendly and helpful co-workers and staff. The most enjoyable part of the job is learning new technical skills to use in my career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Residency Program Manager (Current Employee), Washington, DCMay 23, 2015
Need more managers with experience. Often one is promoted or hired because of who they know in the workplace, this is the case at Howard University Hospital. Great people who cares about the company leaves because of this.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Atmosphere
Medical Assistant/Medical Receptionist (Former Employee), Washington, DCMay 21, 2015
It was a great experience working there and being apple to learn new things. I had the experience of working in a dr's office located in a high school and that was a great place to be because I love working with children
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Volunteer (Former Employee), Washington, DCMay 21, 2015
Great! It was a different types of experience but it was all well work it. I am very glad that I worked at this job. It helped me in many ways.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The benefits are great
Clinical Account Rep (Current Employee), Washington, DCMay 19, 2015
So far.. I'm 1/2 impressed. I just wish there was room for advancement. I don't necessarily want to transfer to the main hospital but it seems that may be the only option to move forward.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Responsable, team player, enthusiastic and willing to learn
Patient Service Representative (Current Employee), Washington, DCApril 22, 2015
Pros: I am bilingual, responsable, hardworking and a like to help others
Cons: I like things to be organize and i like structure, if i dont get this from my coworkers at my work place it can make my experience a little unpleasant.
I work for a busy practice so is typical for me to be going all day. I have learned to multitask and be more independent. I make myself available to help my coworkers and be a team player. I would say – more... that the hardest part of my job is not the job its self but not getting the help and maybe even support needed in certain situation but I love what I do, I love helping people and making a difference in someone's life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hospital
Accounting Technician (Current Employee), Washington, DCApril 21, 2015
Pros: My deliveries, co-workers and freedom.
Cons: Low salary.
A typical Day of Work: File, welcome in patients, help supervisors with assignments.
What I learned: The professionalism of the Hospital Industry and to be professional no matter what situation comes – more... up.
Management: For the time they where here it was good but the turnaround started and there was no stability.
My Co-workers: They were great they welcomed me, they trained me and they were understandable to the care of my needs with my mother at the time.
Hardest part of the Job: Getting acclumated to the traveling and the traffic.
Most enjoyable part of the Job: Getting out while i deliverying the employers check to specific payers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Community Health Worker (Current Employee), Washington, DCApril 19, 2015
Pros: Close to metro, meet very smart and wonderful Students.
Cons: Grants related job.
A typical day at work consist of working in a team environment to help 1- 10 clients with there appointments. Each day I learn something about the different working together as a team is always a positive – more... experience. The hardest part of my job is closing a case due to the clients not wanting to be in compliances with there medication. One of the most enjoyable part of my job is to see a client face when you tell them there Viral Load is down and there CD4 is up! And they know they are going to live! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work as a intern
Medical Assistant Externship (Former Employee), Washington, DCApril 13, 2015
Pros: Learning how to process insurance bills.
Cons: the office and the paper work is not organized.
I was a Medical Assistant intern when I firs started I really did not like it because nothing seemed organized. As my time there went on I started to understand how the office was ran. I enjoyed working with the doctors and the front desk workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WOULDN'T RECOMEND
(WIC) Technician/ Nutrition Education Technician (Former Employee), WASHINGTON,DCApril 4, 2015
IT WOULD HAVE BEEN GREAT TO GET IF WE ALL WOULD HAVE GOT THE SALARY WE DESERVED, STAFF IS OK, MOST ENJOYABLE PART OF THE JOB ARE THE BABIES.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place for student nurse
clinical nurse II (Current Employee), dcMarch 31, 2015
As a student great place to learn and get experience. Went to class along with having clinical training. Preceptor very helpful in a teaching learning facility.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Cultured Work zone
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Washington, DCMarch 24, 2015
Pros: benefits
Cons: fired a lot of workers due to financial dillemmas
Nice place to work, not to pressuring and very convenient and the pay is nice. Nice people. Nice environment. Helpful and passionate workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PATIENT ACCESS
Patient Access Associate I (Current Employee), Washington, DCMarch 10, 2015
SINCE STARTING FROM 2006 UNTIL PRESENT JOB SECURITY HAS CHANGED EXTENSIVELY, BUT I STILL WOULD NOT TRADE MY EXPERIENCE OR THE PEOPLE IVE MET FROM HERE.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked at HUH for almost 8 years
Director of Revenue Cycle Management (Former Employee), Washington, DCMarch 2, 2015
Pros: educational benefits to employees and family members
Cons: management turnaround
I left HUH due to a workforce reduction. I had no choice, the hospital had financial issues and needed to make difficult decisions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
HVAC technician/electrician (Current Employee), 2041 Georgia ave nwFebruary 18, 2015
I come in and get my work sheet for the day and go to work give a hand to any co worker that mite need help with something go to lunch and finish up my work for the and go home
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was OK
Environmental Specialist (Former Employee), Washington, DCFebruary 11, 2015
Work hard each day and had no help if help was needed,but you did have everything that you needed to clean with.Management was not to bad and co-workers were crazy.Thats it and thats all
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be challenging
Physician/Clinical Advisor (Former Employee), Washington, DCFebruary 9, 2015
Great place to work however things move slowly. The current administration is making changes which should be beneficial in the long run.

1 2 3 4 5

HOWARD UNIVERSITY HOSPITAL Salaries

Environmental Specialist
$10.50 per hour
Medical Assistant
$15.53 per hour
Registered Nurse
$75,000 per year