Find companies:
HSN
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
218 reviews

HSN Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work, especially from home
Sales (Current Employee), Murfreesboro, TNMarch 20, 2015
Pros: working from a home office means no gas bills, no cafeteria lunch bills
Cons: job gets stagnant due to no advancement possibilities.
You take inbound sales and some customer service calls. You ask the customer what they want to order and once you have that, you are expected to off accessories (upsells) to go with their purchase. You are rated on call time. You are required to have a certain percentage of upsells in a month. They do rate your calls from 1 to 3 times a month to make sure you are doing your job within HSN specifications. Management is ok.
You do have to put up with irate customers sometimes. Even though they call the sales line and really need customer service, you are expected to try to help if you can and if not transfer to customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day in the life of Omni-Channel Retail
TV Research & Development Specialist (Current Employee), Saint Petersburg, FLMarch 11, 2015
There is no typical day in my job. I have a great work environment with a management team that allows me to handle my own brands, work load and determine the best strategy for my support. I work with talent, marketing, merchandising, QA, Legal and of course, the live show team, to craft and support on-air presentations. The hardest part is balancing the multiple company priorities, but the best part is seeing it all come together on-air.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's an ok place to work at
Packer/Shipper (Former Employee), Roanoke, VAMarch 7, 2015
Pros: healthcare
Cons: lost in the shuffle
Hours are not steady, health care is great. co-workes can be catty and childish, ALOT of stress is put on you. Management is ok some better than others. The hardest part is working 12 hour day 6 days a week on your feet all day 3 months out of the year.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great WAH position , not so great management tier & communication
Sales Representative (Current Employee), Clarksville, TNMarch 6, 2015
I love working for this company. It truly is a fun place to work; however, as far as getting information or working with your management, it can get extremely frustrating. There are great people that work with this company & overall it is a fun place to work!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WAH Sales position
Call Center Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), St Petersburg Beach, FLFebruary 27, 2015
Pros: work from home, discount
Great company to work for. I'm able to work from home (with the flexibility of trading shifts if personal needs come up). I'm able to spend more time with my family, save money on gas, and I can work in my PJ's if I want to. My supervisor has changed about 5 times in less than one year. However every supervisor I have had, was amazing. I learned a lot from each one. *Obviously well trained themselves. And have been promoted from within so they have actually done your position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Experience At HSN
Production Tech II (Former Employee), Saint Petersburg, FloridaFebruary 24, 2015
Pros: chance to learn new equipment, discounts to the hsn outlet store
Cons: too many chiefs, too many higher ups that didn't understand how equipment worked
I worked as a Master Control Operator at HSN for a combined total of 12 years. I was laid off around 2008, then placed into Freelance and then rehired as a Production Tech II in 2009.

The most enjoyable part of my job was sitting back and relaxing when everything went smoothly for the programs. The hardest part was spotting a problem immediately and trying to fix it.

The management was alright within the company, but nothing special.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work but gave free coffee and popcorn
Horseshoe Operator (Former Employee), Piney Flats, TNFebruary 17, 2015
Pros: free popcorn and coffee. managers care about their employes, and most of the coworkers were friendly.
Cons: as horseshoe operator you get stuck with alot of problems to face alone and in a timely fashon.
Depending on the night, sometimes I would make boxes to be sent down line. Other nights I would place product in the boxes or on the line. Sometimes we would bag product and I could rate the bag and place in correct gaylord for shipping. They would send me to load trucks some nights, but the horseshoe was the place they perferd me to be. The horseshoe operator is the one who seals the boxes and puts them threw to be scanned and weighed. Had to work alone and be responsible to keep the line moving while finding the time to check any boxes that get sent off. Some nights got difficult but the best thing was most of the coworkers and the supervisors were fun to talk to at break.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
first class call center
Authorization Specialist (Former Employee), Saint Petersburg, FLFebruary 14, 2015
Learned much about electronic retail, enjoyed speaking with the shoppers, loved the people I worked with.

I left too early and wish my time at HSN was longer
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very enjoyable place to work and never felt like i didnt want to work there.
Forklift Operator (Former Employee), Piney Flats, TNFebruary 13, 2015
Pros: had stable job my coworkers were my friends and made working there fun.
Cons: sometimes we didnt get enough hours and that made it hard on the budget.
I would come to work we would have a meeting and then be told what trailer to unload. what I learned was how to work with others as a team. And to get along with my coworkers during stressful times. The hardest part of the job was when we had to unload the product by hand onto pallets as fast as we could and get it onto the floor. I liked my manager I felt he did a go job and treated everyone fairly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough to grow a department
Director of Maintenance - U.S. Operations (Former Employee), Roanoke VAFebruary 5, 2015
Mainly interested in short term gains. Was told not to be a visionary. Very heavy CYA climate. trying to compete with QVC.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Hybrid CSR Agent (Former Employee), Saint Petersburg, FLJanuary 27, 2015
Pros: great pay
Cons: strict phone time
I come in and log in to my station and watch dialer as customers called in to order. I also had to upsell the customer items that matched the items ordered and also mentions todays specials that were advertised on television. I learned patience because I had to often help customers find like products because of sell outs and also I had to find past products for customers. If it was a seasonal item I could not always provide them what they were calling for which was disappointing to both of us but I often was able to come up with an alternative that they were satisfied with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting place to work
Buyer (Former Employee), St Petersburg FlJanuary 22, 2015
Pros: nice people
Cons: 24/7 business
If you like constant variety and a 24/7 job you will like working here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
On Air Sales
National Show Sales Host (Former Employee), Saint Petersburg, FLJanuary 16, 2015
Pros: salary
Cons: no work/life balance
 On air sales host, responsible for meeting or exceeding hourly sales goals while engaging customers with compelling sales presentations that effectively educate customers to inspire sales.
 Responsible for maintaining and increasing viewership buy building rapport and the earning trust and loyalty of viewer.
 Write compelling scripts and create product demonstrations of various consumer goods that – more... create a visual experience of how products benefit customer.
 Collaborate with buyer/planning teams to develop sales strategies and guidelines to maximize sales potential.
 Simultaneously cross promote sales though e commerce sites.
 Responsible for maintaining own social media presence.
 Direct customer on how to purchase products through smart technology.
 Constantly drive brand messaging through all aspects of on and off air presence. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy workplace very encouraging
Customer Care Rep (Current Employee), St. PetersburgJanuary 14, 2015
incentives on sales and credit cards are great. Team support is wonderful. Sales calls, assisting customers and trying to get them to purchase an upsell. Job environment is great because you can work from home. Hours are flexible, part time gets PTO. Its a great work environment. The hard part is trying to not take a bathroom break to prevent compliance from going down.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits and people HSN is a great place to work.
Sales Representative (Current Employee), Tampa, FLJanuary 11, 2015
Pros: working at home, pay and benefits
Cons: none really
Great benefits and people HSN is a great place to work. Training is great and the people are easy to work with and work for. Supervisors are always there for you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HSN Call Center
Sales Representative (Former Employee), RoJanuary 10, 2015
Pros: hours i worked
Cons: looking at a screen all day
taking call every second of your shift, allowed you to stay busy. The shift you worked went by fast because of this. the worst part of the job was staring at a computer screen all day. the best part was the hours I was able to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Senior SQA/Test Lead, IVR & Telecom (Current Employee), St. PetersburgJanuary 7, 2015
Pros: discounts!
I love it. Discounts are great and so are the people. xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting environment
Customer Service/ Dot.com support (Former Employee), Saint Petersburg, FLJanuary 6, 2015
Busy on telephones solving customer issues.

Learned to deal with a myriad of people from all walks of life.

Management was extremely hands on

co-workers were the best part. great friendships.

Hardest part of the job was convincing the escalation team to assist the customer you have determined needed special dispensation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the call center is where dreams go to die
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Saint Petersburg, FLDecember 30, 2014
Pros: don't really have to worry about lay offs, attrition takes care of that for them
Cons: treated like a tool to be used when needed - not a real person that is an asset to the company, pay is less than competitive, standards are very difficult to obtain, very quickly takes it toll on you
Everyone I talked to about working at HSN always had very positive things to say about it. In retrospect, most of those people were talking about other various departments within the company, and not the actual call center.
For a company who lives and dies by their call center, they care very little for the employees who work in it.
The environment is less than inviting. Lighting was always an issue. – more... Either far too glaring, or far too dark. It isn't rocket science, there are guidelines for things like that.
Most of the chairs were defective in one way or another, which makes 8+ hours of sitting in them rather taxing.
Desks were not assigned. Instead, you were assigned a team, and that team had an area, and seating was first come, first serve. Some days you might get a good seat, other days you might get the one covered in sticky, crumby, sneezy, just general grossness.
You're entire day is scheduled. Everything from when your breaks are, to lunch. Just because you work the same shift everyday doesn't mean your lunch is going to be the same time everyday. Some days you might start at 8:30 and lunch is as early as 11:30. Other days, you start at 8:30 and you don't get lunch til 1:30. Sure, you're allowed a little bit of personal time to use for restroom breaks if you need them, however, to stay within the acceptable guidelines, you had to keep that personal time down to under 6 minutes a day. Oh, did you have a phone call that ran late into your break time? All well... You should have had better call control if you wanted to take your full 15 minute break time. If you come back late from break, that'll count against you. Same with lunch. Hopefully you can wrap up that call, and run to the lunch area, scarf down your food, and run back and be ready to get back on the phone within your 30 minute time period. Is 30 minutes enough for lunch? its debatable. However, once you factor in the amount of time it takes to get from where you are seated, all the way across the huge warehouse to an area you are allowed to have food in, get a seat, use one of the three microwaves available, or even worse, stand in the line at the cafe to buy lunch, and the time it takes to get back to your desk and "plugged in" your lunch break is cut in half. Even worse if you have to use the restroom.
Getting there in the morning is even worse. You have to go through a security gate, which usually has a line because it is one car at a time, and your shift starts with another 50 people. Then you're fighting for parking, or you give up and just part 200 yards away from the building. Once in the building, you have another 100 yards to go to get to your seating area since the first half is all offices and event rooms. Then your search for a seat begins. Hopefully you get a computer that is functioning, and is already booted on, otherwise you're turning on your machine, getting logged in, sanitizing your desk, getting your headset plugged in, and getting the half dozen programs you need opened up so you can do your job. All of this has to happen before your shift start time, otherwise it is counting against you.
As a customer service rep, you're expected to up-sale on pretty much every call. You also have to apologize for everything, even if it is nothing to apologize for, like a quick order status update.
QA is subjective depending on who is listening to your calls at what time. You'll usually get two calls for the entire month QA'ed, and it is by the same person. Many times the rotation is for 2-3 months at a time, so if you aren't speaking the same language at the person QA'ing your call, your job is on the line before you get a different QA person. Some of the team leads are good and will help back you up, other's tell you that it is your fault for not following the guidelines and to basically shape up, or ship out.
You are expected to handle between 80 and 100 calls a day, and maintain a 3 minute talk time. they way they calculate your average however isn't exactly fair. It isn't take the total calls for the day, add it up and divide like you would expect, no, they keep a running "instant" average through the day.
So if you have 5 calls, we'll say, 2, 1, 3, 4, and 2 minutes long, you would expect your average to be 2.4 minutes.
They way they do it is:
2+1 = 3 /2 = 1.5
1.5+3 = 4.5 /2 = 2.25
2.25+4= 6.25 /2 = 3.125
3.125+2= 5.125 /2 = 2.5625
So you can see how A) it is always a little bit stacked against you and B) if you get one bad call in the beginning of the day, it becomes very very very difficult to get that talk time down.
Not only is schedule adherence and QA something that can put your job on the line, but so is talk time.
Good to know that the system is stacked against you from the beginning.
Training is a bit of a joke. At the time, training was 6 full weeks, plus additional "nesting" time after that. The first 5 weeks was a lot of feel good type stuff. It really made you feel like you were prepared and knew what to do and how to handle everything. Unfortunately, over 3 weeks is devoted to a simple sales call. Someone that calls in, knows exactly what they want, with all of the information available and a straight forward call. After that, you start to learn a bit about some of the customer service functions, but again, all very basic and very easy stuff. Week 5 is spent almost entirely watching product information videos. Really basic information, just barely enough to say you have some exposure to it, far from an expert on anything. Week 6 is "mock calls" you actually get to sit at a computer and go through the motions of taking a call and having your trainer pretend to be a customer. First time is a bit frustrating because it is so much all at once. Second time is a bit frustrating because it is such a simple call and you know you're about to start taking live calls.
Nesting is interesting because this is where you actually learn everything you needed to in training that wasn't even talked about, or if it was, was mentioned briefly. Basically all nesting is, is lowered standards as far as talk time and QA and your trainers walking around right there to answer questions. It is cramming several weeks of training into 1-2 weeks. After that, you're on your own.
One secrete they don't tell you though, is that your scores in nesting, count against you when it comes time for your review. They factor into your averages. This keeps a majority of people from being eligible to move up and out to other positions. They have the mentality that you need to master one skill set before moving onto a different one, even if that one you want it completely different than call center work. You can't move into the production department and work on building sets and props if you aren't a master of call center work. Yeah, makes sense to me. Another classic case of a company that doesn't care enough about the people working for it to work with them, realizing that not everyone fits perfectly into a mold, and instead forcing them to adhere to standards and guidelines that just don't work for them. The call center is the foot in the door for a majority of people that work there. The call center is also were a ton of amazing talent is lost because they don't master being on the phones so they aren't allowed to move to a different department.

It is a paycheck. Just don't expect any support to succeed or anything like that. Show up early, work your time, collect your paycheck until you can get yourself somewhere else to find success. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HSN was a great place
Customer Service (Former Employee), Clearwater, FLDecember 3, 2014
Pros: learned alot
Cons: some supervisors werent very understanding
I enjoyed helping and talking to all of the customers. I learned a lot, and had a lot of training time. 7 weeks of training was suitable.
The supervisor I was given was great, he was a great teacher and he was a great manager.
The entire work day was great, I really enjoyed helping the customers place orders and helping them with their problems.

About HSN

HSN is a leading interactive multichannel retailer, offering a curated assortment of exclusive products and top brand names to – Read more

HSN Salaries

Customer Service Representative
$11.30 per hour
$25,000 per year
Sales Representative
$10.00 per hour
$23,000 per year
Customer Service/Sales Representative
$11.00 per hour