Find companies:
HSN
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
167 reviews

HSN Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Social Media Specialist/Customer Service/Sales (Former Employee), Saint Petersburg, FLMay 19, 2014
Pros: lots of opportunities
Cons: micro management
Learned a lot about customer service, social, media, and the TV business in general.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management undermines what could be a great place to work
On call Live Show Electric (Former Employee), St. Petersburg FLMay 13, 2014
Pros: top of the line equipment, some very talented television production professionals, you'll laugh a lot
Cons: poor management; few to no opportunities for advancement;
My comments only reflect the Live Show and Video Production segments of HSN:
There are too many people in positions of power who, in my opinion, have no business being in those positions in the first place. The reasons behind their being hired are questionable and more often than not, those in positions of power seem to be the ones who are disliked – more... the most by their employees. Ironically these people also seem to be the ones with the greatest job security and opportunities for advancement. Because of this, two things happen: 1. Those who want to advance are generally unable to do so because it is common that someone with far less experience is hired instead of the applicant with more experience;2. Management either does not recognize when someone aspires to do more, does not know how to help guild that employee or simply ignores the employee. Regardless of which of these possible reasons one wants to hang their hat on this does not make for a happy work place. Unfortunately, when it comes to a full-time or part-time television production job, HSN is just about the only game in town - and they know it. As long as the current tenure of upper management remains, as someone who had been there for a number of years, I can say with all certainty that it will get worse before it gets better. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working for a tv network is very interesting
inventory controll (Former Employee), Saint Petersburg, FLMay 1, 2014
enjoyed to go to work it was very satisfying
meet tv celebs.
and being behind the scenes is very interesting
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job
Sales Representative (Former Employee), FloridaApril 29, 2014
Good people, great benefits. Overall good place to work. Busy days, a lot of call volume, required learning programs and emails.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work for
Customer Sales/Service Representative (Former Employee), Clearwater, FLApril 28, 2014
Pros: discount, 'convenience leave' (if shows are slow you may have a chance to finish your shift early), working for an organization to be proud of, engaging with excited customers, knowing all of the deals first!
Cons: work at home is not, or is very limited for at-home positions, pay is acceptable but not extraordinary
I worked for HSN as a work-at-home sales representative for almost 2 years (I only left to pursue a full-time job). The convenience of working from home is already incredible, but add that to a respectable company that is easy to be proud of. HSN offers exceptional products and services, and treats their employees like family. You get one-on-one coaching – more... if needed to help meet goals. There are minimal sales requirements, but they are easy to meet if you are engaged with your customer. All calls are inbound so there is no cold outreach. If you struggle with meeting any of your numbers you get coached by not only your supervisor, but also peers on your team that can zone in on the specifics you need for improvement. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Management
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Roanoke, VAApril 27, 2014
A typical day at HSN includes answering phones to take customer orders and entering their data on the computer. I enjoyed this job greatly except for the management. I enjoyed most of my co-workers with the exception of one. The hardest part of working for HSN is trying to keep your call time within their expectations and getting rid of a prank caller – more... without being rude. Another difficult part is that not only are you doing the job you are assigned to do, you are also doing the job of customer service. You must solve customer complaints yourself by trying not to send them to customer service unless they specifically ask. Also along with taking orders you must sign customers up for credit cards through HSN if they desire to do so. The most enjoyable part of the job was upselling and making the extra money that comes along with it. Training was also great because it gave you a break at times. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Conducive Work Environment
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Clarksville, TNApril 16, 2014
Pros: benefits, people, growth, work from home
Cons: lunch too short, need option to return to full time if desired.
Excellent company to work for. Great people and great management team. Strives to make training comprehensive. Work schedule is highly flexible for home/school considerations. Benefits are excellent and the pay phenomenal. Best company I have ever worked for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere
Customer Service Hybrid (Former Employee), Saint Petersburg, FLApril 15, 2014
HSN is a great company to work for. Plenty of overtime available, the co-workers and management are caring and keep track of your progress through out the weeks. Management helps keep you focused and help better yourself. The hardest part of the job was handling customer accounts who had a loss in the family or sickness. The most enjoyable part of the – more... job was how co-workers helped you get through those tough calls and how management had me listen to my calls to help me progress swiftly through them in a timely manner when needed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HSN does not care about their employees
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Saint Petersburg, FLApril 2, 2014
Pros: discount
Cons: management/quality standards/layoffs
The HSN work at home sales representative seemed like a great job for a student like me--I could save time and money without having to commute everyday, and could dive right into my studies. The initial training was a lot of fun and I learned to bond with all of the employees and made friends. It was nice to have the online chat system to keep in contact – more... with other employees. I transitioned to my team and began working all the time. I had several meetings with my supervisor, who told me all my numbers looked great and I was "one of her stars on her team." The holiday rush came and went and shortly after the first of the year my supervisor was let go. My team was split between many supervisors until we finally got a new supervisor at the end of February. I met with my new supervisor sometime in the first week of March and we did introductions and he gave me the same praise, saying my numbers looked great, and I expressed concerns of lower than usual quality evaluations I had received since Christmas. He assured me that he would help me(and everyone else because that seemed to be the trend), which was a sufficient answer. He seemed great and really wanted to be there for the team to motivate and encourage. About a week later, he asked me to call him again for a conference and I didn't think anything of it. When I talked to him, he told me that several people had been flagged for shortened call times. What? I had just been told the very week before that my number (one of which is my AHT) looked "great." I was told my calls would be reviewed and we would talk about them soon, just like the others on my team. The next week, I still hadn't heard anything and continued as usual and then was finally asked to join my sup in a meeting. The conversation was not going well, and I was going to be let go, solely based on my call times being too short, and I said that maybe this was not a good fit for me, and my sup agreed. I was totally blindsided by this and had not had any warnings or anything on my record. I have learned that they were simply fishing for reasons to lay people off because their business needs had been drastically reduced. The 2 weeks before that, they had reduced everyone's hours to barely above the 10 hr minimum for PT employees and we were still very slow. HSN expects their employees to be happy all the time, but they will not stand up for them against disgruntled customers. Poorly run company and awful management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace job
CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee), clearwater flApril 1, 2014
Pros: great work environment
Cons: traffic at certian times of the day is bad
taking incoming calls from home shoppers, I learned how to type really fast working here. management you only see if you have a issues or if you have made an accomplishment. you do have time to get acquainted with your co workers between calls. The most challenging part of this job is leaving it is a very good work environment. I enjoyed going to work – more... and working as much overtime as I possibly could. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed talking to people every day.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), FloridaMarch 26, 2014
I would get on the phone and laptop to train with my group at 9 am and get off at 5:30 pm. I learned a lot about customer service and a lot more about how to run the programs they used to conduct business. The management was good at this company, although I only got to speak with one manager the whole time. My co-workers were doing the exact same thing – more... as I was every single day, trying to learn everything on time and show our individual improvement. The hardest part was paying attention for that many hours while sitting all alone in my house or having to listen to many distractions in the home. I really enjoyed being able to learn new things and relate to my fellow employees. I also loved customer service. I have always been one to go out of my way to help others! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I'd never suggest to my worst enemy
no thanks (Current Employee), Saint Petersburg, FLMarch 25, 2014
Pros: discounts
Cons: compensation, enviroment
This company is a those who play get ahead and those who work get treated poorly. There are pets and no room for movement. There are layoffs every year and it usually involves people that would shock you. The gossip is 'but they're such a strong employee!" "they work their tail off!" Unless you know how to play the office politics game don't bother
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Work At Home Job
Work-At-Home Sales and Service Representative (Current Employee), Cookeville, TNMarch 25, 2014
Pros: work at home
Cons: compensation
The perfect job for work/life balance. The company offers multiple shifts. Great benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Straightforward, no-nonsense work environment
Customer Care Hybrid/HSN.com Support (Current Employee), Saint Petersburg, FLMarch 21, 2014
Pros: excellent benefits and ample paid time off
Cons: not challenging
HSN is very structured and repetitive. It is similar to a well-oiled machine! Difficult to advance upwards, but there are plenty of opportunities to try. Management staff is helpful, but I did not feel challenged at this job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very successful and busy company on the move.
EOC Analyst II (Former Employee), Saint Petersburg, FLMarch 17, 2014
A great place to work. I really loved my job. I learned a great deal while working here as well as a great deal about people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HSN
work at home sales representative (Current Employee), St Petersburg Beach, FLMarch 12, 2014
HSN is a wonderful company to work for and really helped get my foot in the professional door. I hadn't had a full time job before and I can't express how grateful I am to have been given the opportunity with very little experience to show on paper. They gave me a chance and I have nothing negative to say about HSN.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Selling on TV is a challenge when you cant ouch or feel the product
Brand Model / Host (Current Employee), Saint Petersburg, FLMarch 11, 2014
I have a message to send to the viewers and to build their confidence in a product just by demonstration and education. I love the challenge and seeing how much of a gift I have when the show is over by the TV sales screen!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Travel and on call registry
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), CAMarch 9, 2014
Good company with benefits and many hospital opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is fun at HSN
Customer Service Hybrid (Current Employee), Clearwater, FLMarch 5, 2014
Typical work day consist of helping customers resolve an issue they may be having either with ordering or with an item the customer has received.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Assisting online customer (Current Employee), work at homeMarch 5, 2014
Pros: no traffic, flexiblity
Cons: better application sulotion when there is an error
I was a work at home agent but the organization was very helpful to my work needs.

About HSN

HSN is a leading interactive multichannel retailer, offering a curated assortment of exclusive products and top brand names to – Read more