Hudson Guild Employee Reviews

Showing all 12 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Teaching Opportunity
Group Worker (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 29, 2016
The Hudson Guild prepared me in becoming a teacher as they had me create and implement lesson plans. They also gave me multiple subjects to cover which only widen my horizons.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Growth
RECEPTIONIST (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 7, 2015
It was a decent environment with cool coworkers. However, the tasks were generally monotonous. It was not a place of growth for me.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational envirornment
Facility Coordinator (Current Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 4, 2015
Very educational environment, knowledgeable staff. I enjoy working with the teachers and students and maintaining lines of communication with the parents/guardians. The staff is all about team work.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience: Unpaid Internship
Assistant Chef (Former Employee) –  Downtown New YorkJuly 7, 2015
The Hudson Guild was a good experience because it taught me how to work quick and under pressure. A typical day in the kitchen was come in prep meals for the elderly. Once the students arrived review the menu and help the kids prepare the meals. HArdest part of the job at first was learning to work quick , independantly and under pressure.
Pros
Great Experience
Cons
Unpaid
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internship
Fieldwork Level 1: Social Work Intern (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 16, 2014
● Supportive case management
● Friendly visit (supportive out reach service to senior citizens)
● Created and ran two therapeutic groups
● Provided counseling
● Case assistance
● Crisis intervention
● Worked on elder abuse cases with lead social worker
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun and learning environment where its almost like a family.
Peer Mentor (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 17, 2013
Hudson Guild is a community center where the youth go for youth services. I interned there and it was a pleasurable experience. I had to work with middle school students and they were fun and spontaneous. It was never a boring day. I learned to help and make sure that these future high school freshmen were on the right path. The hardest part of the job was telling the students to settle down and be quiet because it was very time consuming and a waste of valuable instructional time. The most enjoyable was when we went to the recreational center and played some dodgeball.
Pros
I met new people, Networking myself, perfecting my skills with kids.
Cons
I cant think of any cons.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful non profit organization
Youth Counselor (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 20, 2013
enjoyed working with little children in my community even teens. with projects, play, events , homework, voulnteering, this is a very good organzation that has helped me grow and get me ready for the future. ive worked at the hudsn guild from 14 years old til i was 18 and everyone in this organization cares about your hope and dreams and will help you get where you want to be. the hardest part about this job was communicating with angry parents the enjoyable part was working ang helping children plus parents and going to curricular actitvies and trips after work also learning about collge and other cultures around us.
Pros
free trips and partys
Cons
rude parents and tardiness parents
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and outgoing place to work.
Receptionist/Clerical Support (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 14, 2012
A typical day at work would be busy and entertaining. You learn that you cannot always satisfy everyone. Therefore you have to have the ability and patience to try your best. The Management team was helpful in certain situation's, but for the most part you had to think and make decisions that would best fit you and the company. Their were many obstacles I had to overcome to be successful at this work place, however I wouldn't say anything was hard. A challenge is more of a word I would use. You are always challenging yourself to be the best you could be and shine. The end of the day would be the most enjoyable part, because you leave work feeling accomplished.
Pros
abilitity to meet new people
Cons
healthcare, pay, room for growth
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Help kids with home work
Youth Mentor (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 20, 2012
It was a learning experience. Working with kids is not easy.But I love kids.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Junior Counselor (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 12, 2012
Monitored students during meals, trips, and recess
Taught students respect for adults and each other
Worked with students on communication and interactive skills
Assisted students with creative projects
Attended workshops on developing and improving my skills
Assisted senior staff and managers as needed
Volunteered full time when work session was completed

Management was nice yet intimidating. Co-workers were nice but not all of them.
Pros
make friends, hour breaks, programs for teen workers were provided
Cons
behavioral problems from the children
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Calm and relaxed work place
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 15, 2012
The most enjoyable part of the day was helping people. My co-workers were helpful and gave me a lot of knowledge about the job. I learned how to answer the phone and greet people for a company. The management was very helpful and taught me a lot.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 12 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
4.1
Management
4.1
Culture
4.6

Hudson Guild Reviews by Location