Hudson Valley Hospital Center Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 18 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most Welcoming Hospital Yet
Hospital Intern (Former Employee) –  Cortland, NYJanuary 23, 2016
Not your average hospital. Very warm and inviting atmosphere and staff. Excellent patient care and concern provided.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
administrative assistant (Former Employee) –  Town of Cortlandt, NYNovember 5, 2015
Productive and fun place to work. Employees were nice and very upbeat. Fun work place with supportive management. The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to communicate with the patients and their needs.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
PACU RN (Former Employee) –  Cortlandt Manor, NYMay 21, 2015
Nurses are valued and treated with respect by both physicians and management. A great place to work. Very busy but manageable work load. Co-workers always helping out each other. A lot of call required and 48 hour weekend coverage every 5th to 6th week made it hard to spend time with family.
Pros
Nurses are valued
Cons
Call
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A quality organization
Clinical Manager (Former Employee) –  Cortlandt Manor, NYMay 21, 2015
This hospital improved their quality from poor to excellent during the time I was there. The Rehab dept was excellent.
I enjoyed working at this hospital as excellent work was encouraged. I feel best when I do excellent work
Pros
Were complient with regulations
Cons
My position was eliminated when the hospital was purchased
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Subject Matter Expert, RN (Former Employee) –  Peekskill, NYOctober 27, 2014
Staff is friendly and professional. Lots of positive reinforcment from administration for jobs well done
Pros
friendley and professional work atmosphere
Cons
small town medicine
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family atmosphere is the culture amongst the organization.
Manager of 33-bed medical/surgical unit (Current Employee) –  Westchester, New YorkAugust 8, 2014
A typical day at Hudson Valley Hospital Center for a nurse manager is as follows: Immediately upon arrival each day you collect the report on all patients and then see all the staff. Gather information and prioritize tasks and needs from these communications. Daily meetings with all managers takes place twice daily to manage the bed assignments and staffing needs. All managers work well together and support all unit needs as a team. The most difficult pat of the job is fitting everything in and accommodating for staffing issues such as call outs. The best part is the interactions with the patients, families and the staffing team.
Pros
family culture & magnet status
Cons
staffing is sometimes tough with sick calls and fmla, but the management team works together to handle crisis situations.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work experience
VP Quality Management (Former Employee) –  Cortlandt Manor, NYJuly 15, 2014
Leadership very involved in mission of hospital - quality and efficient patient care. Promotes this culture for all employees. Rewards employees for job well done. Very congenial atmosphere where employees and leadership know each other by first name, line staff mingle easily with management, ideas shared and bottom-up approach to problem solving greatly encouraged.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work with some great co-workers.
Patient Care Technician (Current Employee) –  Cortlandt Manor, NYJune 14, 2014
Have some very hard working nurses. Too bad the management doesn't seem to appreciate all that they do. Very short staffed on nights and the benefits are terrible.
Pros
great co-workers
Cons
benefits, low pay, under appreciated
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some hardworking staff members
Patient Care Technician (Current Employee) –  Cortlandt Manor, NYJune 13, 2014
Have some very good co-workers. The 12 hour shifts are hard but give you more time off. Most nights there is a high Patient to PCT ratio which makes giving quality care quite a challenge.
Pros
great co-workers
Cons
short staffed, benefits are minimal
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive morning draw
Phlebotomist (Former Employee) –  Cortlandt Manor, NYFebruary 3, 2014
Traveling through the hospital drawing blood on people from all walks of life. learning the ins and outs of costumer service.
Pros
working 5am to 130pm
Cons
having to work every other weekend
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun place to work
Authorizations/Radiology Scheduler (Former Employee) –  Cortlandt Manor, NYDecember 5, 2013
Hudson Valley Hospital was a fun and productive place to work.I learned a lot working here.
Pros
discount on lunches for employees/ christmas partyes/ free lunches once in a while
Cons
hard to move up.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, quickly become good friends with associates
Licensed Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Peekskill, New YorkAugust 25, 2013
- Patrol all five floors, parking garage and the outdoor property.
- I learned the importance of being thorough
- Management is very good, always making sure we're doing our job
but reasonable and available to help.
- Co-workers are reliable and very helpful
- The hardest part of the job is remaining calm in stressful situations
- The most enjoyable part is doing something that feels meaningful
and knowing that i'm doing something positive and helping people.
Pros
employees, feeling of achievement, helpful bosses
Cons
commute to work is far
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HVHC is the one of best place i ever worked
Envirienmental aid (Current Employee) –  Cortlandt Manor, NYJune 17, 2013
I love my current job . but i am looking to get in my field . co workers are great no complains everything is good
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work, a great starting and ending point
Assistant Clinical Nurse Manager, PCU (Current Employee) –  Cortlandt Manor, NYJune 3, 2013
A community hospital with extended services. It is a great hospital for new nurses to learn about nursing and a great hospital for those ready to end their career. for the overall experience wonderful.
If looking for different experiences in different facets off nursing, it has limited exposure.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HVHC doesn't care about it's employees unless you are clinical.
PT/NOPR/PET/BIRADS Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Westchester, NYFebruary 5, 2013
The pay rate at the hospital is no where near the cost of living. Only administration makes the money.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
PC / LAN Specialist / Administrator for KBOX (Current Employee) –  Cortlandt Manor, NYJanuary 8, 2013
A typical day consists of answering help desk calls and troubleshooting users issues. Overall this is a great place to work, my manger and co-workers were all a pleasure to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to be employed
Radiology Scheduler (Former Employee) –  Cortlandt Manor, NYAugust 3, 2012
I love this job! The only reason i left was because I relocated and needed a full time job.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
part time work
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 18 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.7
Culture
3.9

Hudson Valley Hospital Center Reviews by Location