Hughes Employee Reviews in United States

Found 34 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellant Job Experience
Configuration Analyst (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZApril 22, 2016
This Company and the management are very professional. I learned a lot about the many jobs that gave me the work experience that helped me to excel and learn quickly. I enjoyed working with teams and coworkers that helped me to adapt to challenging work.
Pros
Opportunties for higher pay jobs
Cons
Need to take too many classes to apply for the higher pay jobs
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Closed work environment
Software Engineer (Current Employee) –  Aurora CoApril 13, 2016
Good company at first. Gained technical knowledge, outstanding experience but at this point I would prefer getting more in to the private sector.
Pros
Great salary, flew work hours, did have great benefits
Cons
To much red tape, closed environments, very restrictive development environment
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
UCMDB Implementer for DC Migration (Former Employee) –  MarylandJune 7, 2016
Great place to work with great work life balance. Theyput satelites into space for broadband. Great for people who live the country and cant get any other.
Pros
No stress
Cons
A little behind in some areas
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent pay, hard on the family
Field Supervisor IV (Former Employee) –  Farmington, NMJanuary 6, 2016
The pay is good in the oilfield, the time off is far and few between. Hard to plan family life. I did really enjoy my job though, the guys I worked with were like brothers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very negative place to work
BAKER (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXDecember 8, 2015
No team effort there. Management is lacking in all areas. Co workers where all back stabbing and out for themselves. Training and getting info was very bad.
Pros
none
Cons
merger
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The most enjoyable part of the job
Chief Financial Officer (Current Employee) –  Tacoma, WAOctober 3, 2015
The most enjoyable part of the job is knowing that I am working for a small veteran owned business that has the capability and perseverance to serve and continually compete within a market that is dominated by larger scale businesses.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company to work for
Component Engineering Section Leader (Former Employee) –  Fullerton, CAAugust 30, 2015
Hughes has great training programs available for their employees, and encourage them to pursue them. Moreover, they also encouraged team work among their employees. Management, although very low key, was highly involved in accomplishing the company goals.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hughes Raytheon
Weapons Controller Instructor (Former Employee) –  Saudi ArabiaAugust 7, 2015
Worked in Saudi Arabia working with Saudi military students regarding the instruction of their ground based radar defense system.
Pros
Cultural growth.
Cons
Isolation.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful place to work, long hours.
BANKRUPTCY/PROBATE/FORELOSURE SPECIALIST (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 3, 2015
I would arrive to work early and sometimes have to stay very late depending on the deadline. I learned about office politics very quickly. During work did not communicate wtih management. The hardest part of the job was dealing with multiple deadlines without any assistance.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A boring job that doesnt pay well
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Port Neches, TXMay 2, 2015
I haven't learned any new skills at this job it can be done by pretty much anyone and there is no opportunity in this job its good as a in between jobs thing to make some money
Pros
you dont have to do anything
Cons
its boring and dosen't pay well
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work out of college, good mentoring
Member of Technical Staff (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles CASeptember 15, 2014
Group still exists as a Boeing acquisition. I think the fact that new employees to the field are not hired solely fro what they know but what the hiring manager thinks the candidate can do with mentoring.
Pros
good mentoring managers, good salary, reasonable workload
Cons
satellite systems (boeing) heavily tied to defense budget and key programs
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Zero Accountability and leadership
Senior Service Desk Administrator (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMarch 26, 2015
Wrong Leaders there is no leadership and no accountability IT and business are not on the same page. Needs more structure
Pros
Pay
Cons
Leadership and Accountability
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive company with room to grow technically
Scientist / Engineer 3 (Former Employee) –  El Segundo, CANovember 22, 2013
Intense laboratory environment with desired quick tack time to meet aggressive schedules. Individual skill set development is encouraged by the engineering team. Team members are a pleasure to interact with on the floor. Skill set development for the manufacturing team can be challenging due to the need for specific traits that the assigned individual may not possess. However task completion and watching team growth is very gratifying.
Pros
generation of team bonding
Cons
inability of being able to keep a cohesive group together for long periods
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Fort Myers, FLSeptember 22, 2012
Answer phones, respond to emails, file and scan tax returns and tax documents, organize, offer simple computer solutions. Work in Quick Books processing tax returns and accounting tasks. Providing customer service in person, over the phone and by E-mail. Scheduling meetings, preparing company memos, and making travel arrangements.
Pros
free lunch on occassion and friendly staff
Cons
stressful environment due to the nature of the industry.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a contract employee training
Data Entry/ Time Card Auditor (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZJune 29, 2012
working for Hughs/Raytheon was a great challenge I found my self doing data and greatly accomplishing it with such speed and then was asked to perform audits on employees timecards while they were at there desks, I enjoyed this task the most i worked at both sites in tucson, and was given the oppertunity to meet so many employees, my contract ended after 5 years.
Pros
working various sites
Cons
this was a contract job
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good place to work, we listened to music all the time.
Class A Assembler/ Testwell Technician (Former Employee) –  Huntington Beach, CANovember 18, 2011
I was paided more than most of the people I was associated with at the time, three weeks vacation a year after 5 years, two after two years, plenty of sick time if needed, the benefits were fair.
Pros
hardley ever worked on the weekends, picnic and christmas party every year.
Cons
could be repetitious work
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is an emergency contract position - the company is Baker Hughes
Wintel Administrator - Tech 5 (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 28, 2013
The work is interesting and I am well suited to it.
The manangement is disorganized and in a state of flux.
The pay is very low.
Pros
interesting work and coworkers. overtime is sometimes approved
Cons
no benefits, no vacation, no paid holidays. work load is very high and backlog is increasing.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and nice environment
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  New YorkSeptember 26, 2014
I was a contracted department manager. I gained additional experience supervising a large group of contract attorneys. The best part of the job was working with many people on a daily basis.
Pros
self starter.
Cons
the job was only temporary.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, challenging and a leader in missile technology
Sr Multi-Disciplined Engineer I with Honors (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZ 85705January 13, 2014
1. 9/80 work week with flexible hours
2. Good intelligent and courteous co-workers
3. Good team working environment
4. Management works with employees
5. Exciting work
Pros
good healthcare, 9/80 work week, flexible hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
SMT Operator (Former Employee) –  San Marcos, CAFebruary 4, 2014
Bucket of Knowledge, i was honored to work for this company where I was able to elaborate my understanding and approaching skills. Door where open to big military defense companies such as Boeing, General Atomics and many more. Great experience.
Pros
guidelines
Cons
procrastination
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 45 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5