Find companies:
Humana
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
665 reviews

Humana Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
RN Senior Case Manager (Current Employee), Peoria, ILSeptember 1, 2014
I love my job, coworkers and boss. Work from home most days.xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just okay
Healthcare Spending Account Analyst (Current Employee), Louisville, KYSeptember 1, 2014
Humana talks a big game with regards to salary and benefits. Unless you are actively recruited through their collage recruiting/internship programs, you will be grossly underpaid. And their medical benefits are terrible (HDHPs with deductibles on the higher end of what is legal). Dental and vision are pretty good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UR Nurse
Utilization Review Nurse (Former Employee), Dublin OhioAugust 30, 2014
Pros
Work at Home
Decent Benefits
Nice Staff
Good Work Life Balance
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
OPERATION SPECIALIST, MAIL ROOM CLERK (Former Employee), Louisville, KYAugust 29, 2014
Humana can be a good place to work, possibility to eventually move up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company will continue to grow in the industry
o Project Administrator (Investor Relations) (Former Employee), Louisville, KYAugust 27, 2014
Pros: parking was partially paid for and they assisted in paying for college
Cons: healthcare was expensive even though it is a health insurance company
Working for Humana Inc. was a very rewarding experience. The top management team worked hard and expected the same work ethic from the subordinates
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Analyst
Database Analyst (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLAugust 27, 2014
Great company to work for. Push for work/life balance. Encourage associates to volunteer in the community.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PRODUCTIVE PLACE TO WORK
Pharmacy Customer Care Specialist (Current Employee), Irving, TXAugust 27, 2014
LEARNED HOW TO GIVE A GREAT MEMBER EXPERIENCE...GOOD COMPANY
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I had very good co-workers
Medicare Enrollment Specialist (Current Employee), Louisville, KYAugust 26, 2014
Pros: very good group to work with
Cons: the working conditions
I enjoyed working with the group of people I worked with. I maintained the cleanliness of the company we cleaned for. I also assisted my manager with timekeeping for payroll and ordering supplie.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company
Program Manager (Current Employee), Louisville, KYAugust 24, 2014
Pros: great incentives and work from home policies
Cons: rapid growth
Excellent opportunity. Great environment to develop own path for upward mobility
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Employees
Customer Service Agent (Former Employee), Twin Falls IDAugust 21, 2014
Pros: helping kids
Cons: low pay with no room for advancement
I ran a class room of my own and had study skills classes. I kept the kids organized and made sure all homework and class work was done on time. I also kept in touch via phone and email with teachers and parents. This was a very rewarding job helping kids succeed.
I also had lunch duty with other para's and crosswalk.
this was a great place to work – more... with great staff members.
my favorite part of the job was watching the kids get their grades up and to start seeing success! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caring collaborative work environment
RN Case Manager (Current Employee), Saint Petersburg, FLAugust 21, 2014
Teamwork full of caring, compassionate, knowledgable people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced csr
Insurance Agent (Former Employee), bishops laneAugust 18, 2014
answering lots of calls-qualifying people for medical insurance -fun environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company.
Broker (Former Employee), Memphis, TNAugust 17, 2014
Worked their to support the rollout of the Affordable Care Act.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CAC Florida Medical Centers
CAC former employee (Former Employee), Orlando FLAugust 16, 2014
Cons: no empathy or rapport with patiens with needs, they are just money makers
This people are a joke, they don't care about patients, they just care about money. Lots of turnovers with Employees. Poor salary. They are racist with the africanerican comunity and if you are not Latino they don't need you. The doctors at the centers are absent at all times. Transportation for patients always late. If you are not part of Careplus – more... health care you are not business for them. They even push and lie to patients to enroll them on Careplus health insurance. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and enjoyable workplace
Claims Specialist (Current Employee), Newport News VirginiaAugust 15, 2014
Pros: company that cares about there members have has great benefits
Cons: no cons for me
I work with a great group of people and management is very professtional. I enjoy what I do and often volunteer for the overtime hours that sometimes become available. They also allowed me to work from home in Virginia.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people to work with
costumer service (Former Employee), Killeen, TXAugust 14, 2014
got to different people everyday and loved working and being able to help others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Customer Care Coordinator (Former Employee), Louisville, KYAugust 14, 2014
Pros: great healthcare
Cons: limited space to grow within the company
Supported and resolved all member and physician telephone inquiries regarding insurance benefits and claim payments. Processed insurance claims. Explained and interpreted insurance benefits to customers as well as physician offices. Verified benefits and member eligibility. Acted as a liaison between members and physicians to obtain proper referrals – more... and pre-authorizations for medical procedures. Verified proper billing of claims and alerted any fraudulent billing practices to the Resolutions and Fraud department. Introduced and up-sold new products and services to members and physicians. Performed team lead role, assisted the supervisor with training new employees and with monitoring break and lunch schedules. Monitored employee calls for proper quality assurance practices. Assisted fellow employees with questions and proper claim processing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Metairie, LAAugust 13, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: to many short breaks
A typical day at work started with opening mail and separating all claims. Distribute all mail. Type letters to patients that explained what the benefits of their insurance was. Also typed letters that explained what amount their insurance paid and what amount the patient was responsible for.

My coworkers were great to work with. Management explained – more... how to keep the office running at a smooth pace.

The hardest part of the job was explaining to patients that their insurance was not effective until the next month. I was not allowed to inform any coworker what I knew. The most enjoyable part of the job was working with friendly people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company is Fantastic; Management...Not So Much
Medicare Risk Adjustment Coding Specialist (Current Employee), Metairie/Baton Rouge, LA divisionAugust 13, 2014
Pros: 7 hours of accruing pto per pay period, fantastic 401k, dental plan is one of the best around, rewarded for staying physically active through the use of a pedometor
Cons: poor management, sedentary during your entire office day.
Humana is an amazing company with the best benefits, including 401K I have seen in a long time. Humana thrives on being a Wellness company and wants every employee to be their best mentally and physically while thriving to achieve the success each employee desires.

That philosophy DOES happen within this company, just not in the department I work in – more... due to the manager. I would love to continue to work for this company until retirement, again, just not for this manager. The only joy in this management team is the Front Line Lead that has a heart of gold. Unfortunately, the turn around for this regional department is quite high.

A typical day at work is working 8 hours, reviewing records, averaging 50+ a day is the company requirement. It is a quiet area. Other departments are often heard laughing and eating together, enjoying their coworkers.

I have learned a great deal about HCC coding, use of software such as 3M, Epic, OCW, e-star, e-tool Verisk/Mediconnect systems, through hands-on trial and error mostly.

The hardest part of this job is that there is no manual here for new hires. The guidelines are constantly changing within the department, often without notice for some coding scenarios. There was very little training when hired, which is a negative for people coming in that have little to no experience with HCC coding versus standard medical office coding. Again, this is not the case for entire MRA division, just this specific regional department.

The most enjoyable part of the job, for me, has been, being able to gain confidence in my ICD-9 and ICD-10 knowledge. Watching accuracy rise month to month is a very accomplishing feeling.

In conclusion, Humana, overall, is an amazing company to work for. I truly love what I do and have no complaints about the "actual job" and what is required of me on a daily basis. It, unfortunately, like every organization, has some bad apples in the bunch that ruins it for potentially life-long employees. I just happen to land under a bad tree.

Don't be discouraged from working for this company...just pick a different department to appy to if you are in my geographical area. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Wellness Coordinator Specialist (Current Employee), Orlando, FLAugust 13, 2014
The time, I've spent working for humana have been challenging and encouraging. I have the oppurtunity to help others, achieve goals and maintain a healthy lifestyle.

About Humana

Humana Inc. (Humana) is a full-service benefits solutions company, offering an array of health and supplemental benefit plans – Read more