Find companies:
Humana
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
604 reviews

Humana Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
professional and busy call center atmosphere
Enrollment Specialist (Former Employee), Louisville, KYJune 30, 2014
Inbound and outbound calls to assist in submission of tax forms
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for Humana
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Tempe, AZJune 27, 2014
Pros: great quality, loved the environment, great aht.
Took inbound and outbound customer service calls for customer's who would need to order they're pharmacy medications via the mail. I had great quality, AHT (Average Handle Time), and was an all around all star player. I had to relocate a great distance and currently am looking for similar work immediately. Co workers at Humana were awesome, management – more... was even better surprisingly. The hardest part of the job was too obtain 95% or above quality, but too be honest, that was also the funnest part. I worked there for over 2 years, so I obviously had no problem there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace to be at.
Project Lead (Current Employee), Louisville,KYJune 26, 2014
Pros: team management
Cons: non
Good work place.
Could acquire good knowledge.
Good Management.
Team spirit is good among co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to gain skill sets in the field
Claims Pharmacy Billing and Enrollment Service Rep (Current Employee), Tampa, FLJune 25, 2014
Pros: great place to meet great people
Cons: the unflexible work schedule
my review basically is coming to work signing on and taking calls daily from members providers ect i did learn a lot of great things out there
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Management
Auditing Coder Specialist (Former Employee), RemoteJune 24, 2014
Pros: loved the actual job
Cons: supervisor, no structure, high stress
Management has no idea what they are doing, but expect you to. Very terrible training! Spent more time running her personal errands then learning the system & the job.
Once you are in your workplace you a required to know your job with constant changes that are not explained to you. You are watched like a hawk & harassed even more. Gulf South is the – more... worst area to work for. You have a bipolar micromanager supervisor!
Humana will stand behind the supervisors and not the employee. They have a huge turn over rate & cannot keep anyone because of her! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
REMOTE/TELECOMMUTE
Analyst, MC Risk Adjustment-Sr PRD (Current Employee), ATLANTA, GEORGIAJune 24, 2014
EXCITING, NO MICROMANAGEMENT, PROBLEM SOLVING, ENJOYABLE.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved cross-training opportunities and advancement
Integrated Specialist (Former Employee), LINETJune 20, 2014
Pros: the pay and challenging work tasks.
Cons: many hours of mandatory overtime.
I loved being trained in different areas of the department. They made the job a fun place to work by having potlucks and activities outside on slow days. The pay was great as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive place to work!
Grievance & Appeals Analyst (Current Employee), Cincinnati, OHJune 18, 2014
I have worked here for 10 years and I love it. Great co-workers and awesome benefits, and good compensation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HANDS DOWN THE WORST COMPANY EVER TO WORK FOR!!!
UM RN (Former Employee), FloridaJune 16, 2014
Pros: free lunches 1st week in louisville, ky
Cons: abusive, unorganized, hypocritical, condescending, discriminatory, judgmental, dishonest management
Orientation at headquarters in Louisville, KY was pretty good; people were energetic, happy, fun, gave good vibes about the company regarding wellness, diversity, team spirit, & ongoing training & other opportunities, and they say..."no one quits Humana cuz it's so great!" Well, after getting to my home office, my on the job "one-on-one" training (along – more... with 2 others) lasted total of 7 days. Rest of training you had to do online at home, taking countless hours, numerous computer issues/crashes, calls to IT, never received all required equipment to even do the job. Was expected to have entire job memorized in 1st month, not allowed to ask questions for further clarification, otherwise you get written up for "not being focused, unorganized." The so-called trainers (front line leaders) have no experience in training...they sit there across the table IM'ing each other acting like high-schoolers, judging & bashing each new employee then tattling their assumptions & accusations to the mgr, with whom you never see, nor can prove them wrong in their blatant lies. While they are supposed to be training us, they sit there doing their own work, making phone calls on personal & business lines, personal texting, and constant interruptions that inhibit any type of learning. Being shoved in small office was also not conducive to effective learning, especially when FLLs have to go out to smoke frequently. They treated you like a child, like a nuisance, and nit-picked every thing you did, & you're not allowed any mistakes to be made in your 1st 90 days or you're written up for any reason. Was never given name tag; our job title changed 7 times (since this was new position in area). Was supposed to visit with patients at facilities, but after 2nd week was told I had to be just a telephonic nurse. None of us ever did this UM position before in our careers, but was expected to know everything about Medicare, Humana's criteria for discharge, length of stays; your opinion & years of bedside experience & critical thinking skills couldn't prove or justify that every case is different depending on patients' medical history..Customer service & satisfaction was not the goal...it is purely to make the insurance company more money to rip off more people. Leaders are extremely disrespectful, condescending, abusive, constant criticism, unorganized, very hypocritical, judgmental/discriminatory, rude in every form of communication (in which I highly recommend saving copies of). Plus they refuse to reimburse all expenses incurred since day 1 in KY. Had to call an attorney. Worst company ever, which was so sad, having just come from the best company..just needed a different career path due to relocation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunities
Administrative Service Coordinator (Former Employee), El Paso, TXJune 16, 2014
Pros: everthing
Cons: nothing
Great opportunities for advancement, loved the managers and learning opportunities they provide
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
to get by
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Irving, TXJune 15, 2014
I had fun meeting lots of different people this place was all about getting to know your peers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service rep
Customer Service Care Specialist (Former Employee), Tampa, FLJune 9, 2014
At Humana, I was delivering value and quality, providing guidance on their needs, and actively engaging with our members through every step of their road to wellness. As an associate I provided Perfect Service every day to our members, employers, providers and colleagues. As a Customer Care Specialist I responded directly to questions and provide guidance – more... on transactions, inquires, or complaints from consumers. Educate customers, providers and employers about Humana‚Äôs products and services both. I receive, document and resolve customer inquiries by using established best practices so the member had perfect service and guidance. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales of Medicare products was primary focus
Career Agent - Medicare Sales (Former Employee), ArkansasJune 7, 2014
Pros: maret-share was high, well known label, good pricie focus but only on what they want you to sell. otherwise not competitive.
Cons: micro management, gps tracking of vehicle, calls and time
Humana was a great place to learn and understand the federal guidelines for Medicare advantage put is no place for a seasoned agent to work. They are heavy in Micro-Awhereness previously known as "MIcro Management" and do not like for employees to have much input. I enjoyed my position there when left alone to make sales and was the top agent in the – more... state my first year there.The time needed to service existing client is important and it was difficult with the marketing load they placed on you. The maintenance side of their philosophy is unrealistic for someone seasoned as an agent with a client base. The sales people there were good people and I made some good friends – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Progressive Values-based Compnay
Sr. Medicare Analyst/ Learning Facilitator (Current Employee), Louisville, KYJune 4, 2014
Humana is a good company for those looking to climb the corporate latter and retire.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff in Chicago were some of the best that I've ever worked with.
Large Commercial Account Executive (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJune 2, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: management instability
Management had high turnover. The staff was talented and hard-working.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Purpose, prioritize, and productivity.
Account Concierge Specialist (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OhioJune 1, 2014
Operated in a relaxed work environment, while deadlines are in place for timely devilry of resolution results-
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Company
Order Entry Clerk (Former Employee), Springdale ohioMay 29, 2014
Terrible Management
Micro Managed
Life Sucking
Negativity
Emotionally draining
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT PLACE TO WORK.
Customer Care Representative (Current Employee), Irving, TXMay 28, 2014
LEARNED GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE SKILLS,LEARNED ALOT ABOUT MEDICARE
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Customer Care Specialist (Former Employee), DePere, WIMay 28, 2014
Any and all things that were performed on a daily basis are confidential to Humana
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had to travel an average of 100 to 300 miles a day
Sales Representative (Former Employee), El Paso, TXMay 27, 2014
Pros: great pay
Cons: terrible customer service
We were told we didn't have to work weekends but of course we were also told that working weekends would be better for us.
So typical day was calling by phone to get managements views on how sales were going.
Had to go to office at least once a week for team mtg. and two or more times a month for agent of day.
What I learned was that the top priority – more... was sell, sell, sell !!!
My first manager was a top notch person; demanding but reasonable.
Second manager was young but very sophisticated but somewhat aloof.
Third manager was all of the above plus very approachable and interested in us as sales agents and as individuals. – less

About Humana

Humana Inc. (Humana) is a full-service benefits solutions company, offering an array of health and supplemental benefit plans – Read more