Find companies:
Humana
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
629 reviews

Humana Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive work environment
Customer Service Specialist (Account Processing) (Former Employee), Louisville, KYJuly 24, 2014
- Hard work that pays off if you stay long enough to learn.
- Management for the most part is above par
- Great pay
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good beginning job
Healthcare (Current Employee), San Antonio, TXJuly 23, 2014
Pros: 90 minutes of wellness time.
Cons: no feedback from middle management.
This is a great job to enhance your skills to work as a team and learn the medical terminology. Middle management lacks leadership knowledge because there are no classes for that level of management in the company. Employees provided suggestions and solutions to provide better business to costumers and no changes are ever applied. Co-workers are easy – more... to get along with but it does seem every section does business differently. The hardest part of the job is providing solutions and receiving no feedback. The most enjoyable part of the job is working with the military case managers and beneficiary. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The worst position I've had in a long time.
OFFICE MANAGER (Former Employee), Louisville, KYJuly 22, 2014
Cons: owner
This is a mom and pop shop. Boss was horrible and abusive. Rest of the staff non-inclusive - didn't like my lifestyle. Wouldn't recommend ever working here. Too small.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
RightSource Pharmacy Customer Service Specialist (Current Employee), Tempe, AZJuly 16, 2014
Pros: schedule wasn't too bad and location
Cons: pay was low
Enjoyed working with a great group of people.
Management is very different and was changing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at work
Software Test Analyst (Former Employee), Louisville, KYJuly 15, 2014
I liked the management of HUMANA. Meeting schedules and milestones was our priority thus the whole team had similar goal. I enjoyed working with my team members
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a nice place
AE Specialist (Former Employee), Louisville KyJuly 15, 2014
Pros: the hours, benefits, pay
Cons: alot management did not know the positions we were training on, the parking
I learned about medicare and how to process the applications. Did not care too much for the a lot of the co-workers due to they were just manipulative I respected them as my co-workers and spoke to them but not on a personal level. Hardest part of my job was when the supervisor and team lead did not the work we were assigned therefor leaving stuck in – more... dark when we needed questioned answered. The best part was when we did get together as a team and had lunch or played games to get to know each other better. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professionally stimulating organization!
Senior Technical Project Manager (Former Employee), Louisville, KYJuly 15, 2014
Pros: healthy style cafe and dinner!
Cons: downtown parking can be challenging - especially in adverse weather.
Typical work day is 8 to 9 hours;
Associates are professional and courteous;
Project portfolio programs are well organized and prioritized;
Supports a large PMO center of excellence;
Ammenities include a private gym, bike rental and many discount programs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Stressful, unorganized, unnecessary workflows
RN, Clinical Advisor (Former Employee), TelecommuteJuly 12, 2014
Pros: the amount of time invested in onboarding. put you up in very nice hotels, meals, flights all paid for, upfront.
I worked with this company 1yr 1month. I have a very strong managed care background, and this company, Humana is the worst I have ever been employed with. I don't think its the company, its the management!!! The worst UM department. I was hired for telephonic AND onsite review. New position, created in my area, where Humana was being introduced. Telecommute – more... position. Home office and management 6hrs away. I received 4 wks of training, flying back and forth between KY (corporate office 2ks) and Home UM office south fl 2ks for training....then on my own to telecommute. TOTAL DIASTER!! A total set up for failure, being so far away. Oh and not to mention the metrics, the case load that those metrics had to meet. I felt mislead. A job description was never given as to what the job entailed. I figured UM was just that UM/concurrent review. utilizing guidelines, M&R criteria. OH NOOOOOOO. Had to meet with patients face to face, their families....total case management for onsite review.....then telephonic reviews with case management, work on SNF placement, going back and forth trying to find placement. I could go on and on. Something I did not sign up for. Not to mention system crashes, the inservices and meetings that took up so much time during the day. I was so stressed out, felt like i was losing my mind. I resigned, WITHOUT a job, and stepped out on faith to find another one. Just that bad. I don't recommend this UM department to any RN, especially for working at home......All they care about is numbers, and how they match up to other regions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gulf Coast Clinical (Nursing) Department is a mess!
Onsite RN (Former Employee), Fort Myers/ NaplesJuly 11, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: mean, unsupportive, horrible orientation process, will tweak job description once you sign up
If you enjoy working in a tense, unsupportive, disorganized and downright mean environment, then working for Humana's Gulf Coast Region is for you. The manager in Tampa is not bad but the nurse front line lead in the Gulf Coast Region (Sarasota down to Naples) is the worst boss I have ever had---disrespectful, mean, and demeaning. Case in point, of – more... the four people that started , myself included, only one was left within less than two months. The orientation in Louisville was inspiring and wonderful but the Gulf Coast region orientation was a mess! The region itself is pretty new; no one has been there more than 3 years. Most of the clinical leaders have only been there for less than two years. The bosses were disorganized and unsupportive. If you ask a question, you will not get a direct answer, just an email to refer to previous emails. I have worked in many places and I have never complained about a job environment until I got there. So good luck! But if I were you, I'd pass this one up. Don't let the job perks and the $ blind you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AN EXCELLENT COMPANY TO HAVE WORKED FOR.
MTF-Appointing Services Clerk Administrator (Former Employee), Biloxi, MSJuly 11, 2014
Pros: an excellent company and leaders
Cons: na
Primary Trainer
• Handpicked by management to serve as the Primary Trainer and supervisor exercising responsibility for conducting all training for newly hired personnel and refresher training.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved it here!
Clinical Intake Specialist (Former Employee), San Antonio TXJuly 8, 2014
Pros: job advancement opportunities
Cons: some outsourcing
I absolutely loved my job at Humana, they really care about their people and do everything they can to help each person succeed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Day
RightSource Member Services (Former Employee), Glendale, AZJuly 8, 2014
I enjoyed helping people get their medications and seeing them happy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Supplier Diversity Manager (Current Employee), Louisville, KYJuly 7, 2014
Good place to work. leadership support. team environment and support present.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting workplace and demanding work environment
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), McGregor, TXJuly 7, 2014
The people there are awesome. There are some issues with obtaining benefits, and the training system is a bit overwhelming, but the work is wonderful. The company is a great place to work for and has an incredible work culture.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Structured
Administrative Operations Support-Receptionist (Former Employee), Irving, TXJuly 7, 2014
Pros: great cafeteria
Cons: too sterile in structure
Humana is a company that was well structured, allowed no room for failure and was completely sterile in its functions

They had a great cafeteria or its employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company, bad fit
Medicare Risk Adjustment Analyst (Former Employee), Tampa, FLJuly 6, 2014
Humana has been around for a long time so I am sure it is a good company. However it was a bad fit for me. The job was mindless and boring. Would not ever try to work there again
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Humana
Dispensing (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZJuly 4, 2014
A great company to work for. A bit hard to get in to at first but when you do enjoy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Humana a Productive and Fun Place to work
Sr. Medicare Risk Adjustment Specialist (Former Employee), Louisville, KYJuly 2, 2014
Pros: compensation
A typical day at work would consist of speaking and greeting co-workers before starting work on the phones. Working in Medicare Risk Adjustment I learned how to work with the elderly population, as well as Humana members that were on disability and social security. I learned how to assist financially needy members with programs provided by Medicare – more... and Medicaid, local programs in their state that would help them with meals, medical, and fitness programs. The hardest part of my job was denying members for financial help. Sometimes the members were over by a penny but, I had to adhere to Medicare and Medicaid guidelines. I enjoyed my co-workers, and helping members that were not very trusting of giving out their personal information over the phone due to so many scams that target seniors or the disadvantaged. It was a joy to earn their trust, and follow the member through any process 100%. I took pride in going out of my way to help a member, or getting them to the correct person that could help them if I was unable to. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers with many opportunities for advancement
Billing Specialist (start) to Consultant (end) (Former Employee), Louisville, KYJuly 2, 2014
Pros: great benefits, opportunities for career advancement and training
Cons: large organization with corporate culture
Humana's greatest asset are the people! The sheer size of the organization makes the company a great workplace for an employee who desires opportunities for career advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Management
Telesales Agent (Former Employee), Tampa, FloridaJuly 2, 2014
Pros: compensation
Cons: management, lack of professionalism
I worked for Humana on the Direct Marketing Sales team. I was great at my job and promoted a fun work environment. I was always there for my teammates and worked above and beyond my specific role.
From December 2013 to May 2014, I had 4 huge life events that were causing me to be absent from work often. I was upfront with my supervisor and my manager. – more... After having to miss one more day simply because my daughter had a 102 fever, I was terminated.
They don't take into consideration that you do have a life outside of Humana. If you have no family, then this is a great place for you. If you enjoy being used negatively for the betterment of the company, go for it. I wouldn't recommend working for Humana unless you're one of those two. Or perhaps if you have a child who never gets sick and family members who never die...that should cover it. – less

About Humana

Humana Inc. (Humana) is a full-service benefits solutions company, offering an array of health and supplemental benefit plans – Read more