Find companies:
Humana
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
662 reviews

Humana Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Provider Network Consultant (Former Employee), Fayetteville, NCAugust 7, 2014
Pros: travel
Cons: limited offices in southeast
Good company with good benefits. Great opportunities if live near corporate office. Invest in employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Scheduling Specialist (Former Employee), Dayton, OHAugust 7, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: had to end(lost contract with state)
I loved the atmosphere and the people I worked with. It ended too soon.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away
Nurse (Former Employee), Louisville, KYAugust 6, 2014
Pros: pay is fairly good depending upon where you live, however, raises are unfairly given based on who you know. they are not merit based
Cons: everything
I worked at Humana in the healthcare field for awhile. You will not move up past a certain level unless you know and are friends with someone. Not only I, but others have been harassed beyond what anyone can imagine, HR will ignore it, and you will be made to be looked at as the trouble maker until you are so stressed out that you leave. Very high turnaround.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and healthy workplace
pharmacy technician (Current Employee), Springdale, OHAugust 3, 2014
enjoy working for this company because it gives the opportunity to have a well balanced work/life .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Testing Lead for Tivoli Identity Manager (Current Employee), Louisville, KYAugust 3, 2014
Good place to work.
Good work culture and co-workers.
Worked on various STLC methodologies like Waterfall, Agile
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Billing pharmacy medical rep (Former Employee), TexasJuly 30, 2014
Pros: incentices
Humana shows appreciate to each and every one of there employers every day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very tumultuous atmosphere
Medicare Sales Specialist (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXJuly 29, 2014
Pros: very good benefits
Cons: management had favorites, employees felt excluded from inner circle.
Humana could have been a wonderful place to work if there were not so many changes. The rules changed very often without proper communication from management. Co-workers were great. The clients were great. The hardest part of the job was not knowing what change was coming next, very unsettling. The most enjoyable part of the job was talking to the clients – more... from many different states. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Pharmacy technician (Former Employee), Phoenix,AZJuly 29, 2014
Pros: health care
Cons: slow production
A typical work day at Humana was strong data entry and quiet. I feel that management could have done more to raise my production level. My co-workers were always very helpful with learning new things. the most enjoyable part of my job was our weekly camp fires.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The absolute worst work experience EVER
hcm-rn (Current Employee), floridaJuly 29, 2014
Pros: no commute if you are telecommuting
Cons: curt, rude managment
If you are thinking about applying for a telephonic nursing (HCM-RN) job at this company RUN as far as you can get. Management is not interested in what it takes to make a difference in the lives of the members who hold this insurance- it is just a numbers game. Management is rude, brusque and generally uncaring. Don't expect any professionalism from – more... management. If you have a grievance and attempt to enlist the assistance of Human resources you will be told the manager has the right to do what they are doing. Also Human resources will then inform your manager that you have come to HR- so now your manager is on the warpath. They might pay well BUT you will pay the price in other ways- your health will be compromised due to sitting all day. If you can't make your numbers you will be harassed daily- your mental well being will be compromised. In closing this is the most unethical group of people I have had the misfortune of working with. Don't be drawn in by the hype they sell you- there is a reason they have to pay so well- because this company is without conscience! I only wish I could have given this corporation 0 stars because that is the true rating of it! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work!
Physician/Hospital/Ancillary Contractor (Former Employee), Metairie, LAJuly 28, 2014
Awesome place to work, excellent benefits and pay, laid back but professional.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work for. Concerned about their employees and consumers well-being. Have an excellent well-being program for both.
Sales Administration Analyst, Health and Wellness (Current Employee), Irving, TXJuly 25, 2014
Pros: excellent well-being programs, great motivator to get in shape
Work from home. Learned that there is a company out there who cares about their employees. Management is great. My co-workers are wonderful. I can't say anything is hard about my job. The most enjoyable part of the job is working with so many wonderful people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive work environment
Customer Service Specialist (Account Processing) (Former Employee), Louisville, KYJuly 24, 2014
- Hard work that pays off if you stay long enough to learn.
- Management for the most part is above par
- Great pay
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good beginning job
Healthcare (Current Employee), San Antonio, TXJuly 23, 2014
Pros: 90 minutes of wellness time.
Cons: no feedback from middle management.
This is a great job to enhance your skills to work as a team and learn the medical terminology. Middle management lacks leadership knowledge because there are no classes for that level of management in the company. Employees provided suggestions and solutions to provide better business to costumers and no changes are ever applied. Co-workers are easy – more... to get along with but it does seem every section does business differently. The hardest part of the job is providing solutions and receiving no feedback. The most enjoyable part of the job is working with the military case managers and beneficiary. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The worst position I've had in a long time.
OFFICE MANAGER (Former Employee), Louisville, KYJuly 22, 2014
Cons: owner
This is a mom and pop shop. Boss was horrible and abusive. Rest of the staff non-inclusive - didn't like my lifestyle. Wouldn't recommend ever working here. Too small.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
RightSource Pharmacy Customer Service Specialist (Current Employee), Tempe, AZJuly 16, 2014
Pros: schedule wasn't too bad and location
Cons: pay was low
Enjoyed working with a great group of people.
Management is very different and was changing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at work
Software Test Analyst (Former Employee), Louisville, KYJuly 15, 2014
I liked the management of HUMANA. Meeting schedules and milestones was our priority thus the whole team had similar goal. I enjoyed working with my team members
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a nice place
AE Specialist (Former Employee), Louisville KyJuly 15, 2014
Pros: the hours, benefits, pay
Cons: alot management did not know the positions we were training on, the parking
I learned about medicare and how to process the applications. Did not care too much for the a lot of the co-workers due to they were just manipulative I respected them as my co-workers and spoke to them but not on a personal level. Hardest part of my job was when the supervisor and team lead did not the work we were assigned therefor leaving stuck in – more... dark when we needed questioned answered. The best part was when we did get together as a team and had lunch or played games to get to know each other better. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professionally stimulating organization!
Senior Technical Project Manager (Former Employee), Louisville, KYJuly 15, 2014
Pros: healthy style cafe and dinner!
Cons: downtown parking can be challenging - especially in adverse weather.
Typical work day is 8 to 9 hours;
Associates are professional and courteous;
Project portfolio programs are well organized and prioritized;
Supports a large PMO center of excellence;
Ammenities include a private gym, bike rental and many discount programs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Stressful, unorganized, unnecessary workflows
RN, Clinical Advisor (Former Employee), TelecommuteJuly 12, 2014
Pros: the amount of time invested in onboarding. put you up in very nice hotels, meals, flights all paid for, upfront.
I worked with this company 1yr 1month. I have a very strong managed care background, and this company, Humana is the worst I have ever been employed with. I don't think its the company, its the management!!! The worst UM department. I was hired for telephonic AND onsite review. New position, created in my area, where Humana was being introduced. Telecommute – more... position. Home office and management 6hrs away. I received 4 wks of training, flying back and forth between KY (corporate office 2ks) and Home UM office south fl 2ks for training....then on my own to telecommute. TOTAL DIASTER!! A total set up for failure, being so far away. Oh and not to mention the metrics, the case load that those metrics had to meet. I felt mislead. A job description was never given as to what the job entailed. I figured UM was just that UM/concurrent review. utilizing guidelines, M&R criteria. OH NOOOOOOO. Had to meet with patients face to face, their families....total case management for onsite review.....then telephonic reviews with case management, work on SNF placement, going back and forth trying to find placement. I could go on and on. Something I did not sign up for. Not to mention system crashes, the inservices and meetings that took up so much time during the day. I was so stressed out, felt like i was losing my mind. I resigned, WITHOUT a job, and stepped out on faith to find another one. Just that bad. I don't recommend this UM department to any RN, especially for working at home......All they care about is numbers, and how they match up to other regions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gulf Coast Clinical (Nursing) Department is a mess!
Onsite RN (Former Employee), Fort Myers/ NaplesJuly 11, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: mean, unsupportive, horrible orientation process, will tweak job description once you sign up
If you enjoy working in a tense, unsupportive, disorganized and downright mean environment, then working for Humana's Gulf Coast Region is for you. The manager in Tampa is not bad but the nurse front line lead in the Gulf Coast Region (Sarasota down to Naples) is the worst boss I have ever had---disrespectful, mean, and demeaning. Case in point, of – more... the four people that started , myself included, only one was left within less than two months. The orientation in Louisville was inspiring and wonderful but the Gulf Coast region orientation was a mess! The region itself is pretty new; no one has been there more than 3 years. Most of the clinical leaders have only been there for less than two years. The bosses were disorganized and unsupportive. If you ask a question, you will not get a direct answer, just an email to refer to previous emails. I have worked in many places and I have never complained about a job environment until I got there. So good luck! But if I were you, I'd pass this one up. Don't let the job perks and the $ blind you. – less

About Humana

Humana Inc. (Humana) is a full-service benefits solutions company, offering an array of health and supplemental benefit plans – Read more