Find companies:
Humana
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
757 reviews

Humana Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Associate health and wellbeing is important here at Humana. Humana is a positive and progressive company.
Care Manager (Former Employee), Clearwater, FLOctober 16, 2014
I enjoy being an associate at Humana, they have transparency, welcome associate involvement and recognize the importance of associate health and wellbeing, not only for the worker, but for the recipients of the service provision and the share holders - they get the big picture!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company and awesome culture but very micromanaged
Marketpoint Career Agent (Former Employee), New York, NY and San Antonio, TXOctober 13, 2014
Pros: extensive training, weekly group meetings, fun outings with your team
Cons: health benefits, management
I worked at Humana for almost 2 years. I loved the extensive training and how much the company invested in my learning/advancement. I was part of their inside and outside sales departments. I was offered everything you would expect from a corporate company; great pay, PTO and benefits. Their benefits are mediocre for being an insurance company. It was – more... great that they ensured I became a licensed agent and took care of teaching me the ins and out of my job. Only complaint really is how stressful the job can be at time especially during peak insurance times like annual enrollment periods. You are highly encouraged and expected to work overtime, although I cannot complain much since you are compensated for your time unless you are a salaried employee. I also am not a fan of the management they need to put more effort into their managers to be more helpful and encouraging instead of demanding. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
humana experience
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZOctober 13, 2014
The hospitality of working as a team and achieving a goal together was quite fulfilling and rewarding. We had a saying one team one dream one humana. I learned many new task i haven't performed before such as manifest,manual scrip. The hardest part of working at humana i would say is meeting the percentage each day; of course i made my numbers but a – more... lot of people had trouble in doing so. Over all my experience working there was awesome! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Customer Service Represenative (Former Employee), Killeen, TXOctober 12, 2014
Pros: great management
Cons: no benefits
This job has all the perks you want plus BONUSES! You can advance to many management levels within a short period of time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Provider Relations Coordinator (Former Employee), Chicago, ILOctober 11, 2014
Pros: vacation time, excellent 401k package
Company is excellent demonstration of customer service and a business that knows and anticipates the needs of its customers and client by doing business strategically oriented towards the needs of its customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
disorganized with no sense of leadership
Clinical Pharmacy Review Representative (Current Employee), Tempe, AZOctober 10, 2014
Pros: free coffee, many vending machines, cafe area, large work space
Cons: no room for any growth, no real training for acual job, constant fear of job lost, mandatory ridiculous hours, almost impossible to stay compliant
a typical work day consist of very confusing and hectic calls with hardly any type of direction from managers. the policy constantly changes on a daily basis leaving no consistency and lack of job security due to "nit-picking" in quality.
for the most part the hardest part of the job is trying to follow the many many ridiculous non needed "rules" that – more... are held at Humana and most enjoyable part would be the co-workers that at least try to help each other just to get through the day – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
un-organized
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Irving, TXOctober 9, 2014
Cons: you are not giving enough information to fully answer your customers question
too many kids playing while you are trying to work on the phone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun at work with the big team. Learn various applications and technologies
Programmer Analyst (Former Employee), Louisville, KYOctober 7, 2014
Work on rotation basis on application support.
Work communication with team members and gather work status.
Enjoyable part is work culture in the team having fun and help at work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company with lots of great benefits and stability
Floor Manager/ Call Center Supervisor (Current Employee), St. PeteOctober 6, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: lack of leadership
Company is growing rapidly

There arent many companies with better benefits

The company needs more leadership
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
there is no one on your side
Staff Accountant (Current Employee), glendale azOctober 6, 2014
Management has the ability to do whatever they want with no consideration of their staff. I was forced to resign from this position due to horrible management styles and racism.
I called HR several times regarding the mistreatment at work and no one ever got back to me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Senior Bridge (Current Employee), New York, NYOctober 5, 2014
Good place to work however it is a very large company with some significant but manageable IT issues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent company. Pay not the best.
Medicare Operations Analyst (Current Employee), Louisville, KYOctober 4, 2014
Pay is very low compared to competitors. However, overall culture of company is decent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wost place i have ever worked
Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZOctober 2, 2014
Pros: lunch extensions
Cons: everything else
You are set up to fail watch out if you work here. many people get pushed out the door and treated unfairly by the lazy management taking 2 hour lunches almost daily and not treating their employees like people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting Place to work
Service Operations Specialist (Former Employee), Louisville, KYOctober 2, 2014
Pros: some of the front lead manangement made it a fun place to work, they orchestrated games to play between calls.
Cons: with the call volume being so high during opened enrollment, this made it impossible to complete the assesment that had deadlines, and hardly no time was given to complete these tasks during calls.
Working for Humana was a rewarding experience. I only wished it had been a permanent position. I learned more about the details of supporting the agent's needs and concerns when they called in.
My co-workers for the most part were friendly and approachable.
The hardest part of the job, was not knowing when the job would end, they would only tell you, – more... is that your assignment would end soon, with no concerned that you had to find future employment and there would be a gap between jobs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Clinical area is challenging at best
Technology Program Manager (Former Employee), Louisville, KYOctober 2, 2014
The people with whom I worked were overall very hard working and tried to do their best. I met and worked with many folks for whom I have the deepest respect for their work ethic and their integrity.

I learned that it is OK to say no when asked to do something that you know will lead to failure, no matter how hard you work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
Billing Specialist (Former Employee), New York, NYOctober 2, 2014
Great company to work for. Company that values there employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, never a dull moment, a feeling of importance at the end of the day
insurance contract loader for providers (Former Employee), Green Bay, WIOctober 1, 2014
Pros: no weekend, set hours, good pay
Cons: gossiping, some organizations issues
I always strive to be the best, no matter what the task at hand maybe. When I started my employment here, I was sure I wanted them to know that. I was hired as a temp and there was a very limited amount of people who were going to be offered a permanent position with the company. I was always the first person to arrive at work and the last to leave – more... for my shift. I caught on the the job extremely fast, which I was told was rare because of the complicated systems used for the job of insurance contract loading for providers. I was advancing nicely, getting chosen to take on new tasks other were not. I really enjoyed the job as a whole. The research, the data entry, the finishing of each task, it always left me feeling very accomplished at the end of the day. Unfortunately, my life took a drastic change, and I was forced to move and leave my job at this company. I had never done that before in my life with a job, and it was not easy. I still wonder where I would have ended up in that job, but know everything happens for a reason and that something great is out there waiting for me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging atmosphere
Director of Provider Contracting and Negotiations (Former Employee), Waukesha, WISeptember 29, 2014
With all the changes in the HealthCare space, Humana was an interesting place to work for the past two years. Trying to compete with United for market share in WI, Humana was struggling at best to keep up with the competition.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic environment
Lead .Net Developer (Current Employee), Louisville, KYSeptember 28, 2014
Pros: individuality and freedom to contribute our ideas.
Working with Humana molded me as a professional, the work culture is great with respect for personal space and individuality. The enthusiasm to leverage the latest technical tools in the market is a boon.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Now that the management has changed, i believe Humanna offers a very good job experience.
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee), Westchester, OH.September 26, 2014
Pros: clean, climate controlled and easy work.
This company employed alot of racist people of color. There were alot of issues as a result and the management at the time swept everything under the rug. There were definate work expectation differences according to your race with resentment and more of a great divide as the result.

About Humana

Humana Inc. (Humana) is a full-service benefits solutions company, offering an array of health and supplemental benefit plans – Read more