Find companies:
Humana
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
603 reviews

Humana Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very caring environment.
Mail Order Pharmacy (Current Employee), Cincinnati, OHMay 6, 2014
I really enjoy my employment with Humana. I am looking for a second job. I will be part time with Humana.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hated it
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHMay 5, 2014
rude coworkers, lead, nobody to talk to. humana is awesome but rightsource rx sucks!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hardworking outgoing multiply task csr
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Louisville, KYMay 5, 2014
Typical day at work is making sure job is completed, learn new ways of the job, and asking for help when needed from management and co-workers. My past experienced jobs I have worked well with others. Becoming a new employee can be hard but fun because you are learning and making new friends with the new experience. The hardest is learning all material – more... and taking that first call. From past experience of enjoying the job is making thru that first day and understanding the job isn't as hard as you think it would be. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eventful and Thorough
Direct Member Reimbursement (DMR) Specialist (Current Employee), Louisville, KYMay 5, 2014
Pros: learning something new everyday
Cons: it was time to move on
Newly created postition so it was new learnings everyday. Enjoyed the people I worked with we work hard but made the job enjoyable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Virtual Agent, working from home.
Agent and Sales Specialist (Former Employee), Columbia, MOMay 5, 2014
Working from home was a great experience. This company helped me learn my way through insurance the correct way. However, it was on my own. Not a lot of help or support through management. The hardest thing was being available to clients 24-7, making it not possible to differ from your home life. I truly enjoy working with people and setting my own – more... schedule. Making people feel more secure about their healthcare is an amazing feeling. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Humana
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZMay 5, 2014
Pros: management and co-workers, products offered
Cons: affordable care act forced company to re-evaluate staffing
Humana offers an environment of support and enrichment of the associates. My experience was a caring company with wonderful managers and co-workers, interacting to promote well designed products to clients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They treat you like a robot and overwork you then when work is done they lay you off.
MIT/Claims (Former Employee), Louisville, KYMay 1, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: bad management
I enjoyed my job and was very good at it. but management is not good, in which they ended up laying everyone off around me. I loved my job and did whatever it took to get my work done. I did a lot of overtime.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The managers at this particular job site were highly unprofessional
Service Operations/HPS HCPR Call Center (Former Employee), Tempe, AZMay 1, 2014
I did enjoy working for the company but was highly displeased with the management. There was only one manger there that I found remotely professional. As for the rest it does not matter your job performance. If they did not like you because you chose not to speak in the disrespectful way they did you pretty much were guaranteed not to be a long time – more... employee. I could go on and on about the nonprofessional experiences in my short time working with Humana. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work
Work Content Specialist (Current Employee), WatersideMay 1, 2014
Pros: flex scheduling, friendly co-workers, healthy community
Cons: rapidly changing needs, protocol oriented, poor communication
The poor communication between different levels of employees is the most prevelant negative quality about working here. Granted it has a lot to do with how rapidly the company's needs change on a weekly basis. I've learned that working here is all about following protocol and not causing to much of an upstir as far as asking questions. However, everyone – more... is pretty enjoyable and their is a community for everyone to fit into. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employee focused.
Health Systems Manager (Former Employee), TexasApril 30, 2014
Pros: great training, excellent management, communication.
Cons: physically isolated from peers & management; role clarity with mtf.
Humana Military is a very positive, employee-focused company that strives to go above and beyond for the government customer and roll with the changes, DoD budget cuts, etc. They care about employees and just about all departments work well together to help resolve issues. Great management, great associates, fun atmosphere, despite challenging tasks. – more... DoD TRICARE cuts will bring increased challenges to goals of this position. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place!!
Humana cares coordinator (Former Employee), st petersburg FLApril 30, 2014
Humana's management style is the one of micromanagement watching over every little thing employees do. Micromangement isn't conducive to productivity or it doesn't result in a good work environment.. Also they advertise that they are "hiring 350 new employees" in the local press but don't tell that they have fired (usually for little petty things) 350 – more... others. Their training sucks, they don't know what they are doing. Employees with more responsibility have nowhere to go when they have a question (specially the nurses), because the managers work from home. People sometimes quit because they don't trust the way humana works and provide training. They hired me because they were desperate for more qualified employees for their new team opening up, reviewed me after the 90 days with raving comments (the supervisor said " 23 out of 25 points, because nobody gets more than 23"), and fired me 3 weeks later, for no apparent reason. I found out later they had hired many Bachelor degrees paying them between $8.000 to $12.000 less than they paid me. It is a farm like call center where you seat all day long making phone calls to older customers trying to trick them on how caring Humana is, so they continue to give them their business. It is so much brown nose stuff that teams of personal coaches and humana cares managers call the same customer with the same questions over and over again. But humana doesn't pay for the medical services as promised in their insurance policies most of the time, not doing it's job. I had so many custumers complaining about humana not honoring its word and contracts. On the other side, hospitals go through the same thing with humana - revenues are lost because humana doesn't pay them for patients who use their insurance and were admitted. I asked to an dministrator "why?" She said : "Just because they can ".
That is nothing human about this place, it is just an eye on is revenue, corporation style, and that's all what matters to them. And tricking older elderly Americans because they are home alone and love to receive phone calls from someone. That's it. Don't' waste your time with this people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Director of Sales, (Former Employee), Anytown, USAApril 29, 2014
Pros: great pay and culture
Cons: pressure
Great company and great products. You must produce every year to stay here. Non producers are dropped quickly. On the bright side if you do produce you get paid and treated very well. Lots of pressure but in the end its worth it. Great culture and advancement opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Pace environment
Customer Care Rep (Former Employee), Tempe, AZApril 28, 2014
Pros: insurance
Cons: not a work life balance company
Not a place for people who needs work life balance not a friendly place when it comes to your life outside of work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for self-motivated individuals and great for making personalized work schedule
Care/Case Manager (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALApril 28, 2014
Pros: independent work schedule created around home/personal life
Cons: work after work; very time consuming to create patient's chart
Admission/in-home assessment of patients following immediate discharge from medical facility. Recording and documenting all patients' medical contacts as well as past and present medical history. Medications recorded to monitor patient compliance with MD orders. Weekly evaluation of each patient following initial admission to monitor for patient compliance – more... and evaluate if patient is in need of further medical assistance. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive/ Relaxing Environment
Agent Support Specialist (Current Employee), Louisville, KYApril 24, 2014
A typical day in this position is answer phone calls from Humana Agents answering any questions they have, finding solutions to their problems.

I've learned how to work with a wide variety of people.

The environment is fun and comfortable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun. good administrator
RN Case Manager (Current Employee), Daytona Beach, FLApril 24, 2014
Great

Learning

Experience

I learned a lot about insuance and healthcare
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible, service focused employer
Account Executive, Large Group (Current Employee), Minnetonka, MNApril 24, 2014
Pros: flexible office schedule
Cons: very few providers in-network in minnesota for the health plan.
Humana is dedicated to providing the "perfect service" model. With a focus on overall member well-being, they have centralized their product offering to those products associated with medical and wellness.

They offer an excellent 401k matching and vesting schedule, matching 125% of the firs 6% of contributions.

The also encourage many of their employees – more... to work remotely, offering the opportunity to realize a very healthy work/life balance, especially for employees with families. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place Environment
Workforce Analyst (Current Employee), Louisville, KYApril 24, 2014
well rounded people. great atmosphere, great pay, decent benefits. parking is fair, cafeteria over priced
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working for Conifer Health Solutions
Customer Service (Current Employee), Cincinnati, OHApril 23, 2014
Pros: i felt like they really cared about their employees
Cons: company was based out of texas
Assisted patients with questions regarding their medical bills, processed Financial Assistance Applications, processed attorney's and hospital request, as well as bankruptcy accounts and processed insurance correspondence. The hardest part of the job is making sure everything is done. The part I enjoyed the most is all of it! I love helping people it – more... gives me a great sense of satisfaction. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Appointment Setter (Former Employee), Portsmouth, VAApril 23, 2014
Great managment and workplace. Enjoyed setting appointments for the outlying military treatment facilities.

About Humana

Humana Inc. (Humana) is a full-service benefits solutions company, offering an array of health and supplemental benefit plans – Read more