Find companies:
Humana
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
635 reviews

Humana Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The communication between co-workers assist with making job performance smooth.
Accounts Payable Specialist (Current Employee), LouisvilleMay 13, 2014
Pros: freedom to work whenever. ie @ home or office
Cons: difficult to advance.
As a specialist, I enjoy helping people with issues to ensure peace of mind. I respond to phone calls and emails throughout the day regarding a variety of issues. I sort and distribute mail daily. Update and correspond via emails, phone calls, faxes, IM's, etc.
I have learned to look at the underlying issue and get to the root of the issue in a timely – more... manner that saves time and allows task to be completed to create the perfect customer experience. the hardest part of my job is delivering bad news when you can not assist a person in need. I have learned to deliver bad news with a smile that is exceptable to the customer. There are two areas I most enjoyable about me job. 1. Helping others 2. My co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Humana is a highly competitive place to work and very stressful work environment
Nurse Case Manager (Current Employee), Daytona Beach, FLMay 13, 2014
Pros: 1 hour breaks and paid holiday
Cons: workplace demands
To met the demands and comply with all regulator requirements it is concerned the hardest place I have ever had to work, but there is great opportunity for learning.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and up tempo but fun
Agent Support Representative (Former Employee), Louisville, KYMay 12, 2014
Customer service support for insurance agents
great job
great way to move up
Had to research a lot of info
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life Balance is always a positive and they had that, plus great benefits, compensation, advancement. I would give them a 4.
Sr. Products Project Analyst Compliance Department (Former Employee), Louisville, KYMay 10, 2014
One would either review projects from the previous day and follow up/complete them. Then touch basis with management to see if there are any projects coming up as well as deadlines. Check all emails for any follow up projects from the day before as well as any requests for materials needed from various departments. Management easy to work with as well – more... as co-workers, everyone has the same common goal always representing the Company in a positive manner. Networking with co-workers from various departments throughout the Organization was always enlightening. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall positive experience with a lot of growth oppotunity and learning on the job.
Clinical Advisor for Humana Achieve (Former Employee), Irving, TXMay 10, 2014
Pros: working from home the last 3 years; constant change to improve program
Cons: priorities of the company seemed to change as they expanded, with quality replaced with quantity served.
I started my employment with CORPHEALTH, in Ft. Worth and was very satisfied with the work environment, opportunity to learn computer skills and the philosophy of the company. As the company was renamed LifeSynch and moved to Arlington it continued to have the same priority of the member in mind as well as the morale of the employees.
As the company – more... was bought by Humana, there was a shift in priorities and I often did not know what the priority or focus was at the time. Once I was allowed to work from home, my focus was on the success of the member outcome. Through the last 3 years, it has become increasingly difficult to know what the actual mission was as I was told to pre-maturely close cases to make room for more, or not make active members and their goals my priority, but to activate as many as possible. the turn-over rate of clinical advisors began to rise due to frustration of lack of our ethical commitment to members we promised a service. My immediate supervisor and her Manager were supportive and respected my frustration with not being able to function within my standards of work ethic.
I made the choice to resign as I could no longer feel satisfied or proud of the work at the end of the day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable part of my job
Patient Coordinator/Patient Advocate (Current Employee), Albany, GAMay 9, 2014
The most enjoyable part of my day was when I feel a sense of accomplishment by being able to help a veteran.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for a healthcare GIANT
Manager Claims Operations (Former Employee), Louisville , KYMay 8, 2014
Pros: flex time for the workers
Cons: favoritism, who do you know
Overall working for Humana was great. I met a lot of great co-workers, learned a great deal about the industry. Within 15 years with the company I grew to the level of Manager, which was beyond my expectations. However, when you reach a certain level within the service operational area it becomes not what you have accomplished but whom you know and – more... watching your back for that bus that is silently roaring behind you. Peers become rude, leadership & direction become non-existence, and things that don’t get accomplished become a blame game and a massive forest fire that with a brainstorming session would only be a brush fire. Now don’t get me wrong some parts of service operations are wonderful with great leadership. I have been on both sides the commercial ops for 1 year & Medicare side of service ops for 14 years. In my humble opinion it comes down to the leadership. Leadership can break or make a company. Leadership within certain areas of the company only looks at Data and numbers but what are the numbers telling you about the people behind the numbers. I remember a leader telling me numbers are the closest things to God. I don't think God keeps ticky sheets of what a person did wrong or right. It is about learning and growing. Leadership views coaching as strike 1, 2 & 3 you’re out of there. Coaching is and should be how can I help you be successful!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with the military personnel was rewarding
Service Center Manager (Former Employee), College Park GeorgiaMay 7, 2014
Pros: claims research
Cons: no upward mobility
Educating active duty and retired military personnel about their medical benefits was the best part of the day. Researching claims was a rewarding challenge.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Customer Care Specialist (Former Employee), Cary, NCMay 7, 2014
Great hrs, Great pay, Great management. This is a great landscaping job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job culture
Licensed Insurance Agent (Former Employee), Fort Mill, SCMay 7, 2014
Pros: great people
Cons: no job security
a typical day was that of fear of job security. We had strict sales quotas and there was always the threat of the whole unit being closed. This eventually happened in October 2012.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Company!
Operations Analyst (Former Employee), Louisville, KYMay 6, 2014
I was very excited when I got the chance to work for Humana. I left the position I was at with another company to move over. I had an awesome time working with other up-beat co-workers, and wonderful management. I worked in the Security Administration department, processing requests to add security for users. Even though we did the same thing daily, – more... I was still happy about going into work every day.

My only downside would be that it was a contract position of just 1 year. Personal thoughts on this would be to extend the contracts, so there's less turn over rate, and less things that get messed up by having a new person(s) in yearly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very caring environment.
Mail Order Pharmacy (Current Employee), Cincinnati, OHMay 6, 2014
I really enjoy my employment with Humana. I am looking for a second job. I will be part time with Humana.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hated it
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHMay 5, 2014
rude coworkers, lead, nobody to talk to. humana is awesome but rightsource rx sucks!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hardworking outgoing multiply task csr
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Louisville, KYMay 5, 2014
Typical day at work is making sure job is completed, learn new ways of the job, and asking for help when needed from management and co-workers. My past experienced jobs I have worked well with others. Becoming a new employee can be hard but fun because you are learning and making new friends with the new experience. The hardest is learning all material – more... and taking that first call. From past experience of enjoying the job is making thru that first day and understanding the job isn't as hard as you think it would be. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eventful and Thorough
Direct Member Reimbursement (DMR) Specialist (Current Employee), Louisville, KYMay 5, 2014
Pros: learning something new everyday
Cons: it was time to move on
Newly created postition so it was new learnings everyday. Enjoyed the people I worked with we work hard but made the job enjoyable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Virtual Agent, working from home.
Agent and Sales Specialist (Former Employee), Columbia, MOMay 5, 2014
Working from home was a great experience. This company helped me learn my way through insurance the correct way. However, it was on my own. Not a lot of help or support through management. The hardest thing was being available to clients 24-7, making it not possible to differ from your home life. I truly enjoy working with people and setting my own – more... schedule. Making people feel more secure about their healthcare is an amazing feeling. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Humana
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZMay 5, 2014
Pros: management and co-workers, products offered
Cons: affordable care act forced company to re-evaluate staffing
Humana offers an environment of support and enrichment of the associates. My experience was a caring company with wonderful managers and co-workers, interacting to promote well designed products to clients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They treat you like a robot and overwork you then when work is done they lay you off.
MIT/Claims (Former Employee), Louisville, KYMay 1, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: bad management
I enjoyed my job and was very good at it. but management is not good, in which they ended up laying everyone off around me. I loved my job and did whatever it took to get my work done. I did a lot of overtime.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The managers at this particular job site were highly unprofessional
Service Operations/HPS HCPR Call Center (Former Employee), Tempe, AZMay 1, 2014
I did enjoy working for the company but was highly displeased with the management. There was only one manger there that I found remotely professional. As for the rest it does not matter your job performance. If they did not like you because you chose not to speak in the disrespectful way they did you pretty much were guaranteed not to be a long time – more... employee. I could go on and on about the nonprofessional experiences in my short time working with Humana. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work
Work Content Specialist (Current Employee), WatersideMay 1, 2014
Pros: flex scheduling, friendly co-workers, healthy community
Cons: rapidly changing needs, protocol oriented, poor communication
The poor communication between different levels of employees is the most prevelant negative quality about working here. Granted it has a lot to do with how rapidly the company's needs change on a weekly basis. I've learned that working here is all about following protocol and not causing to much of an upstir as far as asking questions. However, everyone – more... is pretty enjoyable and their is a community for everyone to fit into. – less

About Humana

Humana Inc. (Humana) is a full-service benefits solutions company, offering an array of health and supplemental benefit plans – Read more