Humboldt State University Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 24 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only for college students
Stocker/Utilities Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Arcata, CAJuly 29, 2015
The day was straight forward for a stocker. Clocked in at 6am to make sure our daily orders are checked and processed on time. There were times when our deliveries wouldn't make it on time causing distress with the cooks and managers.

As Utilities coordinator, rigorous at times because making sure that everyone in my crew was doing their their job felt like I was babysitting. Then if something wasn't done right, for example at lunch time, I would get heat for it.

I only stayed there with them because it was convenient for me because I was a student at the college and they worked with my schedule.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great way to keep your skills fresh
Teacher Assistant (Current Employee) –  Arcata, CaMay 23, 2015
Being a teachers assistant for intro statistics was a great experience. I got to keep my own tools sharp while also gaining the hands on experience of helping other learns.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
willing to work with class schedules
Library Documents Assistant (Former Employee) –  Arcata, CAMarch 8, 2015
This was a great job for the college student. I was able to work around my class schedule which made the situation less overwhelming. My boss was very patient in teaching me the new classification systems, as well as using the software to update records.
Pros
flexibility, interesting, productive environment
Cons
short breaks, often times tasks were finished early
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ever changing environment
Associate Athletic Director (Former Employee) –  Arcata, CAFebruary 23, 2015
Constant turnover in management, lead to confusion and to high turnover in the department. Co workers were excellent, yet the university did not value intercollegiate athletics
Pros
area and commitment to students
Cons
turnover in department leadership
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse population
Teacher's Assistant (Current Employee) –  Arcata, CAFebruary 5, 2015
Amazing employer, diverse population that is served. When working with this employer I feel comfortable to voice suggestions and opinions.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
Instructional Assistant (Former Employee) –  Arcata, CAOctober 2, 2014
Grading homework and exams for math and statistics courses; group tutoring in the Math Tutoring Lab, one-on-one tutoring in math and computer science, creating exercises and promoting study skills for students.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Neat place to work
Student Manager (Former Employee) –  Arcata, CAAugust 17, 2014
It was a neat place to work. The students were neat. The staff was neat.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Humboldt State University is one of the 23 campuses of California State University System with excellent reputation.
Distinguished University Professor (Former Employee) –  Arcata, CAAugust 4, 2014
My typical day started at 7 a.m. and finished after 7 or 8 p.m. I also did work at home afterwards.
I developed excellent management skills running different departments and programs.
Pros
learning opportunities
Cons
university compensation is much less than industry
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Graduate Researcher (Former Employee) –  Arcata, CAJuly 11, 2014
Graduate school is always challenging. Great advisor and available equipment
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for student employment
Student Data Technician (Former Employee) –  Arcata, CAJune 30, 2014
worked here as a student, flexible with scheduling, easy work assignments that can be completed with proper training.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meeting new professors was always a blast.
OFFICE ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Arcata, CAMay 13, 2014
I loved getting to know more professors and being able to expand my knowledge.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice school!
software programmer (Former Employee) –  arcata, CAMarch 3, 2014
• Developed iPhone games and applications by using Objective-C in Xcode under Mac OS system
• Analyzed code for system testing and debugging; created test transactions to find, isolate and rectify issues. Tasks included enhancements, maintenance and support for clients’ applications and interfaces
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great university
Behavioral Researcher (Former Employee) –  Arcata, CAFebruary 20, 2014
I attended HSU for only 3 semesters, and transferred to UNH for financial reasons, but it was a great university.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working job with benefits.
Building Manager (Former Employee) –  Arcata, CAJanuary 14, 2014
I set-up for evens such as concerts, dances, or anything the university could come up with. I manage a building so all the responsibility falls onto my hands if something goes wrong. I enjoy working on campus and having the accessibility of my campus at my finger tips.
Pros
on-campus all the time and physically demanding
Cons
limited hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
college job
Dining Services Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Arcata, CADecember 16, 2013
part time college job... it helped pay the bills
free food and drinks
Pros
free food
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job for a student
Receptionist for the School of Business (Former Employee) –  Arcata, CAOctober 14, 2013
I didn't work a whole lot of hours, but I loved working with the people and my managers. I managed the calendar, filed, organized the computer files, and did miscellaneous receptionist tasks
Pros
not strenuous, worked around my schedule
Cons
not many hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Living Group Advisor
Living Group Advisor (Former Employee) –  Arcata, CASeptember 18, 2013
Being an advisor at your school can be difficult but really rewarding at the same time. Most universities pay for your room and board for that year you're working and that saved me from having to accept a loan that year. It's a really good chance to meet lots of cool people and get involved.
Pros
free room and board
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research Assistant
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Arcata, CAJuly 10, 2013
I learned how to do research in an academic setting to be reviewed in an academic peer reviewed journal
Pros
experience
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
OFFICE ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Arcata, CAMay 28, 2013
I loved working here, everyone was nice and polite to me. the most enjoyable part for me was getting to know everyone, and having the pleasure of meeting new people.
Pros
the food, the people, the location.
Cons
there really are not any cons
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Going to School and Working on Campus
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Arcata, CAJanuary 31, 2013
I worked at a variety of on campus stores. I worked with other students. My boss worked around all of our school schedules. My job consisted of customer service, operating the cash register, stocking inventor and help maintain a clean and safe environment. The Hardest part of this job was the short shifts, and the fact that it felt like i was always at school.
Pros
worked around school schedule
Cons
short shfts, and always at school
Was this review helpful?Yes1No

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 24 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture