Find companies:
Hurley Medical Center
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
42 reviews

Hurley Medical Center Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to gain a lot of experience and knowledge.
SURGICAL TECHNOLOGIST (Former Employee), Flint, MISeptember 5, 2014
Pros: when a trauma came in, or something didn't go "smooth" you could count on everyone jumping in to help.
Cons: sometimes no lunches or breaks. short staff often.
I loved the challenge of working in a Level I Trauma Center. You never knew what your assignment would be day to day and never knew what would come through the doors. We had specialty teams but there was always a chance to learn new things on the off shifts and we were required to know how to do every service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clinical Excellence. Service to People.
Student (Former Employee), Flint, MIAugust 12, 2014
Hurley Medical Center receives some of the worst medical situations. As a level I trauma center, it requires the knowledge and expertise of skilled professionals to improve the health of its patients. During my time there, I had the opportunity to work with many different people and personalities. The most challenging aspect was integrating so many – more... different people into one common goal; the improvement of the patient. The most enjoyable aspect, however, was the depth and quality of learning of the discipline. With so many different personalities, you receive many different perspectives on a particular aspect of Radiology. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work environment
Cytotechnologist (Former Employee), Flint, MIJune 9, 2014
Pros: long lunches, a wonderful work environment, great co-workers, and a very organized laboratory.
Cons: not enough hours per week.
Once all morning duties were completed, I screened roughly 40 - 60 slides a day, including quality control slides. Ordered HPV testing every third week, due to rotation, and did Non-gyn preparation and screening every third week as well due to rotation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy workplace
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Flint, MIJune 3, 2014
Good teaching institution. I've learned valuable career changing skills
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work and even better for experience!
Nuclear Medicine Technologist (Current Employee), Flint, MIMay 9, 2014
Cons: you work by yourself in a 3 camera department.
You will get great experience as a Nuclear Medicine Technologist at Hurley. You do work by yourself often and it can be difficult, but the odd cases that come up and experience is plentiful. Overall, awesome place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer care and administration management.
TRANSPLANT DATA COORDINATOR (Former Employee), Flint, MIMay 1, 2014
Pros: servicing others and the ability to assist and share.
Cons: job ending
I have performed functions dealing with supervision, overseeing programs, and developing work plans, project goals and objectives. I have been responsible for collecting data, and maintaining several data systems detailing services provided to the community. From the data collected, I have generated several quarterly and annually reports that were submitted – more... to program funders. These reports were often used as Quality Assurance tools, which helped in monitoring programs and measuring along with determining opportunities for improvement. In addition, I have been responsible for conducting community needs assessments, and facilitated several client support groups that focus on social support and healthy lifestyle decisions – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job with competitive wage scale.
Certified Professional Coder (Current Employee), Flint, MIApril 20, 2014
Pros: hospital offers ability to work in all areas of medical billing
Cons: area of the city in which the hospital is located
I love the work I do at Hurley. For most of my career here I have enjoyed the Mangement team and my co-workers. The hardest part of my job is viewing physician documentation and correcting. The most enjoyable part of my job is the schedule, I am on a 4 day, 10 hour a day schedule which allows me to balance things at home easier.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work with a myriad of patients as well as staff. It's a teaching hospital so you get a chance to work with people from various areas.
Interim Assistant Director (Current Employee), Flint, MIApril 15, 2014
Pros: good paying jobs
Cons: the cost of healthcare went up this year
It's always busy which keeps you on your toes. I have learned how to deal with both employees, upper management and unions as I negotiated my way through various issues that arose. The best part of the job is assisting patients secure insurance or help them with making payment arrangements so that they can get the services that they so desperately need. – more... Another great thing is the opportunity for advancement via years of service and work experience. The hardest part of the job was working with union contracts where the language was extremely vague. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunity to enter into a career.
Mattie Pearson, RN, Nurse Manager (Former Employee), Flint, Genesee County, MichiganMarch 31, 2014
Truly enjoyed working with the patients in all departments. CCU was my favorite department.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience with a high volume, fast paced environment
Physican Biller (Current Employee), Flint, MIMarch 25, 2014
Hurley is a fast paced, high volume hospital with a large billing department. I have been a part of the resubmission team for the past year where I have successfully appealed and resubmitted claims to Medicaid HMO's as well as commercial Health Plus. I enjoy working along side my peers and learning new things on a daily basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad place to be a student
radiation therapist student (Former Employee), Hurley cancer centerFebruary 1, 2014
I was never treated worse as a student I had hope for a car accident so I would have a justifiably reason to miss clinic
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Intro to Healthcare Engineering
Administrative Co-Op (Former Employee), Flint, MIJanuary 27, 2014
I worked with Hurley Medical Center as a co-op student to complete the cooperative education requirements of my undergraduate degree at Kettering University. I was exposed to an excellent environment that allowed me to work on various projects throughout the hospital.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
60 hour internship
Internship (Former Employee), Flint, MIDecember 5, 2013
Pros: they were all nice.
Cons: hospitals are huge.
Although I did this only for a short period it taught me that older adults are no different then young adults. They all complain and talk about each other behind their backs. They fall asleep in the lunch room and take long unnecessary breaks.

I enjoyed all the different things I was able to do. I don't mind doing the same thing over and over but time – more... goes by so much quicker when you are learning something new everyday and expected to accomplish different areas in that working environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Intermediate Clerk (Current Employee), Flint, MINovember 20, 2013
Co-workers are ok. The work load is plenty. No full time permanent work available. :-(
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Negative place to work, but great doctors and advancement in medical care.
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Flint, MiOctober 17, 2013
The hospital itself offers great care to under and uninsured patients. The hospital staff is very negative and unhappy it seems.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working with some of the people
Public Safety (Former Employee), Flint, MIAugust 8, 2013
Pros: the supervisor was a nice person
Cons: no steady work shift
I enjoyed working with a lot of the people but there was no staedy work shift.a typical work day was fun and went by fast. I learned how to be more cautious with my surroundings.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment
Externship (Former Employee), Flint, MIJuly 1, 2013
This is where I did my externship. The people there were very helpful and supportive during my semester that I was there. I learned a lot from them and they answered all my questions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
Epic ADT/Prelude Certified Instructional Designer (Current Employee), Flint, MIJune 18, 2013
Smaller hospital with limited resources but great employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
externship
Externship (Former Employee), Flint, MIJune 2, 2013
I learned a lot working here. The environment was friendly and I was able to ask questions whenever I needed to.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Laboratory Clerk (Current Employee), Flint, MIJune 1, 2013
Pros: fun activities within the department
Cons: no chance of promotion
I work in the Lab so it is very busy but a cool department to work in.
Management team and the co-worker have great comunication.

1 2 3

About Hurley Medical Center

A community hospital owned by the City of Flint, Hurley Medical Center is a teaching hospital serving Genesee, Lapeer, and Shiawassee – Read more