Find companies:
Hurley Medical Center
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
42 reviews

Hurley Medical Center Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Experiences
Licensed Occupational Therapist (Current Employee), Flint, MIApril 2, 2013
The work environment is faced paced, dynamic and full of opportunity for professional and personal growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organization could be nice place to work but need to focus on diversity.
Assistant Patient Representative (Former Employee), Flint, MIMarch 13, 2013
Enjoyed most of my nineteen years there. Most co-workers are enjoyable to work with. Only concern was the managerial and leadership aspect of the company. Compay is not as diversed as it should be.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Level 1 Trauma Center with only PA's. (no residents)
Trauma/Surgical PA (Former Employee), Flint, MIJanuary 24, 2013
Pros: having the opportunity to manage very injured or sick patients.
Cons: managing very injured or sick patients means they don't all live.
Flint, MI - usually in the top 5 for # of murders. Hurley is the only level 1 in the region. I worked most of the time managing patients in the Neuro/Trauma ICU, Burn ICU, and some PICU. Day shift required making treatment plans for the patient for the day, vent management, and rounding w/ the attending surgeon. Nights required toubleshooting of all – more... surgical/trauma patients in entire hospital, and backup to PA covering ER. Part of the time I covered the ER for all consults and trauma's, as well as 1st assisted on trauma OR cases. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Medical Social Worker (Current Employee), Flint, MIJanuary 3, 2013
Working with psych patients has its ups and downs but I live what I do and everything I get to learn and experience!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Most Enjoyable Job That I Have Ever Had
Certified Child Life Specialist (Current Employee), Flint, MIDecember 14, 2012
Pros: best co-workers an employee could ask for!!!
Cons: confines of the hospital budget and fear of budget cuts.
Because of the nature of my work, my job is emotionally draining at times. It is also the most rewarding work that I have ever done. I see suffering and I see miracles on a daily basis. I go home feeling as though I made a difference in someone's life every day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could do amazing things at low cost
Surgical Technologist (Former Employee), Flint, MINovember 29, 2012
Pros: experiences
Cons: some upper management was unprofessional
Large trauma hospital, that allowed a person to grow in their experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Level 1 trauma center in Flint, MI
MRI TECHNOLOGIST (Current Employee), Flint, MINovember 26, 2012
Pros: ideal work enviroment that helps inhance productivity.
Hurley Medical center is the only level 1 trauma center in Genesse county Michigan. Being so, I have the privilage of a very dynamic patient population in regards to the different MRI studies I perform in a day. Hurley is know for treating their employees very well in all regards. The work enviroment is ideal for promoting productivity. Managment of – more... the Radiology Department is fair and always is there to help when needed for any reason. I currently work sixteen hour days on Saturday and Sunday then eight hours on Monday and love it! On the weekend I work alone interviewing, setting up then scanning patient's all while taking care of the required paper work and computer documentation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Satifaction
Supervisor, Intermediate Clerk Typist (Former Employee), Flint, MINovember 1, 2012
Hurley is a Great pleace to work! Very good hospital, would recommend to anyone. Benefirts are great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hurley Medical Center
Occupational Therapist (Current Employee), Flint, MIOctober 24, 2012
Pros: experience in level one trauma
Cons: poor therapy/ rehab management
Management lost vitality. raises on hold. public health facility so reduced benefits this year. shrinking rehab unit.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a temporary position but I enjoyed myself and my coworkers.
Clerk Typist (Former Employee), Flint, MIOctober 8, 2012
This was a great place to work. I enjoyed the co workers and the atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company is overall productive
Certified Health Unit Coordinator NICU/PCU (Current Employee), Flint, MISeptember 6, 2012
Pros: work schedule
Cons: high lunches
The hardest part of the job is watching people seeing their love one's in the hospital.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Flint, MISeptember 5, 2012
Interesting opportunities for learning. Culturally diverse and excellent coworkers and management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A rewarding experience that I will miss.
Registered Nurse in the NICU (Former Employee), Flint, MIAugust 1, 2012
I worked all shifts but enjoyed 7am-7pm the best. I was comfortable witb ang assignment and also volunteered to be Charge Nurse frequently. My co workeds were amazing and we always worked as a team to provide the best care possible for our tiny ones. The hardest part of the job was caring for micro preemies on their first day of birth, however, this – more... became easier after caring for them consistently and determining each of fheir inxividual needs.

The most enjoyable part of my job was watching these babies grow and eventually go home. It was easy for me to love these ba ies and to form trusting relationships with their parents because most of them were there every day. Education was vital and I did my best to educate parents on their babies condition and to help them get through difficult and /or unexpected times. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work! Great coworkers
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Flint, MIJuly 7, 2012
Enjoyed my years at HMC. Great management, supportive and involved with staff. Made many new friends who worked as a team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
level 1 trauma
OB SURGICAL TECH (Current Employee), Flint, MIMay 15, 2012
decent comapany to work for, love having a union. the department i work in is very close and friendly
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clinical excellence!
Laboratory Clerk- Data Entry for outpatients (Former Employee), Flint, MichiganMay 9, 2012
Pros: good work environment
Cons: becoming full time employee takes some time
I really miss working at Hurley Medical Center. I wish I could go bck
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hospital that serves the urban community
Certified Nurses Aide (Current Employee), Flint,MIApril 28, 2012
I work during the day which is very busy. I assist with the care of patients who have had orthopedic surgery, traumatic brain injury(TBI), and strokes. I've learned a lot of physical things about the human body after surgery, a TBI, or a stroke; like how important it is for our patients to get out of bed. Some may think you get better by staying in – more... bed but I've learned that the more our patients move around they seem to feel better.
The hardest part of my job is helping transfer patients physically. Using the proper body mechanics is a must. The most enjoyable part of my job is seeing a positive progress for each patient. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good place to work
Certified Nursing Assistant/Rehabilitation tech (Current Employee), Flint, MIMarch 12, 2012
Pros: great pay
Cons: sometime short staff
productive,fast pace, teaching facility so always learning something new,great group of people to work with,various job advancements
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not recommend it for long term unless you have a relative that works there.
dietary aide (Former Employee), Hurley Medical Center, Flint MichiganFebruary 3, 2012
Pros: pay was good, benefits pretty good for a part time position.
Cons: diversity training not applied to everyone, supervisor did not follow protocal
While working there I came across some very, very nice people but found it depended on which department you were in. In my case & the department I was in...diversity was frowned upon. Outsiders were unwelcome. First thing I was asked by my supervisor was who did I know that was able to get me "in". I replied that I did not know anyone I applied to a – more... ad. There was a "lot" of nepotism that took place & obvious favorites who were allowed to get away with things that others were not. She liked to yell & the employees she did not like or favor & belittle them in front of fellow employees. She was like a drill Sargent. She created a lot of anxiety for employees she disliked & would assign them the hardest stations to work at. If she did not like you then you could not satisfy her. I left & have kept in contact with some other employees & she either had driven away or was able to discharge the employees that I first hand witnessed this behavior towards. She was friends with the union reps & complaints against her went largely ignored. She is what I would term & allowed to be a bully boss! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
an equal employer opportunity
Health Unit Coordinator (clinicals) (Former Employee), flint, michiganJuly 26, 2011
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: long hours
Hurley is a wonderful place to work. I completed my clinicals there.

About Hurley Medical Center

A community hospital owned by the City of Flint, Hurley Medical Center is a teaching hospital serving Genesee, Lapeer, and Shiawassee – Read more