Find companies:
Hustler Hollywood
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
16 reviews

Hustler Hollywood Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Get Ready to be thrown to the wolves!!!!!!
Store Manager (Former Employee), New Orleans, LaAugust 27, 2014
Pros: great benefits, pay, and quality merchandise
Cons: poor training, no go to manuals for anything
This company will not provide quality training for a new store manager. A total of 4 days is not enough of training when taking over a high volume store. There is no on the floor training and you are not equipped to even open or close the store after training. Depending on your existing staff to train you is sad to say the least. Poor company, no one – more... is on the same page with communication. I have over 15 years of retail experience and have been thrown in many situations in which I have been successful in. The harassment during my training was unprofessional to say the least. The manager in that store is a glorified sales associate who played with the dancers at the club next store the entire time. If he wasn't doing that he was demeaning to his staff, took smoke breaks every 15 minutes, or was having inappropriate conversations. Upon my resignation I made HR aware of what had happened during my training. The manager that trained me is not a good first impression of the company and I almost resigned during the training process. Good luck if you choose to work for this unethical company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place until new management came
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), tacoma waJuly 16, 2014
Pros: people/customers
Cons: late hours new management
long days full of exciting customers. learned about a lot of products I never knew and always new ones coming in! co workers were cool and fun,( you have to be to work here) hardest part was working sometimes till 2 am, but on this shift you would meet different people who were fun.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail work enviroment, but enjoyable
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Tacoma WaApril 28, 2014
Pros: 50% off everything around christmas season.
Cons: no benefits, no commission.
Resetting the manequins on the floor, with new outfits. Sorting videos, making sure its in the right catergory. Organize the clothing section of the store. Run cash register, as well as dressing rooms. I learned alot about the adult film industry as well as the retail industry. My co-workers were all around the same age as me so it made for a fun environment – more... with people who could related to you. Hardest part of the job was getting off at 3am. I enjoyed being able to have first pick of the new clothing line, also liked resetting the floor. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool place
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Tacoma, WADecember 20, 2013
Pros: none.
Cons: no room to advance in the company, no benefits or opportunities for raises.
Again, terrible management. Customers could be okay or really creepy. The management honestly made work terrible. My co workers were usually alright, although a sometimes high drama environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's FUN, but not worth the DRAMA
I was a Sales Associate and Assistant Cafe Manager (Former Employee), Downtown San Diego, CAOctober 7, 2013
Pros: first to look at movies, fun atmosphere, fun people, education on sex and fetishes, first hand knowledge on new products uniform is simple, great employee discounts
Cons: high school bs politics, no parking support, low pay, small chance to advance, revolving door, they don't listen to your suggestions
I worked here right after I got out of the Navy. I wanted something completely opposite of the Navy. Just a lot of fun. I did have a lot of fun too. The best thing is the employee discount and that you get to meet the "Talent" when they have signings. I liked that the uniforms were basic black bottoms and black shoes of your choice pretty much. When – more... I first started black shorts were not allowed then all of a sudden a girl who was really attractive decided to wear shorts and she was able to wear them. They never really stuck to the rules. I liked Halloween cause you could wear your Adult Costumes, but selling the Adult Costumes were a pain in the butt. You get to rent out some of the videos if you ask ( Well I don't know if they still do that any more), but it helps you sell the videos to people who are looking for a particular type. I have to say the hardest people to sell to are couples that only want movies with 1 male and 1 female, no 3-sums, no funny business we carried very few of them.

My schedule was all sorts of topsy turvy because I was one of the rare sales associates that had a car, so they knew it was easier to have me do all over the place type hours. I also closed a lot since I had a car and I found myself driving a lot of my managers and coworkers home (which no one gave me gas money), so it was a surprise to me that they never promoted me to manager, but promoted coworkers that called out sick every other shift and called me in to cover them ( on my off day). I even sold a Glass toy over $1,000 and I still was not rewarded even though we were running a challenge that who ever sold it would receive an awesome prize (and it was awesome), but I never received it and I hardly got a good job for doing it. I also ran the Café when they had it and one thing that I hated was watching the Managers make a Latte and not pay for it, or hook up their buddies and not pay for it. I would mention it and I would get blown off. I took it to the Store Manager and it got blown off.

Ladies, if you work here expect the male customers that come in to think that you are down for anything. They will hit on you, try and touch you, unwanted attention is part of the job, but don't think that you have to stand for it. Also drunk people. When you work closing shift you will be dealing with ALL the drunks. They will get annoying, they will get reckless, and often times they will be a little hostel towards you if they don't get what they want. When its closing time you will have drunks at the locked door promising to buy hundreds of dollars of merchandise to come in because they don't want to go home. you will have drunks using the restroom in the elevator because you don't have a public bathroom. During closing shift you tend to realize how dumb and annoying drunk people are.

Also stealing is a big thing at that store. They don't seem to hire enough staff for peek hours when (you are really busy). The people who steal know that so they come in on the peek hours. So when you are helping customers with merchandise they will use that moment to steel a DVD or rip a sensor out of a shirt . So when you were working hard to get that sale you are then blamed if something is stolen through that time. However if you look around the floor where are the managers? That's right down stairs (in the "Bat Cave"). Not to mention they want you to run and answer the phone in like 2 rings, so you are looking like a maniac running to the phone cause you don't want to get yelled at. You have to ask for people's bags when they come in which makes people feel uncomfortable and its starts unnecessary fights including people trying to get their money back for sale and clearance items when they were told at the time of sale that it is a FINAL SALE.

At the time the "In store politics" was, "If you don't listen to the same music as me, or do the same "recreational activities" as me ( you are not suppose to do that) then you are going to have a hard time". I saw more friends of friends of the managers or store managers get higher pay raises or promotions then myself. I was praised in a letter from Corporate about my professionalism and all I got was a 25 cent raise?! I worked there for 2 years and was making less then someone who just got there and happen to be buds with the managers.

Don't get me wrong I had SO MUCH FUN at this job, but the drama was not worth it. Also if you drive they don't provide assistance with parking and to pay $20 a day to park at a lot or $120 for a monthly pass to a parking structure isn't worth it if you get paid $8.00 or so an hour. After 2 years of working there I was earning $8.25.

I think one thing that they need in the manager department is that the managers need to have ever so many years experience in retail already and college as well as go through a management course cause often times they would just choose friends and you had to deal with power trips from people who have no respect for people who have been in the workforce longer than them or really know how important it is to be a manager. They made a girl a manager and she had no idea how to use a clothes hook, but worked at a retail store before ours ( she should know how to use one) I also think they need mandatory stick to their rules and policies. stop letting things squeak by. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-Store Manager
Co-Store Manager (Former Employee), West Hollywood, CAJuly 25, 2013
• Handled all opening and closing operations by following store procedures which included closing and opening employee’s shifts, completing banking, processing cash deposits and restocking inventory.
• Responsible for the hiring, training and management of new staff members which included interviewing potential employees, providing required entry paperwork – more... and explaining all company policies and procedures.
• Effectively supervised a multi-talented team of 30 employees by delegating numerous projects for employees’ shifts, encouraging reaching sales goals and giving excellent customer service.
• Was instrumental in coordinating weekly staff meetings and scheduling employee shifts.
• Actively participated in weekly Manager Meeting presenting ideas to help improve sells and gave suggestions on how to increase customer satisfaction.
• Monitored security system to maintain internal/ external security preventing theft resulting in minimal loss prevention.
• Sought out potential new products to be sold in-store to increase sales – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job ever.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJune 25, 2013
Pros: one nice lead sales, and learning new stuff.
Cons: management, $8/hour, paying for parking
This is probably one of the worst places i've worked. The upper management is terrible, and some stuck up. Not very friendly - neither we're my coworkers. A day of work for me was: going in, and being told every five minutes to "help a customer", and "why don't you check how they're doing". Very repetitive, and don't really give you the chance to excel – more... on your own. Don't work here...save yourself the time. Plus you'll be spending more money on parking Downtown than you'll make!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it!
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), New Orleans, LAJune 19, 2013
HH is a great place to work for. They really take care of their employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable workplace with fun customers
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJune 18, 2013
Pros: customers and co-workers
Cons: poor management
A typical day for me at work would include me zoning in with management, checking emails from corporate and getting myself on the sales floor to promote sales. I enjoy working along side my team and encouraging others. I've learned that customer service is used in every type of business and that it's important to treat each customer as their own individual – more... with their own special needs. The hardest part of my job would include poor upper management. I felt at times I had more of a workload than others. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting
General Manager (Current Employee), Las Vegas, NVJanuary 21, 2013
Big Box set up in small box setting .......................................................................................................................................................................................................
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Place Ever!!!!
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVJanuary 15, 2013
Pros: met some great people both customers and staff.
Cons: store manager, slow and high turnover rate due to unhappy employees.
Please don't be deceived by the name and history of this company. It is without a doubt the most hypocritical, racist and sexist company I've worked for. The store manager doesn't seem to grasp the difference in personal and professional. Every decision he makes is completely personal. If he likes you you get all the praise in the world even if you've – more... done nothing. If he dislikes you all you get are snide remarks and rude looks. Of course this is only when he decides to come out of his office. He spends most of his time smoking cigarettes, texting and gossiping with his favorite members of staff. The hours suck, the pay is terrible and they don't have any appreciation for the staff members that actually show up for work. Corporate is unreliable and aren't interested in resolving problems that are reported. They will avoid you as much as they can! You have to press the issue by constantly calling or sending e-mails otherwise they will forget all about you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), tacoma,waJanuary 10, 2013
Pros: customers are awesome
Cons: management
does not work very well as a team. most employees are concerned about themselves
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, educational experience
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee), Monroe, OHJune 8, 2012
I have learned alot about managment and business skills from this employment opportunity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work overall
Sales (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OhioFebruary 26, 2012
Fun job, great staff, with a good feeling you have done something for someone else, helping them so personally means a lot at the end of the day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing company with a unique atmosphere and exciting staff
Full Time Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee), Berkeley, MO 63134December 21, 2011
Pros: this is a job you get excited to go to, staff and customers and extremely friendly, knowledge about products is extensive, there is almost always room for advancement, and head of company is involved with each store
Cons: odd work hours, pay is less than expected, insurance is not good, company is constantly changing policies, and there is a constant turnover rate
Company is expanding quickly and still growing all together. Each store is completely unique and individual staff has opportunity to have opinions heard and items ordered for that location. Every member of staff I have worked with in this company has been completely individual and overall thrilled to be working for Hustler Hollywood. There is a constant – more... inquiry for positions open in the company from the general public. – less